We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
Ranked #4 of 134 Hotels in Nantou County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The room has a stunning view overlooking Sun Moon Lake. The decor of the room is nice but tired. The service of the staff is good, just like what you would usually get in Taiwan. Food at the restaurant is tasty but forgettable.

Room Tip: All rooms hv a great view of the Sun Moon Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ng G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

I love this hotel - because it is not an ordinary luxury hotel. The Lalu has incredible architecture and details in the design. If you don't appreciate architectural design in a big way, don't bother. You will have to sacrifice customary things such as bright lighting and nice carpeting and "like new" finishes. Yes, it's old and I am disappointed that it hasn't been maintained, that various things are showing their age. If you need everything to be shiny and new, this is not for you. The Lalu is about a quiet, contemplative space where you can really enjoy nature - from the walls/windows that can slide completely open to the large expanses of glass to provide views of the lake and mountains beyond.

Yes, all the floors and walls and ceiling are wood - unusual for this climate - so they show wear and tear. But your tactile senses will love it. When was the last time you wanted to caress a wall?

This is not a hotel full of tour groups and travel packages. It is meant to be exclusive and private. There are not a plethora of dining options. This is a great place to spend intimate time with love ones, without distractions of tourists.

Unfortunately, you can hear all those boats and their loudspeakers blaring. Still, you can walk into the nearby village and hike along trails.

There are also private villas with their own garden and pool - but I actually prefer the normal suite with their large balconies facing the lake. To me, this is a great hotel with elegant design - not one for those who want to rush around to sightsee and do the tourist things. It's more like a retreat.

Yes, The Lalu is an expensive hotel - but don't let that fool you into thinking it's a place to show off your wealth - it's not flashy and won't impress people who need to be impressed. It's subtle, elegant, modern design meant to allow you to enjoy the beautiful lake - whether from you room or from the infinity pool or the tea houses floating above a koi pond.

Room Tip: Some rooms have larger balconies with large sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This is a really good hotel with gorgeous view.The room is big and comfortable, with a large living area and a bathroom. The best part of the hotel--It's view of the Sun Moon Lake. Every suite's view is good. Simple indoor decor-it makes people feel relax. One of the best in hotel in TW!!

Room Tip: Higher floor--better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terencehuangtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Spent a night at The Lalu for our wedding anniversary. Hotel has got real breathtaking view of the lake and staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. We do not feel the need to get out of our room with the magnificent view and spent the day lazing in the room, enjoying the view. Thumbs up! If opportunity rises, we will definitely visit The Lalu again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ameldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The view is beathtaking and the service was impeccable. However, dining choice is limited and there isn't much to do but relax in your room or around the property. The infinity pool is a must [visit]!!!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank jkk918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Spent one night here in December.

I came by the hotel limousine which picked us up from Hotel One in Taichung, costed 3000 TWD but I think it is worth it as it is otherwise quite a chore if you are not driving.

I arrived around 2...room was not available (check in is 3pm)...we were served tea and some nuts in the reception while we waited. The place is serene...but I found the lobby and floors slightly too "bright"...but overall is very stunning with great views. Check-in process was smooth and courteous...asking if we need to pre-Arrange transport for the return leg and confirming our dinner reservation.

The lady (Dora) gave us a tour of the hotel...explaining all the facilities on site and in the room.

The room itself was very nice...with spectacular view...I saw some previous reviews saying the rooms were dirty and worn...I didn't found the same issue. Yes, the hotel isn't spanking new..but I would say it is more aging gracefully. Some slight issue with noise as we were close to the main staircase and occasionally there are kids passing by the corridor....

We did a dip in the pool...water isn't the 28c claimed....freezing cold. They did however serve us some ginger tea by the poolside which was a good gesture.

We rented bikes to tour the lake....didn't eat at the restaurant but had breakfast. Vast choice and decent quality.

The room is not cheap but considering the entire package and hotel...I would say is worth the money. Breath taking view when u wake up in the morning. Nothing come close in this area. The Wen Wen Resort nearby is skewed for mainlanders....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Hotel has unique design and breathtaking lake front view. The staffs were friendly and professional. However due to the bath tub was placed on the wooden floor, it is easy to have overflow water poured into the wooden floor. Our room floor near the tub has a rotten wooden panel that is easily to hurt the feet if you don't pay attention while walking around the tub. The SPA was not professional. They place the heated blanket beneath the bed sheet caused an unpleasant sweating experience and the price was too high compared to the service.
The best experience during our stay was the water yoga and the consulting by Dr. Rajesh Mishra.
My husband's back pain was instantly reduced after the water yoga practice. We highly recommend this activity provided by the hotel for free.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malihousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
1.1 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.1 mi away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 134 in Nantou County
1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#10 of 134 in Nantou County
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#9 of 134 in Nantou County
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
Fuli Hot Spring Resort
#8 of 134 in Nantou County
96 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
#15 of 134 in Nantou County
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalu Sun Moon Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalu Sun Moon Lake

Address: No.142 Jungshing Road, Yuchr Shiang Nantou, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Spa Hotel in Nantou County
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nantou County
Price Range: £341 - £698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalu Sun Moon Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lalu Sun Moon Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Nantou
Lalu Sun Moon Lake Hotel
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing