We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, best in Tangalle”
Review of Mallika Restaurant

Mallika Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 140 Restaurants in Tangalle
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, best in Tangalle”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was not our first choice of where to stay, but we had walked all the way from the bus station and there was no where else available. Boy, I am so glad there wasn't. The food is fantastic, I really miss it. The family are so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They loved it if you said just cook me something that you and your family would eat. We were so spoilt, they brought out masses of food and lots of variety. The fish was freshly caught everyday either by the sons or a family friend and was so tasty. There was no official closing time so they would just stay open until we went to bed.

Definitely recommend going out with the eldest son on the Lagoon trip first thing in the morning, wonderful. You can also rent bikes from Mallika's.

Their accommodation is basic, we stayed in the ground floor room. They don't service the room unless you ask and cleanliness is not up to European standards, but we found that this was a common trend in Sri Lanka. I cleaned most places we stayed in just for my own piece of mind. The rooms on the first floor were a little better and more expensive. We didn't move as we were on a tight budget and were happy once I'd "OCD" cleaned.

We really felt part of the family and didn't want to leave. Our 2 day stay turned into 2 weeks. I really hope that this area doesn't get too over developed as it really is a little bit of paradise.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noonoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Didn't match expectations”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We went here for dinner after 1 week in Sri Lanka, just because of the reviews.
Unfortunately did not delivered according to expectations... Curry was so-so, but very poor in vegetables and to have the papadam we had to pay extra (only place where this happened).
The day before we went to "Prem" and this was definitely the best value for money we found in Tangalle.

Helpful?
Thank RuiPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious home-cooking!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in Tangalle for over a week and got really desperate looking around for a nice place to eat. The food is more or less the same everywhere... then, we found Mallika! We really enjoyed the atmosphere of this family-run place and you can taste that the food is proper home-cooking! The rice and curry is fabulous, especially the coconut sambal! It is also good value for money. The family is lovely and very quick and friendly service. We really recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mzansi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“go, eat & enjoy”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

we've been there in june 2013 for breakfast (traditional) and dinner. great & lovely people. food always fresh and very delicious. they even explain you all the ingredients if you are interested in. nice place to relax and enjoy the sound of the ocean. there's a dog - a really friendly one...and it respects your privacy if you wish :-)

we can absolutely recommend this lovely place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarinGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely little family run establishment. Great restaurant and basic value for money rooms.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights early Jan and ate here a lot too. We didn't have a booking upon arrival at Tangalle so randomly picked Blue Horizon out of the Lonely Planet, but fortunately it was full, which lead us to stumble upon Mallinka next-door-but-one. The rooms (only 3 of them I think) are very basic (expect overnight creatures!) with fan and cold water, but cheap (compared to a lot of other places on the same road). It is run by a lovely little family. The mum does the cooking and the food is great. My boyfriend was elated to discover that she makes 'finger fries' just like they do in India. The 16yr old son speaks very good English and is often front of house. It was his birthday whilst we were here and he came over to give us some of his birthday cake which was a lovely touch. We hastily scrambled around in our backpacks to find some English memorabilia to give to him. We had breakfast every morning, there's a good selection to choose from, and the usual selection of curries/fish/rice for lunch and dinner at reasonable prices. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel_Delightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mallika Restaurant also viewed

Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 
Tangalle, Southern Province
Tangalle, Southern Province
 

Been to Mallika Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing