We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that shine is gold, this one does not shine but....”
Review of Hotel Los Delfines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Los Delfines
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Hi folks. What I really mean with the title is that this Hotel may not look very nice outside, but the rooms, the service, the food and all the people taking care of you, from the kitchens ladies to the owner, everybody were very nice and polite. You have to know that this place is not a five star hotel, but sometimes, even for the price, be in a nice and humble place like "Posada Los delfines", is simply better.
Why I am so sure that I can tell you this? This was the fifth time I visited the beautiful city of Bocas del Toro and I have stayed in 4 different hotels and about all of them I had complaints, but this does not. The pizza cooked over a wood fire was incredible. It may not look very good on the outside, but for that price you can find a nice stay, good air conditioning, baths with hot or fresh water. In the restaurant, good Wi-Fi signal, that if I had to complain about anything it would be that in my room got no signal.
Even do, this is my opinion about my experience.I was there on a trip from Costa Rica for three days and two nights, with a total of 36 people, including family and friends.

Room Tip: For couples : Third floor. For everybody else : Any room. People who likes internet, first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel during an expedition to Panama from Costa Rica. The reservation was supposed to be an "upgrade" from the usual accomodation offered in package. If this was an upgrade, I shutter at the thought of the other place. As far as positives go, I will say 3 things that were appreciated. First, the room itself was clean. Secondly, air conditioning was provided and it worked well, which apparently is not the norm for that area. Third, the restaurant attached to the hotel offered brick oven pizzas and it was neat to sit at your table and watch the cook make your pizza and then spin in around in the oven until it is golden brown. And that is where the positives end! While the room was clean, it was sparse in every possible way. There were two tiny pieces of furniture. I mean tiny, like for a child's nursery. There was a horribly uncomfortable, small bed with sheets and a dirty fleece type blanket thrown on top. My view was of a trash laden shanty in the back. The tv did not work. The wireless internet was almost impossible to hone in on. And the worst is the service offered in the restaurant in the mornings. There was one woman who showed up at her leisure to cook and although she saw that my daughter and I were waiting, she took orders from the people who sat down after us before she took ours. She was rude and dismissive when I politely tried to ask for beverages. She cooked each meal one by one. I showed her that according to my paperwork from the expedition, breakfast was included in my stay. She said that information was incorrect, unless breakfast was juice, coffee and toast. Everything else had to be paid for. She did not deliver a bill or my free juice or coffee. I had to pour my child's juice myself and she would not make eye contact with me when I tried to ask for a mug so that I could get my own coffee. Then when all was said and done, she tried to charge me for the juice I poured myself that was supposed to be free and the coffee I never got. I felt badly that she was the only one there and tried to be patient. But her attitude was so poor that in the end, she is part of why this hotel got 2 stars from me instead of 3. If you are expecting a nice place, do not book this hotel. If you are looking for a cold room to lay your head down for a night, it might be good for the price. If you are looking for strong customer service, or any customer service for that matter, go elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poorfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We were travelling with a group so didn't choose this backpacker-style hotel ourselves. Nor would we! Our cramped room on the 2nd floor was dingy — walls and doors badly in need of a scrubbing if not a new paint job. Towels were small, threadbare and stained from overuse. Lighting was a 40 watt bulb (if that) hanging from the ceiling. Security was questionable. The sign at the reception desk "Open 24 Hours" was misleading as there was often no one there. On one occasion I finally went into the office and searched the desk myself to get our room key. Anyone off the street could have done the same. On the plus side, sleep was possible, as the air-con worked well and was loud enough to drown out the noise from the restaurant downstairs. Also the breakfasts were good — ham and cheese omelettes and whole wheat toast!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Jasmine039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Though I have never slept a single night in this hotel, I would like to write a review about the restaurant - pizzeria. The pizza's are very good. But the music is loud and the lights are very bright. So I reccomened to everyone acking for a slice of afforable but delicious pizza to visit los delfines and take away one of those delicous pizza's!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OnTheWay2Stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Really nice, clean and spacy enough rooms upon a restaurant. With aircon and hot showers. Good option for the hostels downtown. Shared a two bed room with a friend and the price didn't go much higher per person than the dorms on other places. They also clean the rooms daily.

Restaurant downstairs makes good wood-oven pizzas. The staff is friendly, especially the older gentleman working in the reception. Highly recommendable place only a few minutes from the center.

Wifi works outside the rooms and better downstairs in the restaurant. Could be a bit better connection.

Room Tip: The room near over the pizza oven might get some smoke from the chimney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HontzyOntheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

After spending one night at one dirty hostel at Bocas, we were looking for a nicer room for the other night. The day before we went to the restarunt beneath Los Delfines and the food was great and the people were very nice. The room is very big, clean and it has the facilities of a higher budget hotel. If you're coming to Bocas to spend your Honeymoon or a relaxed vacation - This place will be an excellent option for you. p.s. - It includes breakfast.

Room Tip: Try their Pizza - it's the best one you can find in Bocas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Window/patio area was more like a crawl space. Rooms were clean but we had water issues from day one of our arrival. We found the staff to be helpful....when we could find them. Wouldn't recommend unless some managerial changes were made. Cleanliness is a plus though! And had a very central location - this might be a negative or a positive depending on what you're looking for.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank RRRadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
0.5 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
104 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Delfines

Address: Calle 5 Avenida G, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Price Range: £36 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Delfines 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has 13 comfortable, clean and nice rooms with A/C, private bathroom, hot water, cable TV and wireless internet at the public areas of the hotel.Our staff will make sure that you are going to have the best vacations ever in a warm welcoming atmosphere giving you everything you need to enjoy as much as possible this beautiful pristine paradise of Bocas del Toro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Los Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Delfines Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing