We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hosts, great rooms and great location.”
Review of Laurel Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laurel Villa
Ranked #6 of 667 Nantou County B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed in Laurel Villa a few days ago. This place is amazing.
It is located really close to the boat ramps and right on the heart of the shopping street at Sun moon Lake. It is also walking distance from the bus stop and tourist information center.
The price is a little bit high, (if you are travelling on a budget), but you get what you pay for. An amazing really clean wood floor room with TV and many english channels. Aircon and a nice bathroom with hot water and some toiletries. It is more of a hotel than a guesthouse.
What makes this place amazing is the hosts. Wayne and his family are amazing! Wayne gave us alot of advice on things to do and places to go. He also help us reserve a hostel in a different city, he didn't stop until we had a reservation.
We also ate there, they have a promotion for dinner and a boat trip. The food was really good.
We had a great time; I would recommend this place 100%

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anettebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

My friend and I stayed there after a work week in Kaohsiung.

We had a little bit of difficulty to find the place during the rain (we cannot read chinese) but it is not so difficult, the town itself is small.

the place is very conveniently placed, in front of ferry pier, and is a great base to tour the lake surroundings.

The owners are very friendly and gave us valuable advice to visit the area.
Also the place is very nice and clean, with a very good breakfast !

overall a very nice experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank octanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our experience at Laurel Villa made our trip to Sun Moon Lake all the better! After hours of traveling by bus and train to get to the lake, it was so nice to find this B&B as we did. Wayne and his family were so hospitable and friendly - they arranged everything for us from our boat trip around the lake to our breakfast the next morning and even helped us plan our return bus/train schedule back to Taipei - and Laurel Villa itself was such a great value. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and air-conditioned, and the entrance to the B&B is directly across from Shuishe pier, which is the main pier for the boat tours around the lake. Wayne even gave us tips about the best time to see the sunrise and make the hike up the far side of the lake to the temples and pagoda, so we were able to make it to all of the sights we'd hoped to see with plenty of time (we only had one day at the Lake, so we had been worried about being able to fit everything into such a short amount of time). All in all, this homestay was a great find - it made us feel comfortable and relaxed during our trip, which, as Wayne said, is what visiting Sun Moon Lake is all about! - and price-wise it was also a good deal (especially since they provide a discount on the boat trip tickets). Also, Wayne and his family all speak very good English, so if you don't speak Chinese or if you're just too tired after hours of traveling to use your Chinese, not to worry. As an added bonus, Wayne let us keep our bags at the hotel all day even after we checked out, and he sent us home with lots of the delicious regional tea. If and when we return to Sun Moon Lake, we will definitely be staying at Laurel Villa!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank taipei_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My friend and I (both students and on a budget) decided to stay at Laurel's because it looked decent and had good reviews. We were very fortunate to have made the right decision! Wayne and his family were wonderful hosts.

We were planning to take the bus to Sun Moon Lake. Little did we know the bus (and the one after) were sold out! We were told we could take one to Puli and then change buses to Sun Moon Lake if the bus was still running at that time. The cashier at the ticketing counter allowed us to call Wayne and he told us he would pick us up from Puli if the bus service from Puli was no longer running for the day. Luckily, we made it to Sun Moon Lake and to Laurel Villa without much hassle.

Wayne offered a lot of useful information on where to go (and what time to wake up! essential to capture the best moments of the sunrise) and what to do. His mother (who does most of the cooking) even allowed us into the tea plantation to catch a glimpse of the lake from there. Food was good and the room was very clean with comfortable, lush linen and adequate furniture. Would recommend this place to a variety of people. It is suitable for couples and even for families ( i think they have bigger rooms). Also, free tea and coffee provided!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seraphic_lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Wayne and his family have the perfect place to stay in sun moon lake. Rooms are clean, and good value. Laurel itself is in a perfect position - you step out on to the lakeside street. Laurel has no lake views, but you only have to walk 30 seconds for the best views around. Wayne and his family are excellent hosts, and only too happy to give you advice on the best places to visit. The food at Laurel is also fantastic, and one of the best we had in Taiwan - dinner was marvelous (with produce from Wayne's parent's house), breakfasts also good. You can't go wrong with Laurel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_traveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We went to Sun Moon Lake as a short break from our whirlwind Taipei shopping/eating trip. We were a bit disappointed by the foggy weather when we arrived but this little B&B made us feel so at home. It is situated right next to the main jetty of the lake. We were first greeted by the owner's mum who gave us good advice on where to visit while waiting for the rooms to be ready as we were 3 hours early. She adviced us on the times of the Ferry trips and also reminded us of the fireflies season which the owner will kindly bring us up to the tea plantation in the evening. The room was sparkly clean. It is a family owned place, really... they stayed upstairs on the 4th floor but made us feel so welcome as if we were family too. Owner Wayne brought us all to the exclusive tea plantation and reseach centre on top of the hill to see the fireflies and observed the mountain peaks. That was the highlight of the trip! And he chatted to us about the culture, on how to prepare the local Assam tea and the best time to tour Sun Moon Lake which made us apreciate the place more. I was particularly impressed by his love for the nature and how he advocate the need to be environmentally friendly, explaining these to us with his young son around. I will certainly recommend this place highly to anyone who wants to experience the genuine hospitality of Taiwanese people. : )
Con: Our luggage was first left in the dining area, although safe, would have liked it to be in a store room securely locked up.

Room Tip: Small B&B, limited rooms, book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summerwow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Laurel Villa at Sun Moon Lake is a very lovely and charming B&B, which is very conveniently located near the Shueishe Visitor Centre where the Nantou Bus stops. The owners, Mr. Wayne Wang and his family are very helpful in advising you on how best to enjoy Sun Moon Lake's natural beauty and tranquility. The rooms are spacious and clean. Check out their very informative website on information on Sun Moon Lake.

The view of the lake and surrounding mountains in the early hours of the morning are simply breathtaking! You don't have to go far to enjoy this scenery. It's just a few steps from Laurel Villa. We enjoyed our stay at Laurel Villa very much and would certainly stay there again on our next trip to Sun Moon Lake.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
0.9 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.1 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#11 of 130 in Nantou County
238 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#10 of 130 in Nantou County
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
#12 of 130 in Nantou County
120 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lealea Garden Hotels-Sun Moon Lake-Moon
Lealea Garden Hotels-Sun Moon La...
#27 of 130 in Nantou County
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Address: No.28, MingSheng Street | Shuishe Village, Sun Moon Lake, Yuchih Township, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 667 B&Bs / Inns in Nantou County
Price Range: £71 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurel Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you very much for long period support! We have newly renovated our Minsu and gave all our rooms a new look! Our rooms are easily accessible by our guests, including the elderly and/or disabled. Guests get to experience a warmth homely feel with hearty and healthy breakfast during their stay here. We also organise morning tour of which you get to capture scenic views of the Sun Moon Lake. We are thankful for many of our guests' remembrance and support. We hope you will come and join us for a special local experience in Sun Moon Lake too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Laurel Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Hotel Nantou
Laurel Villa Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing