We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Tangalle
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basic, but excellent.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked this on the back of the Trip Advisor reviews but couldn't really see what the fuss was about. Then we met Asad and just ended up loving the place. It's a few metres above a road but you'll forget this within the first hour. It's opposite a great beach and a 15 minute walk from an even better one. But Asad is its real diamond. He's so knowledgeable having been at the hotel for 20 years. You want a tuk-tuk? He'll get you a tuk-tuk. Want good recommendations on things to do? Asad's your man! In fact, you don't really need to worry about arranging anything as he'll do it all for you, and at no point did we feel that we were being ripped off by the hotel adding their charges on top. The food is great, the rooms are nice and air conditioned and the price is about right.

Room Tip: Make sure Asad is going to be there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windsorstopover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    105
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
41
179
29
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have had a fantastic stay at NugaSewana Eden. They are very friendly and keen to please. My room is very comfortable, clean and with excellent air conditioning. It was great to sit out on the veranda.

The food is superb! It's really very delicious and they are happy to cook a range of different types of food - I had the best omlette I have ever had. They were also happy to provide a 'packed breakfast' when I had early starts that I could take with me on my journey. I enjoyed eating out, looking over at the beach and sea.

They have also been extremely helpful in suggesting where I should stay near the airport ready for my flight and clearly the internet has worked well as I am writing now before I leave.

I have stayed here due to a locals recommendation. As a lone female I have felt very safe despite it being off season with very few tourists.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenRowlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nuga Eden Tangalle
We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Nuga Eden in February 2014. We were initially torn between this place and a small B&B on the east side of town but we were delighted with our choice.

Despite being located right next to the main road the grounds are about 3 metres above the road so the noise is not noticeable but proximity to the road makes it very easy to get to and from town. Immediately across the road is a small and pleasant cove-like beach and another similar beach 200 metres towards town; this one has 2 nice restaurants with our absolute favourite being Cactus Lounge. At this time of year there is a constant strong southerly wind so bathing is really only safe in these small coves on the western side of Tangalle. There are lots of restaurants and hotels on the edge of the enormous beach on the eastern side of Tangalle; we went for a look and were horrified by the extent of development there. The western side in our opinion is far better and much quieter. There are 4 very good seafood restaurants within 10 minutes walk of Nuga Eden.

Our room at Nuga Eden was very pleasant with very good air conditioning - a basic requirement on the coast. Wifi is available everywhere. Cold beer, tea and coffee etc are on offer any time. Breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice. Dinner is really nice with good variety and fresh local fish a major part of the menu. All prices are very acceptable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The grounds are impeccably presented. We took advice from the manager and went by tuktuk to a very impressive temple about 20 minutes away. The price of the tuktuk was very reasonable. Typically tuktuks ply their trade on the road but we tended to walk or take the bus.

We would recommend Nuga Eden without hesitation and would certainly stay there again. If you are considering staying at any hotel on the eastern side of Tangalle be very careful unless you are seeking congestion, busy beaches and overpriced accommodation. My advice is stay on the western side and specifically at Nuga Eden.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilGordon208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Eco villa, had an amazing 4 poster bed- a luxury we were not expecting, outside bathroom was lovely. A lot of building work going on around so will have a lot more facilities soon, ie pool large restraint. Shame the hotel is so close to the road, but many places are in that area. Staff were lovely, recommended the turtle watching to us, which we did and it was one of the highlights of our tip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I booked this place after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor and it lived up to my expectations. Very basic but clean and hygienic rooms.The owner and the staff make you very comfortable. The dinner was great, fresh fish from the sea with some rice accompanied with brinjal and the salad. The room was comfortable although it would have helped if there were few more channels on the Dialog set top box. In the morning sat outside the room and enjoyed the nice view of the sea. In fact cross the road and there is a very nice beach. The breakfast was also very good. The nice food makes you feel the warmth of the staff and makes you feel very homely. Would recommend this place. A great place at a fairly reasonable price. Would Love to come here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulkit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We booked four nights here while staying in Mirissa. It is near the main road but this is a minor detail and really causes no issues. Nothing was too much trouble here. Perfectly positioned with a bit of welcome breeze. It was evident that Asad, the main man we dealt with had 5 star experience. All his recommendations for beaches and trips he arranged were spot on. Even organised our move to the hill country at the end of our stay. Rooms very well air conditioned, so much so that we had to turn it off and use the ceiling fan at night. Perfect for a beach stay, not too posh but with good quality currys. All staff very welcoming and helpful. We even got monkeys in the garden and sea eagles overhead. Adequate rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthlincsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed there only for one night but this place is definitely recommended for a visit. This is a very relaxing place with great food served (delicious curd, fish, fresh fruit and vegetables) offering nice rooms and having very kind, helpful and hard-working staff. The organized tour for turtle watching was amazing with a great company of the tuk-tuk driver. Really reasonable prices for these very high quality food and lovely stay. Nice beach is within walking distance

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mokry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangalle hotels
0.6 mi away
Anantara Peace Haven Tangalle Resort
2.1 mi away
Eva Lanka Hotel
Eva Lanka Hotel
#9 of 21 in Tangalle
269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
Ceylon Sea Hotel & Spa
#10 of 21 in Tangalle
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palm Paradise Cabanas
Palm Paradise Cabanas
#4 of 21 in Tangalle
687 reviews
4.9 mi away
Buckingham Place
Buckingham Place
#1 of 1 in Rekawa
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moonstone Villas
Moonstone Villas
#1 of 120 in Tangalle
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle

Property: Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle
Address: Pallikkudawa, Mahawela Rd., Tangalle 82200, Sri Lanka (Formerly NugaSewana Eden)
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Tangalle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tangalle
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tangalle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tangalle
#4 Spa Hotel in Tangalle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nugasewana Eden is a family-run independent hotel with 10 wonderfully comfortable and spotless AC rooms plus an open-air terrace restaurant with magnificent views overlooking Tangalle's most famously beautiful beach just a minute's walk down from your favorite room. Nugasewana Eden located on a beautiful garden over looking the magnificent view of the Tangalla Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nugasewana Eden Hotel Tangalle
Nuga Eden Villa Tangalle Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing