We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's so difficult to find!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Traveler Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Traveler Hotel
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Taitung
singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“it's so difficult to find!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

the hotel is theoretically at a very convenient location, but it is so darn difficult to locate it. nobody seemed to know where it is, and their signboard isn't prominent too.. in actual fact, it is just 2 blocks away from the bus terminal, the 2 famous food stores selling stinky tofu and meetaimak, and the busy marketing street (fruit street).
they serve breakfast which they buy from the breakfast stalls round the corner. so you'll get to make pre-orders the evening before, and collect them the next morning.
the guy on duty is the morning offers better traveling advice than the rest as he will tell you all the shortcuts and stuff. generally the rest of the staff are just as courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fridaywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    32
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
15
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We booked last minute over the phone and they were extremely accommodating. The price was a good deal for what we received: breakfast and information about our ferry to Green Island.

The room was clean and much more than was expected given what we paid. Would definitely recommend staying here for a night, especially if you're just looking for a place to stay the night before you head to Green Island or Orchid Island!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

PROS:
- Very clean room
- Very affordable room rate (although there were plenty of other hotels in the same area with much lower rates, but probably lesser known and publicised)
- Location was great, just off the famous Fruit Street (with lots of good food) in Taitung. Although finding it was a problem initially, as it is located on a lesser known / smaller street (which runs perpendicular to) the Fruit Street.

CONS:
- Service was minimal, receptionists were not the most friendly and did not offer much information.
- Strictly no early check-in and/or late check-out even though there were evidently still rooms available.
- Building is very old and walls are thin. you can hear the noise from next door and along the corridor quite clearly.
- Room furnishings and amenities are the bare minimal.
-Breakfast was just a sandwich and a cup of coffee/tea probably ordered from a nearby local café.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor which was convenient as there is only one lift in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ETYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Changhua North, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

This hotel was perfect for a stop of one night . Personnel very nice . parking . bed a little bit hard but very clean . The hotel is downtown so its very convinient ! No breakfast but seven eleven at 2 min by walk

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hortense B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Pros: Very central in downtown Taidong, and fairly inexpensive. As mentioned in other reviews, the front desk staff are friendly and helpful

Cons: The general management is clearly poor and the hotel is run on the cheap.

The advertised WiFi just doesn't work reliably. It appears, it disappears, then it appears but won't connect. The desk staff can't do anything. Eventually I give up and go out to a cafe (Kasa) where I borrow theirs (which works fine). Trying again this morning, won't even connect. It's so poor.

The rooms are so small, and I had to lift the heavy old TV onto the floor just to make room for a 'desk'. There was no hot water at check-in, 4pm, because it was 'too early'. Well, I've been travelling all day and I've now got to go out to dinner with clients, so I'd like a hot shower not a tepid one. It's January, so it is ALSO winter in Taiwan. Very poor.

The hair-dryer is a pathetic small travel one, and wouldn't dry a wet mouse.

Expect to find mosquitoes in the rooms, the marks on the wall will give you a clue here. Had 2 on my night, had to get up and find them. Must be more in the summer months.

Room Tip: Want a good room? Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taitung hotels

Nagasaki, Japan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Came here to try and rent a scooter with an international licence. They wouldn't do it (unless you have bike international licence), however the manager (I assumed), was very very helpful and kind, and helped us book a car instead as it appears impossible to get a scooter in Taitung without a Taiwanese licence (it is possible in Hualien). The place looked very modern and clean, so I am sure it is run well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cainta, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I can say Traveler Hotel is the best among the 3 hotels that we've stayed in Taiwan, although small hotel, it is very modern and all the basic needs are provided, tubes of body wash, shampoo, conditioner, health kit (toothbrush, toothpaste, etc many more) and even a body scrub was included. The towels are immaculately clean, the beddings smell fresh and clean. The size of the room and the toilet are bigger than the ordinary, and there is a big bathtub! To top it all, the staff are very friendly, with welcome and goodbye 'ceremony' for our group. The only downside I can say is the low wi-fi signal and small breakfast

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maloucastaneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taitung hotels
1.2 mi away
Kindness Hotel Taitung
Kindness Hotel Taitung
#1 of 87 in Taitung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanpo Hotel
Sanpo Hotel
#68 of 87 in Taitung
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taitung Z Hotel
Taitung Z Hotel
#7 of 87 in Taitung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Dong Tair SPA Hotel
Dong Tair SPA Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taitung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.0 mi away
Formosan Naruwan Inn
Formosan Naruwan Inn
#29 of 87 in Taitung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel De Trianon
Hotel De Trianon
#12 of 87 in Taitung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveler Hotel

Property: Traveler Hotel
Address: No.42 Anching Street, Taitung, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taitung
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Taitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Traveler Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Traveler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveler Hotel Taiwan/Taitung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing