We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dulan 89 (Wagaligong)
Gunsan, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 days. We rented a scooter and had a blast. Love the Stella in tap. Amazing food and most importantly great hospitality! Awesome place to chill. If your into surfing then the this is the perfect place to stay. Mark is a pro and knows all the spots! Tons of boards to rent! Best thing about this place is it's cheap. Other surf hotels in the area are almost 200$ a night. I fell in love with this place and and going back for 9 days in feb.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbershoppress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
4
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gangneung, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I had travelled to Taitung a year before to surf and was heading to the same place this summer when I accidentally got off at the wrong bus stop. Turned out it was the best move I could have possibly made! The plan was to grab a beer and hang out till the next bus came along but it quickly became apparent that this place was the spot! Run by an awesome pair of South Africans and their families who make you feel totally at home from the get go. The hostel is a beautifully renovated building which includes restaurant/ bar area that attracts a diverse clientele of artists, musicians, surfers etc from all over the world.

The hotel and rooms were clean, well maintained and very comfortable. The room rates were also very fair.The location couldn’t be more perfect.Wagaligong is situated amongst beautiful surroundings 5 minutes from the local surf beach on a road which boasts a number of restaurants offering traditional food and international foods such as Vietnamese, Italian, Indian, South African, French etc. Once the surf is over you can either relax in the bar and admire the artwork of various local artists or head over to the local nightspot (The sugar factory) which is literally a 30 second walk away for some live local music entertainment.

The owners, their families and the clientele of Wagaligong really make this place special. A real atmosphere of cool people who are genuinely stoked to meet new guests, share waves, exchange stories and help you out as much as possible

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryChivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Remember Goa in the 80's? Dali, Yangshu, Borakay in the 90's? All gone now. Or so I've been told...
Yet, under the travel guides' radars there's a destination that does not blink while staring at the memories of all those lost cities . A travelers heaven. Dulan.
On Taiwan's tropical east coast there a party that no one have told you about, a place with a sense of community where travelers drop their backpacks for a stopover with no expiration date and grope for a surfing board.
And at the heart and helm of Dulan's thriving art community, alternative music scene, tipsy highbrow small talk and low end drunk comradery, stands WaGaLiGong hostel, AKA Dulan 89.
There is no excuse for me revealing this El-Dorado. Them denizens will probably stone me to death next time I'll pop over. Or at worst have me buy them all beers...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I first stumbled across the small beach town of Dulan a few months back. Although I wasn't staying at Wagaligong I spent everyday there. The two owners Tienie and Mark make you feel like part of the Dulan family within minutes. I now go back to stay at Wagaligong every free chance I get.

The food is great, and Tienie even makes an amazing South African sausage (boerewors), better than that found even in South Africa. The rooms are comfy and the vibe is relaxed. Mark will share his experiences living there for 10 years and if you're really nice might even show you a secret surf spot or two. After a full days surf it's back to the Wagaligong bar for some banter and beer.

I've been in Taiwan for over 6 years and this is by far my best find yet! An absolute must on the East Coast tour!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilLCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taitung, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Western new year 2012 into 2013 (NOT Chinese Lunar New Year) and the vibe in Dulan, Taitung County, was electric. Big party in Sugar Factory and my girlfriend (who had come down from Taipei for the wei-goran revelry) and I stayed at Wagaligong which was within staggering distance of Dulan's now famous music venue.
It was great - romantic, clean, friendly, easy on the eye and very affordable. This place gets a big thumbs-up.
A guesthouse needs to provide key services, intimacy, comfort and friendly vibes ... Mark and Tienie ... and their supportive wives and kids made sure all this was available in abundance!
Cheers, and belated happy new year!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Sky_Wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I rarely write reviews for places but feel that the Wagaligong did such a great job at accommodation a review is in order. We went there with the intention of staying for 3 days, but had such a good time that we stayed for 9! Dulan is one of the coolest spots in Taiwan already, but the Wagaligong makes it even cooler. The staff is very friendly and made sure that we had everything we needed at all times. The food is amazing (must try the waffles and the boerewors roll!), their drinks are reasonably priced and the ambiance is warm and cozy. Definitely will go back when I’m in the area!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The Wagaligong staff treated us like family from the minute we stepped through the door. A great place to meet people and have a good time - there's a cosy bar downstairs where most of the guests hang out. The staff was willing to show us around a bit or suggest places to go (surfing, hiking trails, beach spots, hot springs, restaurants, bars and live music down at the Sugar factory!) but they also considerately look after the interests of resting guests needing relaxation.

The food is delicious! Real easygoing South African comfort food. Try the boerewors! (Traditional South African spiced lamb sausage). They make it themselves. Comfortable rooms and a really clean guesthouse, that's well-maintained.

Dulan is BEAUTIFUL and Wagaligong is the haven of holiday, all year round.

I'll definitely head back soon.

Room Tip: For families, the private rooms might be better. They have great rooms for couples too. But backpack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taitung County hotels
9.1 mi away
Kindness Hotel Taitung
Kindness Hotel Taitung
#1 of 87 in Taitung County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
Sheraton Taitung Hotel
#2 of 87 in Taitung County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
8.4 mi away
On My Way.Taitung Hostel & Backpacker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jail House Hostel
Jail House Hostel
#9 of 87 in Taitung County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
10.9 mi away
Beautiful Pony Villa
Beautiful Pony Villa
#34 of 919 in Taitung County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pisces Youth
Pisces Youth
#48 of 87 in Taitung County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dulan 89 (Wagaligong)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dulan 89 (Wagaligong)

Property: Dulan 89 (Wagaligong)
Address: No.89 Dulan Village, Donghe Town, Taitung County 959, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taitung County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Taitung County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wagaligong Guesthouse in Dulan offers three private rooms and three shared dorm-rooms with backpacker-style accommodation. Prices range from NT$300 a head to NT$1500 for a room. We have restaurant/bar, surfing lesson and Yoga class here, it's a perfect choice for your holiday with all the good vibes with the beautiful sea and mountains! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dulan 89 (Wagaligong) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dulan 89 (Wagaligong) Taiwan/Taitung County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing