We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok hotel but this could be the best available in Taiwan East Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Formosan Naruwan Inn
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Taitung
xxx
Level Contributor
557 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 920 helpful votes
“Ok hotel but this could be the best available in Taiwan East Coast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

About the hotel:
This hotel is in a small town and therefore you can not compare with those hotels loaded with modern/super modern gadgets from Taipei or elsewhere. But it is nicely decorated with Aboriginal/Native style and we should give credits for their recent effort to renovate to get "5 stars status." At least lobby area looks like a good 4 stars place. Wifi/Internet is free but it is patchy. First I thought it is because of location of my room (at the end of the hallway) but other TA reviewers have same problem too. They also provide free entertainment (loud, Chinese singers). My tour guide also warned us that since this is the only decent hotel in town, it will be crowded with all tourists and I encountered some noisy visitors from mainland China at hot spring (hotel management can not be at fault though).

Room:
Quite spacious and beautifully decorated with Native theme. Two different sets of elevators for each wing which is nice.

Food:
Free breakfast buffet included but I do not know how much my tour agency paid for the room. Okay food but one notch below to other breakfast I had in other hotels with the tour. I also tried Chinese restaurant, the only restaurant inside the hotel. Well, Aboriginal Taiwanese speak better English (may be they are Christians) than Fleur De Chine hotel (Taiwan's best rated 5 stars place) and reasonably priced for some good fried rice and okay pig hog served in cold.

5 Stars status:
This could be misleading to some visitors but I understand that this could be the best in town. It is not necessary/not appropriate to award a place 5 stars just because it is the best in a small pond and in fact there are many states in USA (some are bigger than Taiwan) have no 5 stars hotel. 5 stars hotels do have more than one restaurant on site. Spa/hot spring is newly renovated but it is more like a common hot spring place in a Communist country and it lacks 5 stars feel (cheap looking hairdryer, spinner to dry your swim suit and tiles of the spa). it is also poorly designed and there is a long chilly walk outside of changing room towards the spa. I wish they hired someone with experience in hotel business or at least sent them to true 5 stars hotels (or hire me or someone with good taste, hee hee) before renovation.

Overall, I might stay again if the price is right and if I have to sleep after visiting East coast unspoiled sea shore and Taroko National Park but do not keep your expectation very high.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    24
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We visited Taitung recently and stayed one night at this hotel. I have to say I was quite impressed. The check in process was quick and efficient. Staff were all very polite and helpful. Although the room was little old, it was spacious and very clean. The only problem i had was the cigarette smell. Even though smoking is prohibited, I think some people still smoke in their room and the smell permeated through hotel corridors.

Taitung is a beautiful part of Taiwan, I wish we had stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nreiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Went with tour and we were checked into this hotel after a long day. Didnt try their spa, but we had a great time playing pool game, jackpot and arcade! Definitely a family hotel, as we had lots of fun playing with our relatives.

Had their buffet breakfast and their breakfast spread is quite good :) the hotel is near a 7-11, so it wasnt that hard to get some last-min snacks!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We booked this hotel because there wasn't anything else available when we got into Taitung. I wish we had booked earlier because our experience was not wonderful.

Cons: For the price, we just expected a lot more. The TV in our room had crazy feedback. The wifi was patchy. We went to the spa and were told that we had to buy a bathing cap to enter (nothing crazy priced but still) and that the onsen cost extra. When you pay $170 - you expect that stuff to be free especially since in Japan it is free.

The hotel is actually a pretty good distance out of Taitung itself so either rent bikes or expect to have money on hand for taxis. It makes it difficult to really enjoy the atmosphere of the city or go out for a quick bite. We were there when it was pouring and ended up having to take a taxi multiple times to get anywhere. It's also not remotely close to the train station and we weren't told there was a shuttle.

Pros: The room is huge and the bathroom is clean. A few of the receptionists speak English. The breakfast was decent and had a few surprises for food.

Room Tip: The bigger deluxe rooms have their own jacuzzis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cdn_nomad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taitung hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Our tour group stayed for one night at this hotel, and I was given a very comfortable and clean room overlooking the central courtyard and outdoor pool. The bathroom was clean and a good size, though some of the fittings were a little old-fashioned. The hotel is located to the NW of the city centre, not far from the airport. Very nice for an overnight stop, but not much to see or do within a short walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

A friend had booked my trip for me, and not knowing what type of hotels I would normally go for, she booked me this. It seemed quite pricey, but for the description I got I thought it was going to be worth it. It was really nice to have a shuttle from the train station to the hotel, and most of the employees spoke pretty good english. The room however, is less than ok for what we paid. It is not the "luxury" I was expecting and when I could get WIFI, it was only from standing on my deck. The hot springs were very nice, many different temps and current renovation that seems like it will be amazing. If you are looking for a place with a nice room, this is not it, but if you are looking for an OK room with a lot of great features, go for it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
347 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Hotel lobby, rooms,staff at the reception, it is all OK. The breakfast is great with even a separate vegetarian buffet I did not see as yet in all the other 5* hotels we have visited in Taiwan. But when it comes to the à la carte Chinese restaurant of the hotel, it is really strange that no one of the staff there speaks one word of English. Even with my declaration written in cute Chinese characters, stating that we wanted vegetarian dishes, it was not possible to get the staff started.
Finally there was our guide who helped me, though not without trouble. I got the impression staff was not willing to do anything.This was really in contrast with the veggie breakfast buffet we got next morning. Same unwilling staff in the all you can eat European buffet restaurant of the hotel. As the group was late, they started to have dinner, but did not get the opportunity to finish as the staff had already removed all the food including the desert.
So: hotel is nice, breakfast too, but dinner ...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taitung hotels
1.7 mi away
Naruwan Garden Hotel
Naruwan Garden Hotel
#39 of 88 in Taitung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kindness Hotel Taitung
Kindness Hotel Taitung
#1 of 88 in Taitung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chihpen Century Hotel
Chihpen Century Hotel
#6 of 88 in Taitung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#37 of 88 in Taitung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel De Trianon
Hotel De Trianon
#14 of 88 in Taitung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
9.6 mi away
Dong Tair SPA Hotel
Dong Tair SPA Hotel
#19 of 88 in Taitung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formosan Naruwan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formosan Naruwan Inn

Property: Formosan Naruwan Inn
Address: No.385 Section 2, Zhongxing Road, Taitung City, Taitung, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taitung
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Taitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Formosan Naruwan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Formosan Naruwan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formosan Naruwan Taitung
Formosan Naruwan Inn Taiwan/Taitung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing