We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Island with no maintanance”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Island

Green Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Two-Day Trip: Snorkeling in Green Island Taiwan
Ranked #3 of 236 things to do in Taitung
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Island with no maintanance”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Green Island is a beautiful place with lot of ocean attractions and a natural sea water spa. Other than snorkeling, Diving, and hiking in the old mountain trail...there is nothing much to do. Two days at this place is enough to cover the whole island. Hotel facilities are really bad, no maintenance at all...just good enough to roughen the night. Great sea food restaurants and a western type pub with good food called Mr. Hot Dog is a place to have a drink.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanaka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    73
    14
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful island with many interesting spots to discover and explore”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent 3D2N there and basically explored most of the island. Basic mode of transportation would be the motorbike or the electric scooter, which can be rented almost immediately after you drop off at the harbour (just a short distance away). Beautiful view of the ocean, grassland, some mountainous rocks with deers roaming about and a cave. The Human Rights Museum is the place to visit to know about the political history of Taiwan. However, the exhibits offer limited explanation in English.


Weather could be erratic; on one of the days, there were two short afternoon showers out of the blue.

Food wise, Monica's restaurant offer very good seafood! Scallops were fresh and juicy; cost about 400 NTD for 10 scallops. Had fish roe salad as well for 200 NTD; it was awesome. That dinner was one of the more expensive meals we had on the island but it was definitely a delectable meal.

Accomodation wise, we stayed at Jack's Inn. Jack offers a seamless, comprehensive package at competitive prices. Includes transport to and from the harbour, rental for transportation on the island, BnB with either a snorkelling course or hot spring ticket. Jack and his team are friendly and very nice people. Strongly recommend this place.

Drinks wise we had beer at a place above 好朋友潛水shop, a short distance away from Jack's. Open air bar with blue and white lights beside the ocean so you can't miss that while driving along the main road. The lady boss is extremely friendly and treated us to some food to go with the beer. Nice!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jia Ler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hualien, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good place~”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Green island is a good place for short-term travel, people are friendly, foods are delicious and weather is warm. It's a really small island, and there some special animal, like: Deer and Goat.
The sea is very beautiful. I have gone to snorkeling. It is really beautiful world under the water.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 11232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ludao is just too beautful!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The tall mountains, the magnificent sea and the friendly people is a trademark of Green island; making it one of the best traveling experience of my life!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Your Green Island Low Down (winter version)”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Although I was aware of the islands snorkeling and diving, we went anyways in late February. The weather was not at all conducive to these activities, so we did everything else the island has to offer.

To begin: you definitely need to beware of the choppiness of the seas. I was forewarned by reviews and bought motion sickness medicine. This was 100% necessary, and I still felt a little woozy after the journey. Round trip costs 920NT

On the island, there is basically one main road with small towns off of it. As the road enters a new town, the numbers start over. So make sure you are familiar with which town your destination is in (and it helps to memorize a Chinese character or too). There are multiple accommodations ranging from hostel, home stay, B&B, to hotel. We stayed in the Green Island Xing Diang(?) B&B found on Agoda. This place was off the main road in a super quiet location. I definitely recommendation this B&B. The owner was super friendly (he doesn't speak English, though), the beds were a typical Taiwanese hard, but the room was equipped with an AC, nice television, and a super comfy comforter.

The map will display the sights to see which all lay off the main road. I feel that this can be done in a day. The hot springs actually are great, and a joyous night time activity. The hardest massage showers are in the inside pool (also the hottest). They do not provide towels, so bring your own! Otherwise, you can purchase a small one for 80NT or a large one for 260NT or so.

I don't know if it was just low tide or so, but we didn't see any proper beaches. There was sand, but between the sand and the ocean there was a section of rocky tide pools.

There are multiple places to rent scooters and e-bikes, but for foreigners you must have a Taiwanese license (maybe an international license will do). They are really strict on this due to a previous incident.

All in all it was a relaxing 3 day weekend, but I felt as if there was a lack of things to do, especially since the weather wasn't conducive for the water activities. Maybe we'll go back in the summer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank vertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Island also viewed

 

Been to Green Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing