We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in QingJing”
Review of Sunnydale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunnydale House
Ranked #46 of 654 Nantou County B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay in QingJing”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Sunnydale is located near to those famoust tourist attractions. The boss of Sunnydale, Mr Franky sent us to the QingJing Farm and taught us how to walk back/take bus back to the hostel. It's not a long journey and you can enjoy scenes along the road. Location is convenient and near to one 7-11. The staffs are ready to help and friendly. The breakfast and dinner served by them are great especially the steamboat during the cold weather. I like the milk tea served during the breakfast time. If you want have a extra session like sunrise or hotspring, sunnydale could help you arrange it too. In overall, this place is great to stay and it's value for money!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crystial1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    23
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
17
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is my second time to this minsu. This time round is with my parents and auntie. I went back again because of the good impression i had the other time.

During check-in, the lady receptionist saw that it was my birthday. Thus, i got an upgrade of room and there was great help in helping us to bring the luggage up the stairs to the room.
We also received complimentary dinner the next day. My family and i really appreciated that.

Though it was cold due to the weather, i appreciated that the bed could be heated up as my father is very afraid of coldness. Thus, we rested well.

The breakfast was delicious and my parents even commented that it was better than that of the hotel we stayed in taipei.

I also love the scenary from the balcony and the fresh air up in the hill.

I would recommend it to my friends and relatives if they are visiting cingjing.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tay_Sin_Hui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I'm usually very picky about where I stay, especially when I have a toddler in tow. However, as this was a last minute trip, we didn't have many options and I should've guessed that a place that is still available on such short notice can't be amazing.

View:
Can't fault the view. All three rooms that my family stayed in had amazing views. That's a huge plus. The balcony in the room makes it nice to chill out in the morning. My little one had his morning milk while staring out at the awesome view in the balcony while the husband and I had our beers at night (when the little one was sleeping).

Room:
This is really terrible. The room, though clean, does not have a heater! It's my bad for not checking and just assuming that the room will be heated in this time and age! I've got a toddler and 86-year-old grandma with me and I was so worried they will catch a cold! There's an electric blanket but it gets either too hot or too cold. Totally not comfortable. The bed was really hard and the pillows were too flat. None of us had any proper rest for the two nights that we were there!

The bathroom was just awful. Not modern, no separation between shower area, basin and toilet. Everything gets wet after a shower. Coupled with the cold, it gets really uncomfortable to go to the toilet. There was a lack of shelving to put our toiletries as well.

Food/service:
We decided not to have our meals there but on one of the evenings, we reached the minsu just before 8pm and the little one got hungry as he didn't have much of an appetite earlier. We asked if they still have any plain rice (dinner ends at 7pm if I'm not wrong), and it was a direct no. No offer to check if the kitchen still has anything left. And I was ready to PURCHASE PLAIN RICE from them. Not asking for them to give us an elaborate meal!

Location:
It's a distance from the main area with 7-11, Starbucks, etc. But we had drivers so it wasn't an issue to us.

Even our drivers commented that this is one of the worst minsus they have come across (looking at the lack of service given and lack of heating infrastructure). So yup, never again for me.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Felians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnydalebb, 經理 at Sunnydale House, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Google Translation
你好 ,

對於您這次在民宿住宿的感想我們說明如下 :
1 . 在清境地區民宿房間大多沒暖氣 , 但床上都有鋪電毯 , 溫度可隨個人喜好而設定
2 . 房間的床是獨立筒高級床墊 , 大多數客人都稱讚 , 枕頭也是適合多數人
3 . 您選擇的是綠葉雙人和四人房價最便宜 , 所以浴室不是乾濕分離
民宿還有摘星, 觀月, 采風杉 , 閣樓四人和閣樓雙人房價較高 , 浴室都是乾濕分離
4 . 您住宿日期是1月3日,4日(星期五 , 星期六) , 而您到達民宿已是晚上8點( 民宿星期五 ~ 星期日不提供晚餐) , 由於您沒胃口因此工作人員也依您要求免費提供米飯並加熱 , 還提供青花椰菜 , 魚肉並問您需肉鬆嗎 ? 怎會說我們沒提供呢 ?
5 . 我們工作同仁都是以客為尊也親自陪同您到房間並協助運送長者的行李到他房間
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nantou County hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

it is the second time that my mum and i had went to cingjing, but it was the first time i stayed in minsu. While i was searching for a minsu, i decided to choose sunnydale house after my friends' recommendation. To be honest, i was quite disappointed... The toilet is very cold, so is the room... i was also surpised to note that the owner, Ms Lai's attitude is rude and also is her services. After staying in the minsu then i realise that there is other minsu that is better and cheaper.

Not recommeded.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisahuang82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnydalebb, 業者 at Sunnydale House, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Google Translation
Hi xxx,

很抱歉 ! 讓您不愉快
我很希望能聽聽您的意見
可以請您 email 到 sunnydale.bb@gmail.com 嗎 ?

寶芬
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at sunnydale while visiting Cingjing in December 2013. We stayed one night in 绿叶 and 1 night in 观月. During the period when we were in Cingjing, the weather was very cold and it was snowing on hehuanshan. I was very disappointed to realise that the rooms are not equipped with a heater as I thought all accommodation in countries with winter. Though the beds are lined with a heat blanket, it was extremely painful to get off the bed onto the floor. The toilet seats were also very cold! The location of Sunnydale was probably one of the reasons that it took quite a while for the water heater to heat up in the shower. The owners of Sunnydale were very helpful and friendly, always there to provide directions and any assistance. Breakfast was provided for us and it includes simple toast with butter, peanut butter and Jam. Porridge was also provided with side dishes such as cabbage, mushrooms, pork floss, eggs and other pickles (the breakfast menu served was identical for both days). I guessed life in Cingjing is very simple and people are there to be away from the hustle and bustle of city life. I couldn't quite get used to it and we ate at MOS Burger for 2 of our meals. Sunnydale is about 15 mins by foot away from the city centre but it is dangerous to be walking along the roads as some cars are speeding. At night, it is advisable to not stay out as the roads are not well-lit. All in all, there are areas that need to be better developed to attract more tourism.

Room Tip: A basic room would suffice, I do not find it value for money to upgrade to a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yinghan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The 1st time my gal pal & I visited Qingjing, we were glad we stayed at Sunnydale (among the countless accommodation options). The view of the layered mountains was magnificent & unblocked from our balcony and the service was personable & made you feel at home.

That got me returning when I revisited Qingjing, originally with my mom but when it ended up being a lone trip, I got to experience even more of Sunnydale‘s hospitality especially from the lady boss who was thoughtful to the fact that I was alone.

I was in Qingjing for 3 nights earlier this month with another gal pal. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sunnydale, appreciated the heating mattress in the chill, loved the mini hotpot (they don‘t stinge on the ingredients!) & thanked the lady boss for going out of her way to help us get around.

If you are looking for a clean cosy room (not overly ornamented), unblocked view from the balcony, easy accessibility (Sunnydale is along the main winding road in the mountains, 5 mins walk to the nearest 7-ELEVEN & 15mins walk to Mist Plaza with Starbucks & sufficient shops to spend a night) and personable but not intrusive service, Sunnydale is highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaiwanMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarawak,Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Food (dinner & breakfast provided in the room rate) is just average.
The room (windward) itself is good, can be cleaner though.
There is no separation between the toilet and shower, so everything is wet once someone has taken his/her shower.
It is a few minutes' walk to the Old England and about 20minutes' walk (be very careful when you walk by the side of the road) from the Mist Plaza. Sunnydale provides transport only to GreenGreen Grassland, therefore we have to walk back ourselves. Would choose a location nearer to the plaza next time to experience another minsu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bitterpumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
0.9 mi away
Star Villa
Star Villa
#12 of 654 in Nantou County
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Julie's Garden B&B Cingjing
Julie's Garden B&B Cingjing
#3 of 654 in Nantou County
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cingiing Dream Forest Villa
Cingiing Dream Forest Villa
#14 of 654 in Nantou County
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cingjing Brilliant Twins of Seattle
0.3 mi away
Sun Shine Vacation Villa
Sun Shine Vacation Villa
#8 of 58 in Nantou County
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ming Ging Farm
Ming Ging Farm
#16 of 127 in Nantou County
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnydale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnydale House

Property: Sunnydale House
Address: No.31 Shouting Ln., Ren'ai Township, Nantou County 00546, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faced Hehuan Mountain and Chilai Mountain with the appearance of modern European style, Sunnydale House provides the best location for great view. As it faces east, its design has been ingeniously to use French windows and balcony in order to get a renowned view of sunrise, cloud sea, cloud waterfall and starry night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunnydale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnydale House Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing