We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended stay”
Review of Laurel Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laurel Villa
Ranked #6 of 654 Nantou County B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommended stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Stayed one night at the Laurel Villa, and are very happy with the stay. Wayne had been very prompt with my enquiry two weeks before our trip to Taiwan, and has also provided lots of information and details on how to reach the place.

As what others have mentioned, their place is centrally located. Our room is big and clean, and everything works fine. 

The best thing about this place, I feel, is the hospitality of the hosts. I shall not repeat what others have mentioned, just that they are really that friendly and helpful. Wayne gave good advice on how to appreciate the dawn at the lake. In the evening, we had a chat with his wife for 3 hours! It's just like chatting with our friend.

Thanks, Wayne and Jiaying, for the best stay in our entire trip to Taiwan, and have a great vacation!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 695shp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    54
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
76
83
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2010

My family felt very at home in this minsu. Wayne and his family were very approachable, friendly and warm and did all they could to make us comfortable during our stay. The food served for breakfast and dinner were very delicious and healthy. The conversations we had with him, his wife and mother added to the homely and cosy ambience of the minsu. He gave us many invaluable travel tips not only during our stay in Sun Moon Lake but also to the next place we were visiting (Taroko Gorge). His family's thoughtfulness and kindness were greatly appreciated as it was our first trip to Taiwan. We were grateful it was the first stop we made when we arrived in Taiwan on 30 November.
Heng Family from Singapore (30 Nov to 2 Dec)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriscillaHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
228 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We stayed 2 nights with Wayne in this centrally located homestay - it's a free and easy trip with my elderly parents and 2 young kids . He and his family made us really comfortable throughout the stay - giving us good advise with spots to visit or avoid eg usual tourist traps, what to look out for when planning to purhase certain items .

All their rooms are really clean and well looked after . Th family room is spacious, toilets of good size - and wifi works well in room . Tea making facilities with comp tea bags available in room . Hot and cold water available at reception , self serve . Location is superb , with thelake itself ,bus station, pier and visitor center right around the corner .

All in , great stay , warm hospitality - very happy indeed ! Thanks Wayne and family ..:)

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunnybunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

stayed at laurel villa with my husband as part of our taiwan trip ... loved the place ... the people ... sun moon lake and most of all the food :) ... wonderful homecooked food served :) ...

we stayed there for 3d2n ... wayne and family were so friendly and helpful :) ... gave us advice on where we can go for sightseeing (not those normal tourist spots) ... we had a very wonderful stay at laurel villa and sun moon lake :)

will definitely go bac there again when i visit sun moon lake again :)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

It's one of the best accommodation that I've stayed during my trip there last month. Friendly family and the rates are reasonable. It's so blissful staying there. Thanks again to Wayne and family!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wintzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Reception - very efficient, friendly
Family atmosphere - An extended family helping out to run this hotel
Food is good according to people around
Information is well provided before check in

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNMOON37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed in Laurel Villa in May 2010 (this is a bit delayed!). It was without a doubt the friendliest place we stayed in Taiwan and Wayne and his family do a fantastic job of making their guests welcome. After dinner one night we met Wayne and his son on our way back – they asked if we wanted to see some fireflies and took us on an impromptu night tour including night views of the lake, fireflies, the dam, tea plantations which we only accessible to him because his family lived within the grounds. Wayne was more than accommodating with us asking questions about his town and history of the country – all for free. It gave us much more than you could ever hope to get from an organized guided tour.
The accommodation itself was lovely – basic in terms of there being beds (which were very comfortable), bathroom with a bath, TV and a balcony but was pristine clean, so much so you are not allowed your shoes on in the room as the wooden floor is polished to a high standard. Great location, 5 minute walk from bus stop, right across from restaurants and ferry jetty and close to the start of walking trails. I would without a doubt recommend this place to anyone wanting a friendly welcome

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keoleary2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantou County hotels
0.9 mi away
Fleur de Chine Hotel Sun Moon Lake
0.5 mi away
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
Sun Moon Lake Hotel
#10 of 127 in Nantou County
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Del Lago
Hotel Del Lago
#11 of 127 in Nantou County
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Richforest Hotel-Sun Moon Lake
0.3 mi away
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
The Lalu Sun Moon Lake
#4 of 127 in Nantou County
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
The Wen Wan Resort Sun Moon Lake
#2 of 127 in Nantou County
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Villa

Property: Laurel Villa
Address: No.28, MingSheng Street, Shuishe Village, Sun Moon Lake, Yuchih Township, Nantou County 555, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Nantou County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Nantou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurel Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you very much for long period support! We have newly renovated our Minsu and gave all our rooms a new look! Our rooms are easily accessible by our guests, including the elderly and/or disabled. Guests get to experience a warmth homely feel with hearty and healthy breakfast during their stay here. We also organise morning tour of which you get to capture scenic views of the Sun Moon Lake. We are thankful for many of our guests' remembrance and support. We hope you will come and join us for a special local experience in Sun Moon Lake too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Laurel Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Villa Hotel Nantou
Laurel Villa Taiwan/Nantou County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing