We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Formosan Naruwan Inn
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Taitung
YYC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Pretty decent”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Not much to add to other reviews really. Not very close to the center, which is OK if driving, might be a problem otherwise. I thought our room was nice, although the bathroom looked a tad outdated.

Breakfast appears to be meant mostly for Taiwanese crowd, with little Western selection and even from that standpoint, not as nice as one might expect.

I asked for a micro USB wire, having left my cell phone charger behind, probably at a hotel in Taipei. They did not have any or did not want to lend me one, "policy being that we don't give out these things for safety reasons," uh?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    24
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
245 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable. The food is also ok. Its actually a five star hotel, though it looks quite old.
What's worth mentioning is that the hotel provides shuttle service at night time to the nearby night market. They charge NT50 per head for the round trip transportation. The travel time is around 10 minutes per trip. They would pick you up around 1 and a half hour later. I think this service is quite nice and convenient for the tourists who would want to experience the local life. Though its just a small night market but the food is really nice. Most of the food sold were the traditional ones.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We rated the hotel as excellent due to décor, staff & our room, 738. We were in newest wing. Room was as expected well appointed and clean. There is a reasonable & inexpensive bar two levels down from reception on level 1 (ground). The fruit flavoured Taiwan Beer such as pineapple is definitely and acquired taste. There is also a children play area and poker machines (slot machines?) Although with instructions in Chinese makes for interesting playing. Instead of eating at hotel we turned left from entrance until we came across pathway, turned left and walked down to next corner (not far), turned left and came across small noodle restaurant & dumpling restaurants, very cheap and enjoyable. Please these sorts restaurants close and 7pm as does most of country Taiwan. Breakfast was reasonable and I personally enjoyed it. Did not use spa. The free entertainment was as previously reported elsewhere was in Chinese but it did finish around 0830pm

Room Tip: make sure you are in newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Joseph_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxx
Level Contributor
557 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 920 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

About the hotel:
This hotel is in a small town and therefore you can not compare with those hotels loaded with modern/super modern gadgets from Taipei or elsewhere. But it is nicely decorated with Aboriginal/Native style and we should give credits for their recent effort to renovate to get "5 stars status." At least lobby area looks like a good 4 stars place. Wifi/Internet is free but it is patchy. First I thought it is because of location of my room (at the end of the hallway) but other TA reviewers have same problem too. They also provide free entertainment (loud, Chinese singers). My tour guide also warned us that since this is the only decent hotel in town, it will be crowded with all tourists and I encountered some noisy visitors from mainland China at hot spring (hotel management can not be at fault though).

Room:
Quite spacious and beautifully decorated with Native theme. Two different sets of elevators for each wing which is nice.

Food:
Free breakfast buffet included but I do not know how much my tour agency paid for the room. Okay food but one notch below to other breakfast I had in other hotels with the tour. I also tried Chinese restaurant, the only restaurant inside the hotel. Well, Aboriginal Taiwanese speak better English (may be they are Christians) than Fleur De Chine hotel (Taiwan's best rated 5 stars place) and reasonably priced for some good fried rice and okay pig hog served in cold.

5 Stars status:
This could be misleading to some visitors but I understand that this could be the best in town. It is not necessary/not appropriate to award a place 5 stars just because it is the best in a small pond and in fact there are many states in USA (some are bigger than Taiwan) have no 5 stars hotel. 5 stars hotels do have more than one restaurant on site. Spa/hot spring is newly renovated but it is more like a common hot spring place in a Communist country and it lacks 5 stars feel (cheap looking hairdryer, spinner to dry your swim suit and tiles of the spa). it is also poorly designed and there is a long chilly walk outside of changing room towards the spa. I wish they hired someone with experience in hotel business or at least sent them to true 5 stars hotels (or hire me or someone with good taste, hee hee) before renovation.

Overall, I might stay again if the price is right and if I have to sleep after visiting East coast unspoiled sea shore and Taroko National Park but do not keep your expectation very high.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We visited Taitung recently and stayed one night at this hotel. I have to say I was quite impressed. The check in process was quick and efficient. Staff were all very polite and helpful. Although the room was little old, it was spacious and very clean. The only problem i had was the cigarette smell. Even though smoking is prohibited, I think some people still smoke in their room and the smell permeated through hotel corridors.

Taitung is a beautiful part of Taiwan, I wish we had stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nreiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Went with tour and we were checked into this hotel after a long day. Didnt try their spa, but we had a great time playing pool game, jackpot and arcade! Definitely a family hotel, as we had lots of fun playing with our relatives.

Had their buffet breakfast and their breakfast spread is quite good :) the hotel is near a 7-11, so it wasnt that hard to get some last-min snacks!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We booked this hotel because there wasn't anything else available when we got into Taitung. I wish we had booked earlier because our experience was not wonderful.

Cons: For the price, we just expected a lot more. The TV in our room had crazy feedback. The wifi was patchy. We went to the spa and were told that we had to buy a bathing cap to enter (nothing crazy priced but still) and that the onsen cost extra. When you pay $170 - you expect that stuff to be free especially since in Japan it is free.

The hotel is actually a pretty good distance out of Taitung itself so either rent bikes or expect to have money on hand for taxis. It makes it difficult to really enjoy the atmosphere of the city or go out for a quick bite. We were there when it was pouring and ended up having to take a taxi multiple times to get anywhere. It's also not remotely close to the train station and we weren't told there was a shuttle.

Pros: The room is huge and the bathroom is clean. A few of the receptionists speak English. The breakfast was decent and had a few surprises for food.

Room Tip: The bigger deluxe rooms have their own jacuzzis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cdn_nomad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taitung hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taitung hotels
1.1 mi away
Kindness Hotel Taitung
Kindness Hotel Taitung
#1 of 88 in Taitung
368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Naruwan Garden Hotel
Naruwan Garden Hotel
#39 of 88 in Taitung
19 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chihpen Century Hotel
Chihpen Century Hotel
#6 of 88 in Taitung
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#37 of 88 in Taitung
20 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel De Trianon
Hotel De Trianon
#14 of 88 in Taitung
60 reviews
9.6 mi away
Dong Tair SPA Hotel
Dong Tair SPA Hotel
#19 of 88 in Taitung
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formosan Naruwan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formosan Naruwan Inn

Property: Formosan Naruwan Inn
Address: No.385 Section 2, Zhongxing Road, Taitung City, Taitung, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taitung
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Taitung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Formosan Naruwan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Formosan Naruwan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formosan Naruwan Taitung
Formosan Naruwan Inn Taiwan/Taitung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing