We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experince”

Taitung Sea Art Hostel - Mother Land
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taitung Sea Art Hostel - Mother Land
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent experince”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We called in the morning to ask if there was any available rooms the same day. It was no problem, but the host advised us to check the map on their Facebook page. So we did, and Google maps helped us to the right spot with our rented car. It was a 15 minutes uphill drive from the main road. We were glad that we arrived before dark, because it can be hard to find. It was a truly inspiering place. We spent the evening in the outdoor kitchen, with the dogs sleeping by our feets and to the sounds of the woods. A very friendly host gave us advices of things to do in the area.
We had a very good sleep in a beautiful hand decorated room. The toilet and shower were outdoors, but that was no problem - very clean and also nice decorated.
After eating delicious pineapple muffins for breakfast, we walked the small road behind the house and the dogs came with us. It was a special moment to suddenly see a group of monkeys. The view to the mountain was amazing.
This place is well recommended for people who is looking for something different and inspiering. Note that the restaurants in the main street closes early, we had a little trouble finding a place to eat, but you can also prepare your own food in the hostels kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anita200000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked a 2 night stay here and immediately asked for 3 nights after arriving at the guesthouse and witnessing the beautiful neighboring mountain forests and artistic decoration of the home. We had travelled to Dulan from Hualien by train to Taitung where we had PLANNED to hire a motorbike and drive ourselves to Dulan. However bike shops are way strickter in Taitung and our international license didn't cut it (you must have a Taiwanese license). Lucky for us a local boy with great english helped us find a local bus that dropped us in Dulan about 40 mins away. When in Dulan town near the famous sugar factory we discovered there to be no bike shops. I rang hostess Emily who saved the day by offering her neighbors shotty but affordable motorbike ($400 a day) once we got to her house, but also suggested we pay her neighbor $200 for a lift up to the hostel initially. We agreed as we were stuck but in hindsight I believe they should offer free pick up from the sugar factory. The house itself is set up in the forest and is a twisty journey up a good small road past many houses and fields. Take note, you can get lost easily. Each room in the house has been hand painted by Roman and his leather work pillows and wood work decorate every wall, bed and lounge. There is a common room inside the main house and a fire pit out the front. The main draw for us was the outside shower. Situated behind a beautiful huge vine covered rock and surrounded by wild flowers and trees is the shower and bath (hot water). Showering at night is magical as the moon and stars illuminate the garden. Also outside is the toilet which I found remarkably clean given the amount of wildlife in the area. Also, the outdoor kitchen boasts utensils, oven, fridge and pretty much every household item except a microwave. Free tea and real coffee in the morning :) Our host Roman is a charming man who is possibly the nicest guesthouse owner we've encountered. He provided us with a map of the area and highlighted hidden treasures that only a local could know. All in all if you love nature, art or if you're after good company before a Sat night at the sugar factory here is where you want to stay! But ps. a complimentary lift up the hill would make this stay 100% perfect ^_^

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The place is beautifully hand-decorated, painted and deisgned. It's very bright and colorful with relaxed, open people. They have good kitchen facilities and a fire pit for cooking. The owners are so friendly, when it was time for us to leave, it was raining and they lent us their rain gear! Good conversations and a beautiful, quiet natural setting. Thank you Sea Art Hostel!!

Room Tip: Call to book in advance and get a text with directions up the hill. Try to drive up in the day, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda-Lee-Kn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiungshih, Kao-hsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Set up in the mountains, this is a unique opportunity to enjoy the wildlife and 'camp' with a few extra luxuries and it is still only a short drive (5 min) back to Dulan town. If you are afraid of spiders - hesitate - but still don't dismiss completely. Beds are extremely soft and comfortable - and rooms decorated with their paintings. This will probably be the highlight of our children's one month trek around Taiwan - as the owners had just welcomed 7 new puppies. Loved the outside kitchen and shower, and could still use their computer for internet access. Also loved visiting Dulan's Sugar Refinery - beautiful food and great music on Saturday nights and a backpackers opposite the local 7/11 for curry. Will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Looks like they will only have one long room with two big beds and two single rooms. As two familie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Australian73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

What a charming place. We stayed for one night on our way down from Torako Gorge to Kenting. The rustic and homely atmosphere of the hostel is unlike anything else we experienced in Taiwan. Staying at Taitung Sea Art Hostel is an unavoidably communal experience, with all of the opportunities and limitations that that entails. This is not a place where you can readily set yourself apart from the other residents, but then why would you want to when there is a fire to sit around in the garden and other travellers (Taiwanese and foreign) to share a drink and food with (although my 7-Eleven sandwich and pot noodle felt like it wasn't quite the thing for this purpose)? Your hosts, Roman and Emily, are very welcoming and Roman's art works feature throughout the hostel. Accomodations are comfortable although basic. Bathroom and toilet facilities are in an outside block (and, indeed, outside in their entirety if you so wish) and are clean, modern and fully functional. Those who do not wish to venture outside at night to answer nature's call are, however, catered for in-room by a certain innovative arrangement....

I personnally would blanch at the prospect of staying here for more than a few days as I am something of a slave to my creature comforts and privacy. However, this was a really great opportunity to sample living in Taiwan's jungle and to get away from the standard hotel experience. Obviously, for those on a budget Taitung Sea Art Hostel offers great value for money.

We drove to the hostel. The directions may appear daunting but make complete sense when you are actually following them (although, as the instructions suggest, taking the route at night would be challenging). We found the hostel without any problems - for those wanting an additional helping hand, the following coordinates were taken by me by the fire: 22d 53.181'N, 121d 12.149'E

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taitung County hotels
0.0 mi away
Kindness Hotel Taitung
Kindness Hotel Taitung
#1 of 86 in Taitung County
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chihpen Century Hotel
Chihpen Century Hotel
#4 of 86 in Taitung County
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
#2 of 86 in Taitung County
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Formosan Naruwan Hotel & Resort Taitung
Formosan Naruwan Hotel & Resort ...
#12 of 86 in Taitung County
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Papago International Resort
Papago International Resort
#9 of 86 in Taitung County
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Chihpen
Hotel Royal Chihpen
#6 of 86 in Taitung County
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taitung Sea Art Hostel - Mother Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taitung Sea Art Hostel - Mother Land

Property: Taitung Sea Art Hostel - Mother Land
Address: No.71, Neighborhood 13, Line 5, Dulan Village, Donghe, Taitung County, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taitung County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Taitung County
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Taitung Sea Art Hostel - Mother Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taitung Sea Art Hostel - Mother Land Taiwan/Taitung County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing