We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kid's fantasy---Thomas the Tank themed room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal Chihpen
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Taitung County
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This was our 3rd stay with the hotel. We went specifically for the Thomas themed room because my son is a train buff.
There are two types of Thomas room, one accomodates three while the other, known as the family suite accomodates four. The former comes with a Thomas bed while the latter does not, but has a Thomas bookshelf instead. We booked into the family suite as we have two kids in the family and could not risk having them fight over the bed.The kids did have a great time but I found the sheets and amenities like cups, trays, towels worn and showing signs of use (or rather, over-use, as this room type is obviously very popular with families with young kids).
The hot spring facilities are still good and well maintained and grounds well kept.
There are many kid's activities and trails and outings to choose from so one is spoiled for choices.
The restaurants----we ate only in their cafe on the ground floor as dinner and breakfast was included in our room rate.Food is fresh and varied and service quite good despite them running full house during the period we were there.
All in all a good choice when in Taidung and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mariatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal Chihpen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2010

An excellent spa hotel - with hot spring water right to your room and a nice sit down tub to enjoy it in, we took many baths. The surrounding mountains are beautiful and green.

The buffet has a lot of choices and is good, though not the best I've ever been to. It was included with our package so we did not try the other restaurants.

Unfortunately the beds are hard even by Taiwan standards, and at what felt like exactly 6 feet long a bit short for me. Other than that the room was fine, except for the bathroom which was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aleph0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

It is a great hotel and should be the best one in the area. Since we stayed for 3 days, a full day was alloted just inside the hotel. But every night our kids would go to the pool. Dinner and breakfast were great. For me the cons are the parking is in the open, the basement's (for kids) air is stuffy, not all staffs are warm including one at the check-in and one at the outdoor recreational area.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADNERBTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

This place was awesome. I loved the hot springs and the outdoor spas. The pool is great too. The whole family enjoyed their stay. The restaurant served great meals and the service was great even with the language barrier. The hotel is isolated so you really feel like you are in the tropics with the lush vegetation. I found the hot springs to be the highlight of my trip to Taiwan.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fogerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

My 2-year old daughter, wife, and I stayed a Friday and Saturday night and I recommend a minimum of 2 nights to experience enough of this fun place. The resort has enough happening indoors and out that you don't need to leave: Good restaurants (we ate only at the buffet restaurant but the menus and decor at the Teppanyaki and casual restaurants looked good as well), amazing hot-spring-fed pool and spa complex (fun for all ages), nightly entertainment showcasing local talents and traditions, outdoor playground, archery range, gardens and fish ponds, etc. Since this was our first visit to this region we took two bus excursions that were reasonably priced, and the surrounding areas are beautiful and fun even for english-speaking folks. The hotel's concierge service is top-notch. Rooms were typical size but exceptionally clean and well-appointed (we got the smallest, cheapest room). Staff was excellent in all regards and created a small-town, almost cozy atmosphere (as opposed to big-city hotels). We will likely go back within a year and recommend this as a must-visit area for anyone spending time in Taiwan.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveling_Matt_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2005

The Hotel Royal at Chiphien is a GREAT hot spring hotel. I usually go to the hotel for at least once a year. Overall, I had been to more than 16 times (twice every year for a consecutive of 8 years.)
Every single staff in the hotel treats me politely! They will do anything (in their limit) to make your trip pleasent.
I stayed in a Japanese Suite. The room was spacious. The floor was constructed of 15 tatami. There was a nice wooden table in the center of the room. Om the table was Japanese green tea and homemade cookies!! The walls were decorated with Japanese paintings and Japanese lights.
There is also a spacious balcony with panaromic views of the Chiphen area!
The best part of the hotel is their hot spring! The hotel is featured with three public hot spring. One indoor and located on the second floor, and the other one on a hilltop. The one on the hilltop is one I will recommand. The outdoor one is sperated into the men and the woman side. However, the sides with switch every day. It is featured with two different area. One side is constructed of a a cypruss pool. Durning a clear night, you can even count the stars on the sky! The other side features a pool constructed of stones under a Japanese pavilion!
I will strongly recommand this hotel to anyone who enjoys hot spring! Hotel Royal is a great hotel to enjoy a vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueocean_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2005

***Winner: TripAdvisor's Best Review of a Hotel With No Reviews Contest***

My wife, toddler, and I stayed at the Royal Chihpen Hotel for two days and one night in April 2005. We had a spacious Deluxe room with a queen-sized bed. The walls and furniture were decorated in patterns and motifs of the Taiwanese mountain people (“Shan Di ren”), who live in and around the city of Chihpen. Everything in the room was spotlessly clean and well-arranged. It was equipped with a television and small safe, but no refrigerator. Free internet access for was available but the traveler must provide the LAN cable.

The bathroom, too, was quite spacious and clean, but its best aspect was the hot spring water, straight from the geothermal vents that make Chihpen famous, piped directly to the bathtub. The spring water does not smell of sulfur and works wonders on tired, sore muscles. The maid service and maintenance staff do an amazing job of keeping the bathrooms free of mildew and odor, considering the degree of humidity present in the bathrooms.

If the spa inside the room is not enough, there are three outdoor public spas to try out. Outside the hotel is a small playground for children, and an activity area where hotel staff give lessons on archery and crafts. Good for a leisurely stroll, a walking track with aviaries containing tropical birds surrounds the hotel grounds. Inside, the hotel lobby and common areas are beautifully decorated with orchids and the handiwork of the Shan Di ren. The front desk staff are friendly, courteous, and speak good English.

There are three restaurants to choose from; we had the breakfast and dinner buffets at the Naruwan (Shan Di for “welcome”) restaurant. The food is fresh and delicious, the selection quite diverse. In addition to Taiwanese favorites such as rice porridge at breakfast, there are Japanese and Western styled entrees including sushi, sashimi, and prime rib. After dinner, each night there is a performance of the dances from each Shan Di tribe.

Overall, our entire experience at the Royal Chihpen was enjoyable and memorable. At 6000 NT (about 175 USD) per night, it was well worth the money spent. We would love to stay there again if we make another trip to the Eastern coast of Taiwan.


  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fraychel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taitung County hotels
0.8 mi away
Chihpen Century Hotel
Chihpen Century Hotel
#2 of 90 in Taitung County
326 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
#3 of 90 in Taitung County
423 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kindness Hotel Taitung
Kindness Hotel Taitung
#1 of 90 in Taitung County
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA
Luminous Hot Spring Resort & SPA
#18 of 90 in Taitung County
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#30 of 90 in Taitung County
22 reviews
9.9 mi away
Inn by the Village
Inn by the Village
#4 of 90 in Taitung County
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Chihpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Chihpen

Address: No.113-23 Long Chuien Road, Wen Chuien Village, Peinan Hsiang, Taitung County 954, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taitung County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taitung County
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taitung County
Price Range: £108 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Chihpen 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa resort in 7-story building situated in hot springs area on the eastern coast, 20 kms from Taitung Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal Chihpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Chihpen Hotel
Hotel Royal Chihpen Taiwan/Taitung County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing