We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Laurel Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laurel Villa
Ranked #6 of 654 Nantou County B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. The hosts were very nice. The room was very clean & comfortable. Location of the 'minshu' is also convenient (being on the main street). Bus terminal (to Taichung, etc) is less than 5 min walk. There are plenty of restaurants around so finding something to eat is not a problem.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor for those who hate the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    54
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
76
83
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I am Singaporean staying in Laurel Villa for two days. The rooms are generally clean and they really protected the wooden floor they have. We have to remove the shoes before entering the room and have to place the luggage on the floor mat. By doing so, the rooms are really clean. The negative point is that the room that i am staying is not facing the view of sun moon lake. i guess the location of the hotel is not facing the sun moon lake too.

Advise to go during off peak period as it will be less crowded in sun moon lake and easier to book coach bus to take HSR(Speed rail train) or railway station.

You can take bus, ferry and cable car round sun moon lake. Can buy package from them or any of the stalls. Can get easily if you are going off peak season.
Can check the timetable from the visitor center if you are taking the busl in the sun moon lake.

You can join the mountain trek with the owner. Is a view that you will not forget and plus you can have the opportunity to go into the tea plantation with the owner. (rare opportunity)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sporean_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed overnight at Laurel villa. Owner was very friendly and taking care of the inn very good. The room condition was good and it was located at a very convenient street where food can be found easily. Rooms are limited, so it is advisable to book earlier to avoid disappointment.

It is just right opposite the boat station and very near the lake. Breakfast served as good and healthy.

The owner also give complimentary of Sun Moon Lake specialty tea, enjoying the tea at night at the lounge is a good way to relax yourself after a long day visiting the Sun Moon Lake. You can also purchase the tea from the owner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We found this hotel through tripadviser and it was indeed a cosy place. We were travelling as a family and stayed in a room with 2 king sized beds. Very comfortable and the hosts were very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oostende, Westvlaanderen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

When we arrived in Laurel Villa it was a relief to meet someone who talked English. Laurel Villa is nice. The rooms are big enough, clean and the bathroom has everything you need. We went out to have a massage and came back around 11.00 pm. The b&b is closed by then but you just have to call that you are on your way and someone will be there to open the door. They close so early because every morning Wayne takes a free walk with his guests around the none touristic surroundings of the lake. The walk leaves at 05.00 am. I didn't go, to early for me, but my husband did and he said it was wonderfull. But Wayne says when it rains the night before it"s even more beautiful. Wayne is also very helpful to book a trip on the lake or to tell about other places to visit. The b&b is cheap compared to hotels with lake vieuw and it's only a few steps from the lake. So why pay more if you have all you need with Wayne and his family. There's only one thing, it has nothing to do with the b&b but we stayed 2 nights to explore Sun Moon Lake when I think you can say everything in a day. One night is enough, there's not enough to do (in my opinion). And the town is dead by 10.00 pm.
Try the restaurant across the b&b, best Chinese food I ever had.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natgatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

To stay with Wayne and his family was the greatest experience regarding accomondation we had in Taiwan. He and his family made our stay pleasant from the first second to the last. He is very helpful, his English is fab and he gave us lots of insider tips. We regret we did only stay one night and I swear, whenever we will come back we will go to see him and his family again.
I can only recommend to everybody to book the room (which is clean, nice and spacious) including dinner because this is also very nice!!
The trip to Taiwan was just wonderful and Wayne and his family made it even better!!! Thanks again guys!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The room was fantastic! It was clean nicely decorated. It's a hotel suite room standard!

The boss and family of the villa was super friendly and gave us advise on the places to visit in Sun moon lake. and their home cooked food was excellent!

Most importantly, this villa is one of e few that offered a free hike trail tour up to the mountains to view beautiful sunrise!

I enjoyed my stay there. Despite that there is cheaper available minsu in Sun moon lake, Laurel villa is still e best choice for all the customer service given and quality of room.

Room Tip: Take the colored rooms. It's a hotel suite standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynniewong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
0.9 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.5 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#10 of 127 in Nantou County
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#11 of 127 in Nantou County
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
0.3 mi away
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
#4 of 127 in Nantou County
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 127 in Nantou County
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: No.28, MingSheng Street, Shuishe Village, Sun Moon Lake, Yuchih Township, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurel Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you very much for long period support! We have newly renovated our Minsu and gave all our rooms a new look! Our rooms are easily accessible by our guests, including the elderly and/or disabled. Guests get to experience a warmth homely feel with hearty and healthy breakfast during their stay here. We also organise morning tour of which you get to capture scenic views of the Sun Moon Lake. We are thankful for many of our guests' remembrance and support. We hope you will come and join us for a special local experience in Sun Moon Lake too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Laurel Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Hotel Nantou
Laurel Villa Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing