We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartwarming Service From Wayne And His Mother”
Review of Laurel Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laurel Villa
Ranked #5 of 659 Nantou County B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Heartwarming Service From Wayne And His Mother”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We just spent four nights with Laurel Villa and can report that the wonderful service experienced by so many other reviewers is still very much intact. Wayne and his mother and his wife and the rest of the staff seem devoted to making their guests' stays as pleasant as possible.
Wayne even took the trouble to drive us to Puli right to the door of the difficult to reach Chung Tai Chan Monastery. What a load off our minds. And he was constantly trying to find other ways to help us. We are great fans of this operation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marathonwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    54
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
79
87
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

great minsu. well because it's sun moon lake, pretty dead at night. but good place to relax. breakfast is provided,can be refilled. no worries for big and bulky luggage. they will lay a piece of towel on the floor for u to put luggage. however, do note there is no lift so try to take 2nd floor ^^. they will help to carry our luggage but i feel bad coz the boss mum is an elder. not nice to let her carry even though she is strong to do so. her son was not around at that time.so i carried up the rest myself. u can sleep in peace and definitely safe, not dangerous at night because they will lock up the main door also. hot spring water available at reception. full bathroom set available too.

the mountain entrance is a short walk. <10mins from laurel. to c the sunrise, u got to walk up the slope for maybe ard another 15mins-20mins. but no worries, the walkway is nt tough/tiring at all. it's a gentle slope(proper pathway not dangerous), oh ya the boss say main thing is not c sunrise but c clouds and mountains from bird eye's view and enjoy the quiet peace there. the sunrise,clouds,mountains is beautiful to the max if u get to c it. if it's too foggy, u c nothing at all but mist. however, i still tink it's worth to go. bcoz the moisture in the air blows against ur face when u stroll. somehow u will feel very relax there. idk how to describe. it's a total different feel. the air there is simply fresh

Price:Cheap

Cleanliness: Clean

Comfort: Slept like a log

Surroundings: Nothing much at night. can chill at Starbucks nearby or walk along SML.quiet but pretty colourful lights decorated along the wharf.

Revisit: Yes if i go SML next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrelexation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Wayne and his mom has been corresponding with us through Skype and emails, and they were never impatient with all the many questions we asked. They even helped us with our cab booking even though they are not obliged to.

When we arrive at their minsu, we were overwhelmed by their hospitality. Wayne personally helped to carry our luggages from the cab and we were being welcomed by his mom once we stepped inside Laurel Villa. His mom helped us with the check-in and brought us up to our rooms.

When we reach our room, it was spick and span. Wayne and his family made sure that the rooms are clean so that their guests would feel comfortable staying at Laurel Villa. Their wooden floor are being kept in great condition. They welcome guests to fill up their bottles/container with fresh mountain spring water, which Laurel Villa provides in the lobby. Inside the rooms, Laurel Villa provides their speciality red tea and milk tea. Guests who like their tea and wish to purchase, can enquire from Wayne or his family.

The location of Laurel Villa is superb. Though it has no lakeview, the jetty is just across the street. You can enjoy the morning or night view of the lake just 2 minutes away. Along the streets where Laurel Villa is located, you can take your pick from small eateries to restaurants. Shueishe visitor centre and the bus ticketing counter are just round the corner about 8 minutes walk away.

They provide breakfast for guests and they offer dinner packages. The food portion they serve is more than sufficient. Wayne's mom kept telling us that if the food is not sufficient, we can always ask for a refill. She is a very kind woman. The dinner is fresh and organic, and we had a very filling dinner.

In the early morning, Wayne brought us to see the sunrise of Sun Moon Lake from Maolan Mountain. The feeling is indescribable, I can only say it is amazing!

Their personable and excellent service begins from the moment we step into Laurel Villa till we leave. When we had to leave for our next destination, sense of reluctance began to creep over me. My husband told me, Wayne's mom was standing at the porch when we left, it was as if she is sending off family members. Till now, the lovely days we spent at Sun Moon Lake are still vivid. Wayne and his family has made the memories and beauty of Sun Moon Lake even more memorable and wonderful.

Room Tip: There are no lifts in minsu, therefore if you have elderly, try to request for rooms at lower levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nightling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

All the positive comments here about Laurel Villa are true. The owners really make a huge effort to make their guests happy. The dinner and breakfast were both healthy and delicious, and Wayne and his family constantly offered us seconds. If dinner is not included, definitely go for the package that includes it. I would also recommend the early morning walk with Wayne up the hill to a place only his family has access to. I'm normally not a morning person but I thought I shouldn't miss this experience. Although we saw nothing but fog it was really great to talk to Wayne about the SML and about Taiwan in general. (I also got some good exercise at the same time!)

As others have said, the SML itself is not that exciting and can be seen all in one day. We took the boat to the other side of the lake and in an effort to get away quickly from all the tour groups (it was a Sunday) we ended up hiking up the hill and up to the Cien Pagoda. There's a really nice view from up there if your legs can manage the hike!

All in all, my fondest memories of SML are actually of Laurel Villa and not of the lake itself!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd (top) floor, which didn't bother us, but the two sets of stairs are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Journey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. The hosts were very nice. The room was very clean & comfortable. Location of the 'minshu' is also convenient (being on the main street). Bus terminal (to Taichung, etc) is less than 5 min walk. There are plenty of restaurants around so finding something to eat is not a problem.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor for those who hate the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I am Singaporean staying in Laurel Villa for two days. The rooms are generally clean and they really protected the wooden floor they have. We have to remove the shoes before entering the room and have to place the luggage on the floor mat. By doing so, the rooms are really clean. The negative point is that the room that i am staying is not facing the view of sun moon lake. i guess the location of the hotel is not facing the sun moon lake too.

Advise to go during off peak period as it will be less crowded in sun moon lake and easier to book coach bus to take HSR(Speed rail train) or railway station.

You can take bus, ferry and cable car round sun moon lake. Can buy package from them or any of the stalls. Can get easily if you are going off peak season.
Can check the timetable from the visitor center if you are taking the busl in the sun moon lake.

You can join the mountain trek with the owner. Is a view that you will not forget and plus you can have the opportunity to go into the tea plantation with the owner. (rare opportunity)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sporean_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed overnight at Laurel villa. Owner was very friendly and taking care of the inn very good. The room condition was good and it was located at a very convenient street where food can be found easily. Rooms are limited, so it is advisable to book earlier to avoid disappointment.

It is just right opposite the boat station and very near the lake. Breakfast served as good and healthy.

The owner also give complimentary of Sun Moon Lake specialty tea, enjoying the tea at night at the lounge is a good way to relax yourself after a long day visiting the Sun Moon Lake. You can also purchase the tea from the owner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
0.9 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.5 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#11 of 128 in Nantou County
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#10 of 128 in Nantou County
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
0.0 mi away
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Crystal Resort Sun Moon Lake
#13 of 128 in Nantou County
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
#4 of 128 in Nantou County
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: No.28, MingSheng Street | Shuishe Village, Sun Moon Lake, Yuchih Township, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurel Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you very much for long period support! We have newly renovated our Minsu and gave all our rooms a new look! Our rooms are easily accessible by our guests, including the elderly and/or disabled. Guests get to experience a warmth homely feel with hearty and healthy breakfast during their stay here. We also organise morning tour of which you get to capture scenic views of the Sun Moon Lake. We are thankful for many of our guests' remembrance and support. We hope you will come and join us for a special local experience in Sun Moon Lake too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Laurel Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Hotel Nantou
Laurel Villa Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing