We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taitung Cultural Excursion Resort
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Taitung County
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“tranquil & comfortable”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in landscape suite for 2 nights.
this place is not easy to be found. it is hidden behind the historical museum, a driving-distance to Taitung city center, suit for travelers who travel by car. the room is excellent according to it's rate. breakfast is buffet with good quality. this place is also very convenient for travelers who travel several days since it has a laundry room which can be used for free.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    30
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
28
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We've chose to stay in TCE RESORT two years ago, when we first went to Taitung. And we've fall in love with the place. This year, we went back again, and the place is very well maintained, and properly managed, look as new as two years ago. The room is very nice and clean, very delicious breakfast served too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YvYvYvoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a secret gem hidden away from the small but lively city centre. I understand that some people are complaining about the distance from the city centre, but you can check it before you book!

The origin of the hotel is the excavation of Peinan archeological site, which took place when the construction of the Taitung station of the main Southern line commenced and the archeologists and excavation supporters rushed to rescued the site from destruction. The stay will enable you to enter the museum where you can learn detailed history of 'prehistoric' (explained as such as until Han came no written record existed) Taiwanese life and culture where we spent over 2 hours easily. There is a ice small cafe in the museum, too. Peinan excavation site is 3 miles away and you can visit there, too.

If you know the history, you will see why it is far. anyway, we took taxi from the hotel to the city centre for the evening meal for 250 TND (each way), and that was worth it. Rice noodles, pancake with spring onions, and that 'stinky tofu' are supposed to be the local favourite. I also recommend very reasonably priced (100TND for a 1ltr) fresh coconut water.

Taitung may be a small city, but the people are extremely kind and generous. And so were the people in the hotel. I strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The room we stayed was on the second (or the first for UK travellers) and it was very well insulated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo8y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is the first time we stay in Taitung Cultural Excursion Resort. We love everything about this resort. The resort is very clean, equipped with good amenities and full of design. It also has a good Italian restaurant in the resort. We will stay in this hotel next time we visit Taitung again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cchi1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Warm, beautifully appointed lobby, clean rooms with luxurious duvet and French milled soaps. Breakfast was hearty, choice of Western or Chinese with breads, juices, coffee and tea on the buffet.

However, location is quite far from the city center and the only attraction beside it is the museum. The hotel is also out of the way of public transport and the Tour Taiwan shuttle.

Hardware is all good, definitely can meet the 4 star category it claims to be. However, the staff need some prodding to be more helpful to the guests who obviously do not know anything about Taitung. When reception staff was asked if there would be a baggage counter at the train station since they are so much out of the way to return to - I was told "no" immediately (turns out there was). When I asked for something else, the reply was "I don't know" and he had to be prodded to please call on my behalf to check. I am sure this is something the management can easily do something about to make their frontliners go the extra mile to make their little spot memorable.

Room Tip: Don't know about other rooms but ours was good and on our floor (3rd) aside from wifi, there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We spent two nights at the TCE. It is a small boutique hotel, and as commented previously does have some charming qualities in terms of the decor, especially in the lobby. However, the rooms themselves are small with minimal furnishings and amenities. The bathrooms could use a little work and looks as if it was converted from another building rather then a trendy design which I believe was the intention. Although the common areas, being the lobby and restaurant are decently maintained, the rest of the hotel, from the hallways with broken light fixtures, to the grimy exterior of the building could use some maintenance. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast with a very limited selection. The location is next to the cultural museum which is nice, but otherwise is in an isolated industrial area away from any major transit hubs and the city itself is a 10-15 minute drive. The staff are young and friendly, but at times are not as helpful as one would expect. Although a decent attempt at a boutique hotel, there appear to be some significant drawbacks which unfortunately, would prevent us from staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCW416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Love the design features in this small boutique hotel, open about two years. The designer used lighting and interesting fixtures to create a playful, intimate, elegant atmosphere.

Our twin room was small, modern, comfortable . Try to get a larger room if small spaces annoy you. Price includes a reasonably good breakfast, with Asian and some Western cuisine.

Staff is helpful, friendly, English is spoken by some staff.

The Italian restaurant on the ground floor is wonderful. There's a good choice of high quality food, and the prices are very very reasonable. Very limited wine choice. Ordered a 2007 wine off the menu, but a 2011 bottle came to the table. Explanation from staff: menu was printed two years ago. Sorry.
Evening meal is busy, reservation recommended.

Noise: The room was very very quiet until the women booked in next door came back to their room. They spoke in very loud voices for some time, until I knocked on the wall to let them know they were disturbing us. The next morning there were various doors being slammed as people left their rooms. If people would be more considerate of others, and remember there are other people trying to sleep hotels would be more enjoyable.

Location: beside the Prehistory museum in the area of the new train station, outside of the city centre. If driving, follow the brown road signs to the museum. The hotel will give you free tickets to the museum.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgane121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taitung County hotels
3.3 mi away
Kindness Hotel Taitung
Kindness Hotel Taitung
#1 of 88 in Taitung County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chihpen Century Hotel
Chihpen Century Hotel
#3 of 88 in Taitung County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
4.3 mi away
Taiwan Indigenous Cultural Resort
Taiwan Indigenous Cultural Resor...
#10 of 88 in Taitung County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
#2 of 88 in Taitung County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel De Trianon
Hotel De Trianon
#12 of 88 in Taitung County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inn by the Village
Inn by the Village
#7 of 88 in Taitung County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taitung Cultural Excursion Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taitung Cultural Excursion Resort

Property: Taitung Cultural Excursion Resort
Address: 950 No.1 Museum Road, Taitung City, Taitung County 950, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taitung County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taitung County
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taitung County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taitung Cultural Excursion Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Taitung Cultural Excursion Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taitung Cultural Excursion Resort Taiwan/Taitung County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing