We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little luxury hotel with lovely view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 127 Hotels in Nantou County
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice little luxury hotel with lovely view”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The price for this hotel is slightly expensive. However, the room and the view are totally worth it. Nice french window for the lake view, very romantic. The bed is very soft and comfortable. Evian Mineral water and Hermes toiletries are provided. The only thing is the room is not very well maintained. The standing lamp of our room is broken. the stand fell off and the shade is broken, some mosaic in the bathroom is broken too. But I will still recommend this hotel to my friend as long as they are not on budget. By the way, the hotel is very near to the bus terminal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Honestly I have expected a bit more so was a bit disappointed. I thought it would be a small and luxury hotel for the price I paid, but I forgot it is still a HOME-STAY type so maybe have expected too much.

The good thing about it is it has nice lake view. Very beautiful. Also it has Hermes toiletries. The location is very good as well. Big size TV. Heaps of channels.

From the hotel website it gave me a feeling it is a high-end renovated hotel, but the fact is the quality of the renovation and material they use are not good, lots of crack tiles in the bathroom which made the bathroom looked cheap. The gap between tiles has mold which i didn't like at all. The bin in the bathroom is also quite heavily stained. Several times I called the reception but no one answered. Also there is no way to sleep after 7am as the stairs became really noisy when people walking up and down. We had to stand on the bathtub to get the bath towel as the design had no way for us to reach (we are not short at all).

It is not a bad home stay, but overall i feel like it is not worth for what we paid.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlyfinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I was totally mesmerised the moment I saw the hotel. The room was huge, the view was wonderful, the service was good and the breakfast was very nice!

It is located right at the entrance to the Sun Moon Lake area, so it is very easy to locate. It is convenient and yet removed from the noisy streets of the town area, so there was a tranquil quality to the hotel.

The only drawback is the bathroom. We had a room for 4. But the shower was panelled by clear glass. So only 1 person can use the bathroom at any 1 time. It would have been better if the shower (and even bathtub) could have been panelled with translucent or opaque glass.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Spa Home is a well designed boutique hotel right on the lake's edge. It's located at the entrance to the town area so it's a little removed from the noise and activity just down the road. Our room was spacious with a smart design and beautiful view of the lake. Staff was professional and kind, though limited in their ability to speak English. Breakfast is provided and the meal we ate there for dinner was one of the best we had at the lake.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zarquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We are on a honeymoon trip and this hotel is worth every cent. It is brand new with contemporary furnishings and RIGHT beside the Sun Moon Lake. We watched the sunset and sunrise at our bedroom. We had the luxurious superior suite on the top floor and has french windows across the entire room. It is closer to the shore than other aging hotels, and the view simply took our breath away.

The only downside is that there are no lifts. So old folks with bad knees can consider living in the junior suites on the second floor.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skalikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name).

LOCATION: Excellent if you want to be on the lake and in town with many restaurants, shops, and coffee shops (including 7-11 and Starbucks).

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: We took a bus from Taipei for about 450 NT that took about 4.5 hours. Bus passes the hotel 10 seconds before stopping at the bus station in SML. Hotel is next to the Starbucks and 7-11.

TYPE OF ROOM: Mountain View.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed is soft with nice, semi-luxurious linens.

LIGHTING: Lighting is good in the bathroom and ok in the bedroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Shower has very strong water pressure and hot water if desired. The bathroom had a bad water smell. There is a separate bathtub with jets which is fine for one person at a time.

TOILETRIES: All products are Hermes. Can’t get much better than that!

CLEANLINESS: The bedroom was very clean but the bathroom had lots of mildew on the ceiling of the shower and some in the grouts on the wall as well. The smell as mentioned b4 was not good. Common areas were very clean.

A/C: Quickly and quietly would get the room very cool if desired.

CLOSET SPACE: Average size

STYLE OF ROOM: Our mountain view room actually had a nice view of the lake just out a side window. Most hotels would sell this room as a lake view room and then call the better view rooms lake front. If booking a mountain view, see if you can get one that still has a view of the lake. Room is nothing special but large and comfortable. The mountain view is nice as well but it’s very close to the room and not as if you are looking out on a vast mountain range. We did spot a few monkeys on the mountain.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: The mountain view rooms are on a somewhat busy road and the cars can be heard going by. On a weekend it may be a bit too much noise and worth the extra cost of a lakeview room just for that alone.

FOOD: The restaurant seems to be the best in town. Perhaps some of the other more luxurious hotels out of town have the best food. We ate at the hotel Lalu for dinner for about $30 per person without drinks and appetizers. Food at Lalu was good but not worth the price. We ate at the lower floor restaurant in the Harbor hotel and the food was below average.

TV/INTERNET: Wireless internet is provided in the common areas with some of the lower floor rooms may be able to catch the signal.

SERVICE: The owner, Tina, speaks English very well and is helpful and friendly.

COMMON AREA: The best part of the hotel besides the amazing view is the décor of the lobby. Very charming and comfortable.

ROOM & CITY TIPS: Higher view rooms will have better views of the lake. Be sure if getting a mountain view room to ask for one that still has a view of the lake. Highlight of SML for us was renting a scooter and driving around the lake (be sure to rent from a place that also has insurance). Lalu is by far the best hotel in town, followed by Fenisia (which actually has a road between it and the lake). Saw Richford?? Hotel as well which had a nice lobby area, but the room pictures looked very rustic and cabin-like. For the price (US$100) this is an excellent choice. Although the Lalu would have been my first choice it just wasn’t worth the $400/night. The Del Lago Hotel next door is a typical nothing special hotel with a 3.5 star lobby but the rooms pictures look nice and I would think are better than Spa Home. Spa Home is a good choice since the atmosphere there is less like a big hotel and more like staying in someone’s home of which I think is appropriate for this type of destination.. If you are ok, with just a touch of luxury and a slightly below average bathroom, this hotel is an excellent choice.

  • Liked — Lake View & Location
  • Disliked — Smelly bathrooms
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2008

SPA Home is a small family run hotel that sits on the edge of the main tourist village of Shueishe in Sun Moon Lake. In off season the rooms are not too expensive (averaging US140 a night for a lake view with spa tub and breakfast). We had a room near the top floor facing the lake. Lots of light from the many large windows. Tastefully decorated, super comfy bed and bathroom. Good sized room for the money. Staff is nice but speak little English so you're pretty much on your own. Breakfast is great
and eggs/bacon style. Also have a herb tea and cookie send off at night included with the room in the little cafe/living room downstairs. We did eat once in the hotel for dinner. Food was pretty good and more Western style. We took the bus up from Taipei (Green Line) and walked over in five minutes to the hotel. Lots and lots of real Chinese food (English menus seem available). We also liked the large hotel next door which had a great dinner set in the basement dining area and lucky for us a Starbucks next to the hotel. On foot not so much to do. A few paths for walking and bike rentals abound. You can take the local bus around the lake. Very beautiful. Or if fearless, rent a scooter (ride two but don't get the electric models as they won't make it around the lake), and wander at will. The ethnic village of Itashao opposite the hotel on the lake is very interesting as are
the various Chinese temples. Boat tours (Chinese only) also are offered all day. Great stay for a night or two. Contact the hotel through email directly.

  • Liked — A little luxury at an affordable price. Great views.
  • Disliked — No elevator and internet access only on first floor dinning area (could use a wireless upgrade)
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmanosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
0.8 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.6 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#9 of 127 in Nantou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#10 of 127 in Nantou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
#4 of 127 in Nantou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 127 in Nantou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Lakeside Hotel

Property: SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Lakeside Hotel
Address: No.95, Zhongshan Rd., Yuchi Township, Nantou County 55548, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Lakeside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Lakeside Hotel Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing