We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most wonderful holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
SarithaPi...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Walatta House for 2 weeks just before Christmas 2014. Our family group was made up of all ages and everyone loved the place. My husband and I, our 3 children aged 8, 4 and 1, 1 set of grandparents, and a 25 year old niece were all superbly looked after by the ever helpful Suranga and staff. The food Alwis cooked was just delicious (why eat elsewhere?) Jack's office arranged for a lovely lady called Kusum to come and help look after the baby (I thoroughly recommend her for anyone who wants help with their children) her English is excellent, she arrived punctually with a smile every day and looked after the baby better than I can. When our middle son fell ill Kusum whisked us off to the local hospital and helped us to see the right doctor and generally made life much easier. Pirantha - the most amazing Ayurvedic masseur came to us EVERY day - he is fabulous - you must have a treatment - it's very ayuvedic no thrills but you can feel yourself healing over the days.
Now the house - it's beautiful it has been built with style and panache and has the exact right balance between eco and luxury. We loved the frogs and birds in the pool, the stunning butterflies, the enormous water monitors, the unceasing crowd of emerald beetles in the evenings. The planting is beautiful you really feel as if you are in a tropical jungle.
Anyhows enough - it is wonderful here we cannot rate it more highly. Haven't even mentioned beautiful beach, rock pools, whale watching etc etc but no need to. We'd go back in a flash.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
"Hi Saritha, Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write the review.We are so glad that you've had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Charith @ EVM"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frejathec...
Plaxtol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and facilities”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The best thing about Walatta House is the location with a gate leading directly onto one a sequence of beaches which come more protected from the prevailing waves as you head West. The house itself is no overlooked at all, and being raised from the beach, is very private.

The amenities are very new, and apart from a couple of temperature control issues with the guest fridge, the facilities and decor are superb, while the private pool is the kind one dreams of when booking an exotic holiday. The Manager / Chef, Alwis, cooks delightful meals and will accompany you shopping if requested. The food shopping is not as cheap as guests might expect, but the excelllent quality of Alwis' food is a lot better value than paying for similar in a commercial restaurant.

There are trips that can be taken using Walatta House as a base such as the Whale Watching in Mirissa, but such is the loaction and accommodation it is perhaps more worthwhile taking advantage of Walatta House rather than having an active touring programme.

One point of note for families. The rooms are not connected and therefore younger children might feel uncomfortable not having access through a internal hallway to their parents room, access bieng external. That said, at no time during our stay was there anything other than a serendipitous feel to Walatta House, but parents may wish to view the floor plan to assess suitablility for children <10 years old.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write the review. we will look in to the issue with the fridge and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikitak13
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We wanted somewhere all 6 of our far flung our family could stay for our once a year gathering, somewhere that accommodated 'children' ranging from 11 years to 30, and Walatta House fitted the bill perfectly. The 3 bedrooms are very private, the views and beaches spectacular, and Tangalle with its shops and restaurants a short tuk-tuk ride away. It's a place to get away from it all (definitely not for clubbers) which is what we all wanted...but unlike some places where you feel on top of one another, in the words of one of our boys, Walatta allows you to 'be together and in your own space at the same time.' The open plan design breathes and allows you to be 'inside' while actually being outside.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write the review. We are very happy to hear such comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie D
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Exceeded expectation on every level!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This is the most incredibly stylish but laid back house, in the most amazing position above a beautiful empty beach. The house sits in the middle of a beautiful plot of land so is incredibly private, while being pretty close to everything you need in Tangalle. Architecturally, it is superb, the perfect mix of modernism and ethnicity.....without the compromise on luxury that this style can often suffer from. The staff where invisible but ever present, food delicious and so varied, endless pancakes for my children and perfect local curries containing so many dishes we did not know where the begin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture, interior and the staff
Liked least: The day when the sun didnt shine.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Dear Dusan,

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write the review. We are very happy to hear such comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny2leo
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Talk about a getaway. Work stress was quickly forgotten in this rustic yet luxurious villa. It was like survivor, with benefits. Diving into the pool or taking walks on the beach whenever we felt like it, in between excellent meals cooked by the staff. The breeze was amazing and while some of my friends enjoyed sleeping with just the natural wind, I was grateful for the air-conditioner in the bedroom (creature of habit).

Getting a chance to take the sea plane was an added bonus as well as the lovely gem shop down the road!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seeming isolation, yet easy access to town
Liked least: bumpy road to property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for taking time to write the review.
We are glad to hear such comments from you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Walatta House.

Best Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rethi S
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Property, Great Service, Fab Food”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in September 2012

Phenomenal place. Loved the open concept. Made you feel outdoors even when you were indoors. The view was unbelievable. We were lucky to be there on a full moon night; and the view was just breathtaking. Really helpful staff members, who served up some wicked curry.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: How the property integrated into the surrounding landscape.
Liked least: The three hour bus ride from Colombo to Tangalle. Would highly recommend the air taxi which I took back to Colombo.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking time to write the review.
We are glad to hear such comments from you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Walatta House.

Best Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richdoha
Doha, Qatar
1 review
“luxury in paradise”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2012

One of the most remarkable and relaxing holidays of any we've done anywhere in the world. Pure luxury in paradise. Walatta's hidden away on it's own hillside and just down the slope from that gorgeous pool are the most wonderful beaches and rock pools. The way the accommodation is set up makes you feel like part of the environment, and there's nothing more relaxing. It's brand new and designed to the highest specs, as if it were part of the natural landscape. The rainforest showers are a treat and the bedrooms designed so you can hear the sound of rolling surf all night long. Oh and the food! my goodness. Lobsters and fresh fish caught daily with locally grown organic produce in curries to die for, all home cooked by the wonderful staff. Breakfast, lunch and dinner!!! And if that's not enough, the gardener will shimmy up the trees each morning for your fresh coconut juice. It's on such a large block you will truly feel as though you are hidden away from the rest of the world. Once you get there you won't want to leave, but just in case you do there's the bustling town of Tangalle just down the road by Tuk-Tuk, plenty of facilities for all your needs, or you can pop along the coast in the other direction to see the whales. Then there's a day trip to the Elephant safari at Udawalawee. Or you can overnight up in the tea country. All taken care of by the careful staff and their drivers. You'll want to come back to Walatta. We are planning our next trip… Pure luxury in paradise!
The Lewis Family. (Australia)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the design, the staff, the pool, the food
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Dear Lewis,

Thank you very much for taking time to write the review.
We are glad to hear such comments from you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Walatta House.

Best Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing