We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous beach escape”
Review of Amanwella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amanwella
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Breathtakingly beautiful setting on a bay just north of Tangalle,lovely clean beach amongst the coconut trees,luxurious and spacious villas and first class food and service.Also stunning 50 meter pool with equally good loungers and service.Fun bar and good main restaurant offering fresh local ingredients.Nice beach restaurant for grills and salads,especially at lunchtime.Couldn't be more relaxing.Definitely going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetiesPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Allow me to begin this review by saying we are big fans of Aman resorts. We love their unique and often remote locations, creative designs, fantastic staff, big, comfortable rooms and excellent food. Amanwella did not disappoint in any of these categories.

While clearly it is a bit of a challenge to get here, when the new airport which is only about short distance away opens, getting here will be much easier. However, we were picked up from the Colombo airport and our arrival was made easy and painless. Our drive to the resort while long— 4 hours — was interesting and relatively comfortable.

The resort is in a truly spectacular location. The suites are large and well appointed, with amazing views. The beds are extremely comfortable with big, full feather pillows for a great night’s sleep. The bathrooms are perfect with double sinks and mirrors, rain head shower, plenty of big, plush towels and a soaking tub. Sunblock, after sun lotion, and bug repellent are all provided along with the standard shower amenities. I should mentioned we never needed the bug spray.

The incredible deck with full sliding doors runs the length of the suites with a 2-person lounging couch, table and chairs and breathtaking ocean views. I would estimate the deck to be 40 feet in length and perhaps10 feet deep. There was a small plunge pool on the backside of our suite protected by a high wall for privacy— a great quick refresher. There is also a huge, magnificent pool located near the restaurant.

The beaches themselves are fabulous — one end with waves and one end more protected for easy swimming. There are plenty of lounges under the coconut palms where you can be protected from the sun or, if you’re a sun worshiper, a quick move gets them into the sun.

The spa was fantastic—I had one of the best messages ever. While my manicure was fine and the set-up a bit awkward, the therapist was lovely and it was clear she was very intent on doing a good job. The prices are more than fair enabling one to have a number of treatments. And, speaking of fair prices, the laundry rates are beyond reasonable enabling one to pack light and have clothes laundered on a daily basis.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful, friendly, always offering a kind smile that was warm and welcoming. We totally disagree with reviewer who thought the staff was unhappy and spoke too little English. We never encountered anyone with whom we weren’t able to fully communicate and besides, we are in their country!

The food was particularly good with a great variety each night and, even though guests are captive audiences, the wines and cocktails are fairly priced considering where you are. The breakfasts were delicious with excellent coffee and both the dinner and breakfast menus offered traditional Sri Lankan options. The restaurant staff was fantastic —taking orders, repeating them and always getting them exactly right. We would also recommend taking the Sri Lankan cooking class and enjoying some great local food for lunch. The cooking hut is right on the beach near the small beach restaurant where you can enjoy an interesting lunch menu. While the taxes are very high in Sri Lanka, this is obviously out of the control of Aman.

A fantastic all around experience.

Room Tip: Enjoy a room away from the main buildings and overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

absolutely the best we stayed in SriLanka! great rooms with private pools, excellent food, great service, beautifull beaches with very active and good lifeguards.
you are truly pampered! The new manager greated us upon arrival, but we haven't seen him anymore in the two days we stayed there, tat was a bit funny...
all in all a must if you visit SriLanka

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I don't understand how some other reviewers complain about Amanwella not being up to the standard of other Aman properties. This was, no question, a supreme example of why Aman stands head and shoulders apart from the rest of the pack. WOW, WOW, WOW! I could find no fault here, everything was perfect. Stunning location and superb suites. Understated elegance all the way. Suites have massive terraces, private plunge pools and mine had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The service was out of this world from every member of staff.
The food in the restaurant was sensational. The best I had in Sri Lanka. I had a fantastic massge in my room - top notch. There is a relaxed pace here that is as it should be. It may seem a little laid back but this is what you want at this beautiful, languid location. The warmth from members of staff was wonderful. This for me, was a superlative Aman experience - right up there with the very best of them. I will be back, without hesitation. It may take a lot of travel time to get here, but the paradise that awaits makes the journey so worthwhile.

Room Tip: All are good, but Ocean Suites have best uninterrupted ocean views - at a higher price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of our honeymoon. After visiting so many places we really thought that nothing could top our previous experiences and then we arrived at the aman... From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were truly spoilt. The team were so helpful and friendly and made a real effort to ensure we were having a great time. My husband even enjoyed a mini tuk tuk driving lesson! We enjoyed a great cookery lesson with the chef which was great fun.

Our room was beautiful and we enjoyed many breakfasts on our terrace overlooking the beach...sometimes we even enjoyed the resident lab, Nero, for company! We loved watching the local fishermen in the morning.

Sitting by the pool or at the beach, we were spoilt! Fresh towels...ice cold bottled water regularly changed...ice cream...tea...fruit smoothies...regularly brought out by such friendly young guys who all worked so hard to ensure we were relaxed.

The week finished with the most beautiful full moon candle lit dinner on the beach... So many wonderful memories of our fabulous honeymoon...I'm already begging my husband to go back!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 139JCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Aman just do it really well, and this is no exception. Of course it's expensive, but you get a fantastic location, wonderful bar, library and dining areas, wall-to-wall service, stunning rooms, and a desire from all the staff to please.

Although they could do with a dedicated spa, the massage is top notch; there should be a gym, but they hired a bike specially for me to do some training.

Top tip: if you like spicy local food, ask the head chef to do a special curry selection. He will be over the moon, and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank theramsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

At the prices charged here we think one has every right to be very demanding, if expectations can be as high as cost we are not going to be tolerant with this review, we will only quickly mention the great design of buildings and the superb beach. Upon arrival we waited1,15 H for our welcome drink, a coconut juice served tepid. The "king" bed was in fact two singles pushed together, without any of these joining pieces to compensate for it, very uncomfortable. The private plunge pool of "dead" water, without circulation and therefore dirty and uninspiring. Miserable Spa arrangement. Half the staff looking very unhappy and with very little english, the other half too pretentious for our liking. The food average. The new young manager has a lot of work to do here. For us the experience was not worth the cost both in price and in trouble travelling to such a remote place.

Room Tip: Demand a total sea view, not a partial one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.5 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
1.1 mi away
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
#7 of 23 in Tangalle
330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tangalle
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coco Tangalla
Coco Tangalla
#6 of 23 in Tangalle
201 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sooriya Resort & Spa
Sooriya Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Rekawa
17 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#12 of 23 in Tangalle
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanwella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanwella

Address: Bodhi Mawatha, Wella Mawatha | Godellawela, Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tangalle
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tangalle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tangalle
#4 Family Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range: £485 - £972 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanwella 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a mature coconut grove fronting a crescent-shaped beach, Amanwella is a seaside resort offering 30 contemporary suites, each with private plunge pool and terrace. The resort's suites are linked by pathways along a landscaped rise with beach and ocean views. Guests can relax on the expansive terrace surrounding the main pool or on the sand beach. The seaside town of Tangalle is nearby and a short stroll will reveal village life and Sri Lanka's diverse flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Amanwella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanwella Hotel Tangalle
Amanwella Resort Tangalle
Amanwella Sri Lanka/Tangalle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing