We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in this friendly bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skylight Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 678 Nantou County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We took the Nantou bus from Taichung and travelled to Sun Moon Lake at a cost of TW$190 each. The journey took us approximately an hour and after dropping off at the bus station we took a ferry across the lake at a cost of TW$100 to Skylight Bed & Breakfast. The B&B is a short walk from the ferry terminal.

We booked a double room and stayed on level 3 of the apartment. There is a lift in the B&B which helped with the transport of luggage. The size of the room is comfortable for two people. The bathroom has a large tub and a rain shower. The tub can easily fit two people and is a nice way to unwind after a long day of sightseeing and traveling.

The location of the establishment is also very close to several amenities such as a 7-11 and a Starbucks. There are also shops selling local food and souvenirs.

The nearest attraction is probably the cable car station but you will need to take the public bus to get there. The wait for the public bus can be very long. Otherwise the ferry ride across the lake is also an attraction on its own.

The owners, a young couple, are friendly. Breakfast is served on the roof level and you will enjoy a nice view of the lake in the morning.

In summary, what we liked:
1) friendly owners
2) nice bathroom facility including a large tub
3) easy to find shops nearby

What we disliked:
1) a little further from most of the attractions

Room Tip: Most rooms are relatively good. The rooms facing the front of the hotel are usually the bigger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamsulAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were so glad to stay in this high-tech with lift hotel. It was run by a young Taiwanese couple and it was very cosy and family-oriented. The breakfast spread of toasted bread with hash brown, sausages, chicken meat and scrambled eggs with a fresh orange juice and later you could also ask for coffee or tea, was made with much love and tasted so yummy and delicious!

This hotel deserved to be recognised for their high standards which could be compared to or even better than a 5-star hotel but it would need to be improved in their front area service and reception.

So if you intend to go to Taiwan and stay at Nantou, do book this hotel and I believe you will really have a good rest.

Christine

Room Tip: try to book a higher level so that you could have a better view of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_loh343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Skylight B&B provided everything a guest would require. Situated just south of Sun Moon Lake, the B&B provides an excellent location to start your journey. It's difficult to fault any of the room's facilities with the bathroom facilities a standout. The bathtub was particularly memorable, with the mixing tap creating a thin and wide, waterfall like stream. However, one minor gripe was that the spa function in the bathtub was inoperable. Set menu breakfast is also provided between 7-10am, though guests are required to nominate their expected breakfast time.

This B&B is definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The reception area is nothing impressive and the location is a bit off from Shuishe the visitors' centre (that is where most county to county tourist buses will arrive & depart).Despite all that, I must say I have a wonderful experience in this minsu & will definitely recommend this place to anyone who would like to visit Sun Moon Lake with a tight budget and wanted a free & easy tour.
Good points worth highlighting:
1) very big & clean room with enough English & local channels to keep both adults & children entertained
2) superb housekeeping service-the best I have experienced so far. Our wet laundry in the toilet are nicely hanged on hangers and even things in cabinet are arranged neatly too!!!
3) breakfast is pre-ordered Chinese or Western set per person. Both are delicious and accompanied by an assortment of fresh cut fruits.
4) it is only 9 mins walk to the cable car station (be sure to study the local map which will show a trail that leads directly to the station) or 1 stop away if you are taking the shuttle bus.
5) Ms Sean Shen is an exceptional multi-tasker who has been very helpful with our queries.
This is a place that is truly value for money!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,704,366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with kids. This b&b is on the ita thao side and hence away from the maddening crowd at shui shei side of the lake. The staff at the visitor centre was very friendly and helpful and directed us easily to the b&b.

There are only 12 rooms. The b&b is located opposite a 7-11 and next to a gift shop. Lots of food and gift shops around. No worries about food n shopping. The b&b is an easy 10min to the doorway of the Formosa cultural theme park. They also sell discounted tickets.

The breakfast is great. There's a choice of western or Chinese. I would recommend western. My room was very comfortable and provides an excellent scenic view of the lake. We even caught sunset. There was a sunken bathtub with rainshower. Soaking in the tub, we could enjoy a good view of the lake while in the comfort of our room.

Being on the quieter pier, there is no bicycle rental here. A very good place if U want a place to chill. Try to book room 701. You would enjoy it.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jangtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel is at Itathao, which is the quieter part of SML. There isn't much food or things to do at night around this area, but the good thing is that it is nice and quiet, and it is a 15 minute walk to the ropeway. The receptionist was really friendly, helping us quite a lot with calling up the hotel at our next destination and checking the traffic conditions as we were going to Alishan the next day and due to the heavy rains, we were not sure whether we could head there. The room is well-maintained and clean, with a nice modern look. There is a nice hot tub to soak in with a view of the lake and mood lighting. Note that only the rooms on the 7th floor seem to be able to get a lake view (we got the triple room). The 8th floor is the breakfast area and the breakfast (choice of international or oriental) was superb. They made individual portions for us and it was really yummy. Also, there's a really nice handmade nougat stall nearby which you should try. They sell only nougats (nutty, not too hard and not too sweet) and have interesting flower flavours.

Room Tip: 7th floor has a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Upon checking into this property I was immediately impressed with the friendly smiling face of the receptionist. I can only confirm that most of what you read about this place is true!

- good location.
- well maintained and very clean.
- lovely, friendly staff.
- nice bathroom with good sized tub to soak in.
- good breakfast. I opted for the western style each morning and was well pleased.
- nice view of the lake from our room on the 7th floor.

From the hotel you can explore around the lake or venture up to the cultural centre on the cable car. If you want to indulge head for the Lalu hotel for afternoon tea..... not an English style tea and cucumber sandwiches offering!!!!!........ but an indulgent lunch style buffet with a great choice of food. A bargain at about $25 (aus).

Room Tip: To get a decent view of the lake you need a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
1.6 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.1 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
0.1 mi away
Lealea Garden Hotels-Sun Moon Lake-Moon
Lealea Garden Hotels-Sun Moon La...
#22 of 132 in Nantou County
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
#11 of 132 in Nantou County
125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#10 of 132 in Nantou County
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cherry Feast Resort (B&B)
Cherry Feast Resort (B&B)
#24 of 132 in Nantou County
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylight Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylight Bed & Breakfast

Address: No.88 Yiyong Street, Riyue Vil., Yuchi Township, Nantou County 55546, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 678 B&Bs / Inns in Nantou County
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skylight Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skylight B&B (bed and breakfast) is in a great location at one of the main piers of Sun Moon Lake, Ita Thao, which is an aboriginal village. The B&B is sited in the middle of the shopping street with many food stands and restaurants, only a 3-minute walk from Ita Thao Pier. Due to the neighboring high buildings, the rooms don't offer lake views. Despite this, Skylight B&B is proud of its modern comfortable design. Every guestroom is well equipped- with Wi-Fi, air conditioning, heating facilities, a flat-screen TV, a fridge, an electric kettle and free toiletries. The bathrooms each have an overhead shower and also a huge stone bathtub, which will definitely release your stress and wash your weariness away after a long day. The bed is queen size and it comfortably helps you have a good sleep at night. Guests are offered a fresh and delicious breakfast on the top floor of the B&B. They can relax and enjoy the sun terrace of our outdoor restaurant. Skylight B&B provides easy access to all attractions: a 15-minute walk to Ropeway Station, a 15-minute drive to Shuei-she Bus Station, and is an 80-minute drive from the Taichung High Speed Rail Station. Sun Moon Lake enjoys an abundance of unique and interesting sightseeing spots, such as Ci'en Pagoda, Xuanzang Temple, Shiwatou Trail, Dazhuhu Trail, Peacock Park, Wenwu Temple, Longfeng Temple, and also many lovely trails and bikeways. The Skylight staff know very well about the environment, and they can make your travel and stay the most enjoyable it can be. Furthermore, we speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skylight Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylight Bed & Breakfast Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing