We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic stay!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
corinne m
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

we had a blast at walatta house! we was a group of six people and the house is perfect for that! the location & the beach is just awesome and the house is beautiful! the staff was friendly but not that attentive as required and expected for the price of the house.
the food was good but overpriced, western-prices. it’s a bit sad especially when you know the local prices.

altogether a nice stay for 5 nights with a hint of luxury!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Thank you Corinne for taking the time and effort to write this review. I am sorry that the staff seemed to hang back a bit. I would say to all guests that whilst the staff are really willing and able they might...certainly initially at least....hang back. This is for no other reason than some guests prefer it that way and the staff will take a little time to fully understand what type of service you want. Please do not feel shy about telling them....or us, as we always visit and our phone numbers are in the information we give....and we will help to ensure the service is as you wish for.
Re the food : we do not in fact charge for food but only pass on receipts for shopping and the transport to get it...and we do encourage guests to go shopping at least once so you know what's available and what the costs are.
I am sorry that these things were not clear to you and we will make sure that future guests are aware. Our numbers are, as mentioned, available in the house and we are very happy to help where we can.
Thank you for coming and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.....please come again.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayaDxb13
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is truly a place to get spoilt! If you don't leave the villa, you will still have a fantastic vacation. The staff are amazing & Alwis (the chef) is a culinary expert, waiting to please your taste buds at every meal. The house staff will take care of all the cleaning, Washing & requests happily & the gardener (we nicknamed Mr Smiley for his never ending smile) will ensure the pool & garden is in tip top shape every day. Especially grateful for the hours of kids entertainment with Wally (the house 4 legged friend) & the company he provided the family.
My only suggestion is that signage needs to be put up on the main road as the house is hard to find.
A truly memorable 6 days & we are already dreaming of coming back next time. Thank you everyone at Walatta House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2017
Hello Maya.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Walatta House. We love to hear that guests have a wonderful time in any of our villas - Walatta is indeed quite special and will be here for you when you come back..

Mr Smiley does have a never ending smile!

We have taken your point on board regarding the signage and are in the process of remedying this. Thank you again for your feedback. As always, we hope to see you again.

Regards,

The EVinSL Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarithaPi...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Walatta House for 2 weeks just before Christmas 2014. Our family group was made up of all ages and everyone loved the place. My husband and I, our 3 children aged 8, 4 and 1, 1 set of grandparents, and a 25 year old niece were all superbly looked after by the ever helpful Suranga and staff. The food Alwis cooked was just delicious (why eat elsewhere?) Jack's office arranged for a lovely lady called Kusum to come and help look after the baby (I thoroughly recommend her for anyone who wants help with their children) her English is excellent, she arrived punctually with a smile every day and looked after the baby better than I can. When our middle son fell ill Kusum whisked us off to the local hospital and helped us to see the right doctor and generally made life much easier. Pirantha - the most amazing Ayurvedic masseur came to us EVERY day - he is fabulous - you must have a treatment - it's very ayuvedic no thrills but you can feel yourself healing over the days.
Now the house - it's beautiful it has been built with style and panache and has the exact right balance between eco and luxury. We loved the frogs and birds in the pool, the stunning butterflies, the enormous water monitors, the unceasing crowd of emerald beetles in the evenings. The planting is beautiful you really feel as if you are in a tropical jungle.
Anyhows enough - it is wonderful here we cannot rate it more highly. Haven't even mentioned beautiful beach, rock pools, whale watching etc etc but no need to. We'd go back in a flash.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
"Hi Saritha, Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write the review.We are so glad that you've had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Charith @ EVM"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frejathec...
Plaxtol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and facilities”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The best thing about Walatta House is the location with a gate leading directly onto one a sequence of beaches which come more protected from the prevailing waves as you head West. The house itself is no overlooked at all, and being raised from the beach, is very private.

The amenities are very new, and apart from a couple of temperature control issues with the guest fridge, the facilities and decor are superb, while the private pool is the kind one dreams of when booking an exotic holiday. The Manager / Chef, Alwis, cooks delightful meals and will accompany you shopping if requested. The food shopping is not as cheap as guests might expect, but the excelllent quality of Alwis' food is a lot better value than paying for similar in a commercial restaurant.

There are trips that can be taken using Walatta House as a base such as the Whale Watching in Mirissa, but such is the loaction and accommodation it is perhaps more worthwhile taking advantage of Walatta House rather than having an active touring programme.

One point of note for families. The rooms are not connected and therefore younger children might feel uncomfortable not having access through a internal hallway to their parents room, access bieng external. That said, at no time during our stay was there anything other than a serendipitous feel to Walatta House, but parents may wish to view the floor plan to assess suitablility for children <10 years old.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write the review. we will look in to the issue with the fridge and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikitak13
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We wanted somewhere all 6 of our far flung our family could stay for our once a year gathering, somewhere that accommodated 'children' ranging from 11 years to 30, and Walatta House fitted the bill perfectly. The 3 bedrooms are very private, the views and beaches spectacular, and Tangalle with its shops and restaurants a short tuk-tuk ride away. It's a place to get away from it all (definitely not for clubbers) which is what we all wanted...but unlike some places where you feel on top of one another, in the words of one of our boys, Walatta allows you to 'be together and in your own space at the same time.' The open plan design breathes and allows you to be 'inside' while actually being outside.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write the review. We are very happy to hear such comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie D
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Exceeded expectation on every level!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This is the most incredibly stylish but laid back house, in the most amazing position above a beautiful empty beach. The house sits in the middle of a beautiful plot of land so is incredibly private, while being pretty close to everything you need in Tangalle. Architecturally, it is superb, the perfect mix of modernism and ethnicity.....without the compromise on luxury that this style can often suffer from. The staff where invisible but ever present, food delicious and so varied, endless pancakes for my children and perfect local curries containing so many dishes we did not know where the begin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture, interior and the staff
Liked least: The day when the sun didnt shine.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Dear Dusan,

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write the review. We are very happy to hear such comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny2leo
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Talk about a getaway. Work stress was quickly forgotten in this rustic yet luxurious villa. It was like survivor, with benefits. Diving into the pool or taking walks on the beach whenever we felt like it, in between excellent meals cooked by the staff. The breeze was amazing and while some of my friends enjoyed sleeping with just the natural wind, I was grateful for the air-conditioner in the bedroom (creature of habit).

Getting a chance to take the sea plane was an added bonus as well as the lovely gem shop down the road!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seeming isolation, yet easy access to town
Liked least: bumpy road to property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for taking time to write the review.
We are glad to hear such comments from you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Walatta House.

Best Regards,
Charith @ EVM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing