We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best choice for you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Moon Lake Full House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sun Moon Lake Full House Resort
Ranked #17 of 127 Hotels in Nantou
Certificate of Excellence
Taoyuan, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best choice for you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am pleased to stay here because of the aboriginal cottage style or a little bit like South African country side style of the hotel ,and room & lobby were decorated with wooden sculptures ,paintings , wood furniture,antiques as well , and it's just by the Sun Moon Lake ,Wa Wa ,It's terrific ,Deeply impressed ,and it's really worth for your staying here the Full House Resort hotel .
From Steven Liu

Room Tip: the room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bravo927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    16
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
20
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pingtung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The room we stayed is very clean with a balcony on which you can sit back, relax and take in the beautiful lake view. We had breakfast (a big plate of scrambled egg, baked toast, ham, sausage and papaya) in the well-decorated garden bathing in the wonderful daylight. The boss and staffs treat us very well and greeted us warmly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathleenMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

glad we stayed here. rooms were first class, staff were very helpful, restaraunt food was excellent. Over all decor was an eclectic mix of wooden artifacts from all round the place. we would definately
come back if we get back to taiwan. the local village was great with food and local beer.

Room Tip: book early overlooking lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry011168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Plus Points:
- haberdashery of delightful art objects that decorate both hotel and restaurant in a pleasant manner
- excellent restaurant (they creatively utilise fruits with each of their dishes!) that is well endorsed in the Michelin guide and many other resto-guides from Taiwan
- cute Swiss chalet style wooden building
- large and comfortable rooms
- walking distance from the (NT$300 per person) "rope way" cable car to head up to the "Formosa Aboriginal Culture Village" (which is really a commercial theme park with additional entrance fee of NT$ 250 per head)
- easy access to lakeside trail (cycle/hike route)

Areas for Improvement:
- English language skills of staff is limited
- breakfast not extraordinary. Just ok by western standards

Overall Take-away:
- you can reach the hotel from the main bus station of SML by taking the local bus that tours round the lake (NT$30). It is the next stop in the small town of Ita Thao after the stop for the cable car (lifted close to the Lealea hotel)
- located in the small town Ita Thao has plenty of small stores, street food and restaurants plus the pier with boats to get to the other side of the lake.

Room tip: request a top floor lake-view room or back-room to avoid the noise of the early-bird groups strolling by the lake at 8am

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewScrivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Staying in this hotel was very nice. The clerks and waiters were very helpful and some of them especially nice and able to speak English very well (some could even speak some words in French). The hotel is located in a quiet and nice area, very close to the beautiful lake.
Next time I will come back with my girlfriend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0nvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

if you want something lovely and non standard - we'd definitely recommend this!

We fell in love with this place on arrival. In an increasingly touristic area Full House shines like a diamond.

We were treated to a warm reception in English, and after check-in were left to wander the art adorned hallways, balconies and peak into their intriguing garden. Our lovely twin double room was wonderfully decorated, spacious and very homely. We had a huge TV, effective air con and a decent sized fridge.

Food is next level Taiwanese gourmet that offsets the excellent local streetfood very nicely.

The staff are extremely sweet and helpful. We stayed an extra night as it was our favorite place to stay of the trip.

M + Y

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkCremins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

First off let me say I did not stay in the hotel.
I was brought to the amazing restaurant in the hotel.
It's signature style is the use of fruit in all the dishes. Certainly unusual but tasty!
The decor of this property is an eclectic mix of log cabin, european wrought iron and oil paintings, candlestands and bric a brac, old books and......fruit - in many fruit bowls all over the place. It has a homely feel and it feels as if you've been invited to a party in someone's garden. There are cute cat and gecko statues on the trees and small tentages over large tables where larger groups were huddling over hotpots in the cold misty Sun Moon Lake air.
The dishes we had were scrambled eggs with persimmon flesh and fresh persimmon slices and sea salt (it sounds funny and tastes as it sounds), mushrooms and honeydew melon, fresh pineapple slices with spicy chicken, white bittergourd with melon, steamed fresh fish, salmon with dragonfruit and of course the hotpot choc-a-block with other vegetables, seafood and meat.
Most dishes were delicious, some were not so, but all were inventive.
Certainly not a meal you would soon forget.
You need to come try this!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrChristophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou hotels
0.2 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
2.1 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#9 of 127 in Nantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lealea Garden Hotels-Sun Moon Lake-Moon
1.6 mi away
SPA Home Sun Moon Lake Lakeside Hotel
2.9 mi away
Butchard Villas
Butchard Villas
#5 of 127 in Nantou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Moon Lake Full House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Moon Lake Full House Resort

Property: Sun Moon Lake Full House Resort
Address: No.8 Shuixiu Street | Riyue Village, Yuchi Township, Nantou 555, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Nantou
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Nantou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Moon Lake Full House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Moon Lake hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sun Moon Lake Full House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full House Hotel Nantou
Sun Moon Lake Full House Resort Taiwan/Nantou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing