We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with relaxing atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shangrila Music Villa
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Nantou County
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Originally, my plan was to stay with The Old England which is the most expensive among the 3 hotels operated by the same company. Due to availability, my friends and I eventually chose the Music Villa.

The hotel and its room is great. The room has 2 storeys, with a double bed at ground floor, while 2 single beds upstairs. Also, there is a little garden on the ground floor. On the 1st floor, there is a little balcony (subject to the room you stay) which can accommodate a small table with two chairs. It's relaxing to enjoy the coffee (which you can make it by the coffee beans provided in each room) with your loved one in the little garden or balcony upstairs. But it's too bad it rained heavily most of the time during my stay.

Besides, in each room, it provides the heater and the CD player with amplifier (on the lower floor). You can borrow 3 CDs each time at most. It's perfect to have the light music and a cup of self-made coffee in the room.

The hotel does not provide the dinner nor lunch. But the staff can help to book the tables in another 2 hotels of the same company. There is breakfast provided and you have to choose either Western or Chinese dishes on the night before. All of us chose the Western English-style breakfast and it's yummy.

The hotel locates quite far away from the town center. It's probably takes 30mins for walking to/from the town center. But it's no good to walk at night or wet weather. And it provides the shuttle service to/from another hotel and you can access the town center in 5 mins from there.

If you look for a 'convenient' place, this hotel may not be the best choice. But if you want to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, esp if the weather is good that allows you to sit and drink outdoors, the Music Villa should be a good one for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    24
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

On arrival at Music villa, we left our luggages and went to Old England for high Tea. Being a guest at Music Villa, we were entitled to a discount for the high tea and it turned out to be very reasonable. The scones were delicious and so were all the lovely cakes and sandwiches.

At the Music Villa, there is a friendly staff from Philippines who could speak Mandarin well and a young girl who helped us willingly with our luggages. The dog named Golden is adorable but likes to sleep alot. We had dinner at Shangrila Hanging Garden (at the town centre) as transport was provided.

Breakfast was adequate with free-flow of cereals, prunes, cranberry, yogurt, different types of coffee, tea, porridge in addition to a bowl of salad and three layered wholemeal sandwiches, mushroom and scrambled eggs.

We walked to the town centre ( 30 mins slow walk or 15 mins brisk walk) where there are many walking trails, lavender cottege shop, starbuck, fruit stalls, swiss garden and cafes..

The plus point about staying at the Music Villa is that it gives you a feeling of staying in a traditional English apartment. If we visit Cingjing again, I would choose to stay near the town centre and there are many minsu there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kim025Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We went on a 3D2N trip to Cingjing, starting from Hualien, & taking the route via He Huan Shan to reach Cingjing Farm. We were lucky (or not) that it snowed on the day we were travelling, & hence were trapped on He Huan Shan for a good few hours before cars could pass through. We reached our minsu Shangrila Music Villa at 7+pm, instead of the afternoon as arranged.

Music Villa is one of 3 minsus / resorts belonging to the Shangrila group in Chingjing, the 1st being Hanging Gardens, 2nd is Music Villa, and the latest addition is The Old England (built only this year). Music Villa is located quite a far way from the centre of Cingjing, definitely cant walk, and u have to rely on the shuttle service by the resort.

Positive comments 1st. The villa is really nice & pretty. Great for photos. Each room is 2 storeys, & our room had 1 double bed on 1st floor, 1 double & 1 single bed on 2nd floor. 1st floor opened up to a lovely balcony & 2nd floor had a mini balcony also. Food wise we had dinner at Hanging Gardens (no dinner service at Music Villa) - food is really good! Service at Hanging Gardens also is exceptionally good. More on that later.

Negative comments.
1. Rooms are poorly heated. It is now winter, He Huan Shan was snowing on the day we arrived! But there is only heating on the 1st floor! We have a 6 mth old baby, and hence we chose to sleep on 2nd floor where there is more space, but we got really cold at night! Doesnt make sense to have more beds on 2nd floor but no heating! Plus, there wasnt even electric blankets (when most minsus we've been to in Taiwan wld gladly provide that).

2. Service at Music Villa is appalling. The staff at this particular resort are perhaps inexperienced, hence very inflexible & unaccomodating. Travelling with a young child calls for flexibility, and we had to ask them to help arrange transport out to Cingjing Farm at a separate time out of their schedule but it was not easy! We had to banter with them for a long time before they finally agreed to send us out to the tourist centre & then we wld have to take the public bus to the Cingjing Farm ourselves (tourist centre was only 5 mins away by car). I must say though, that the staff at Hanging Gardens were more than helpful whenever we were there for meals, and I think it's really experience that matters.

Overall, for the money we paid for Music Villa, it was not a good experience. On retrospect, we could have paid for much less & gotten a friendly minsu experience. So think twice if u are thinking of going to Music Villa for a comfy friendly minsu experience. If u do want to stay with Shangrila at Cingjing, u may be better off at Hanging Gardens, where the staff are much nicer & more experienced.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Goodenuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

nice beautiful place. great service and comfortable rooms. the receptionist showed us the rooms and even how to make the coffee.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jastheace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Stayed 2 nights at Shangrila Music Villa in December (24-26th) with my wife and 8 years old girl. We absolutely loved it.

Booked the hotel via a Taiwan travel website (ezTravel) for a free-&-easy package which included transportation by tour bus (to and fro from Taipei Station), breakfast, 2 dinners + 1 lunch and optional half day mountain or forest tour (pay separate).

We fell in love with Shangila Music Villa. It really looks like all the photos we saw online. I took some photos and you can check them out as attached. The staffs are very nice people and they are always trying to help you.

Everywhere you go, you hear wonderful classical music (you can borrow CDs from the hall). I think all rooms are double-storey. My wife and girl took the ground floor room (double bed) and I took the upper room (2 twin beds). Their room opens out to a small garden on the balcony while mine is just a roll of window which opens out to some beautiful red maple trees…

We love the atmosphere, the room, the food (all other meals except are served in the 1st hotel 5 mins by shutter pick-up). It is more comfortable to sleep in the lower floor during winter as the heater is located there. It was a bit too cold for me upstairs (you must close your windows as long as possible to allow the heat from downstairs to warm up the whole place). You really need to wear extra clothes or pile on extra blankets...

All residents are given wine vouchers to have a glass of wine every night but we didn’t go for it as it was a Christmas Eve’s present exchange session and we didn’t prepare any present for it.

If you don’t want to eat at the hotel (which you should because the food is great and the atmosphere is unbeatable), you can always go to the where Starbuck is (there are some restaurants there)… Transportation to all these places is easy, just call the hotel and they will gladly ferry you to and fro.

My girl is especially fond of the dog named ‘Golden’ (in Shangrila Music Villa) and a cat ‘Peanut’ (in Shangrila 1st hotel). Definitely want to be back again…

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fussyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
18.5 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.2 mi away
Florence Resort Villa (Italianate Cingjing Nantou)
Florence Resort Villa (Italianat...
#96 of 128 in Nantou County
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ming Ging Farm
Ming Ging Farm
#17 of 128 in Nantou County
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old England Manor
The Old England Manor
#8 of 656 in Nantou County
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cingjing Brilliant Twins of Seattle
0.4 mi away
Shangrila Hanging Garden Resort
Shangrila Hanging Garden Resort
#21 of 656 in Nantou County
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Music Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Music Villa

Property: Shangrila Music Villa
Address: No.34 Rongguang Lane, Ren'ai Township, Nantou County 546, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Nantou, Cingjing Xiafei Music Villa is a great base from which to explore this vibrant city. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Small Swiss Garden, Cingjing Farm, Evergreen Grassland. At Cingjing Xiafei Music Villa, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. Top features of the hotel include free Wi-Fi in all rooms, express check-in/check-out, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas, car park. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The hotel's recreational facilities, which include garden are designed for escape and relaxation. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Cingjing Xiafei Music Villa hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangrila Music Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangrila Music Villa Hotel Nantou
Shangrila Music Villa Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing