We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starry Nantou

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantou
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Starry Nantou
2 reviews
“Nice wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The owner provide all the need we wan... even offer us a lift to the nearest 7-11 to purchase some food incase we hungry at night as their dinner start quite early... ;) thanks for their hospitality... next round will go there again...

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    38
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Initially, we were considering Starry 观星园or Misty Villa云蒙仙境.At last, we chose Starry because it was said to be the highest "min shu" in Qing Jing, and we could enjoy good view of the town. It did not disappoint us when we arrived at dinner time. Night view is good, air is fresh.
7 of us were given a room with 7 beds, because there was no more room. The good part, we can chat whole night. The bad part, only 1 bathroom and toilet. Bed is comfortable, no fan,have to open the back door for better air circulation. The room is just next to the platform where people hang around at night for night view, could be a little noisy when some of the tenants were not considerate enough.
Hotpot dinner surprised us with really good mushrooms and vege, taiwan very own tasty unlimited refill rice, plate of pork.
Breakfast is light, toast bread with vege. We were alright with that because the price itself is considered cheap. We never expect much other than the good view.
Don't miss the sunrise, about 6.30am. Not the grand one, but worth to have a look.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This minsu is located at the highest point in Cingjing. Therefore, you have a great view (day and night) of Cingjing town. Room rate includes dinner on arrival day and breakfast the next day. We arrived just in time for the dinner. It was a hotpot dinner. Feel so homey especially when the weather is cold and you have hotpot for dinner! The room does not have a fan. If the air is stagnant, the room can get a little stuffy unless you open the door. At the same time, you will attract flying insects and mozzies when the door is opened. Above our room was the dining hall. Thus, it can get a little noisy when people drag the chair and the sound of walking footsteps. There is an observation patio too where you can take plenty of scenery photographs of Cingjing town. The owner also offer drop off service at the Green Green Grassland on complimentary. Please arrange in advance with the owner.

Room Tip: We had room B3 that is below the dining hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetPaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed with a group of friends and we really love the place! It's the second stay for us as we had been here 3 yrs ago. Steamboat is nice, no stars this time round due to the fog.... We took shared cabs up (contact from boss), thus need to change bus. The cab driver is a very funny chap. Overall, we have no qualms coming here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TakoTako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Room rate includes breakfast and steamboat dinner. Minsu offers a superb view of Cingjing and beautiful sunrise and sunset views. It's not very accessible unless you have a driver but owner offers complimentary pickup/drop-off in Cingjing town if you are coming by public transport. Rooms and furniture are quite dated so if you are looking for ambience, this is not the place. Overall, it is great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exceeding_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Starry is the highest minsu in Cingjing with superb unblock view. Work up early for sunrise and due to the interaction of sunrays and cloud movements, we were treated to varying colours and view of Cingjing.

The minsu owners are a nice bunch of people, check out their husky dog too.

Would be good if that meals could be served faster.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalaland05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stay 1 night at Starry. Traveled via Ego bus and was dropped at a pick up point at Cingjing. Called Starry and they immediately drove down to pick us. The minsu is one of the highest so they have good views. The foods provided are good (free breakfast and dinner), staffs are friendly - Driver Sunny and Owner Mr Lee especially. Very nice room with Wifi. Only letdown is the recommended hot spring - the charge for visiting the hot spring is NT650 which is reasonable. Was brought to a Spring valley with many shops. Some looks nice and we started to get excited. bought a swimming trunk at NT100 and head to the recommended hot spring shop - ... a bit rundown i have to say

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weisen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou hotels
2.0 mi away
Star Villa
Star Villa
#10 of 639 in Nantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.8 mi away
Julie's Garden B&B Cingjing
3.0 mi away
Cingjing Brilliant Twins of Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Qingjing Farm Guest House
Qingjing Farm Guest House
#20 of 126 in Nantou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cingiing Dream Forest Villa
3.3 mi away
Ming Ging Farm
Ming Ging Farm
#12 of 126 in Nantou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starry Nantou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starry Nantou

Property: Starry Nantou
Address: No.96 Lane Bowang, Datong Village, Ren-ai Town, Nantou, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Nantou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Nantou
Also Known As:
Starry Nantou Taiwan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing