We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of Guari Guari

Guari Guari
Ranked #6 of 104 Restaurants in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Fabulous multi-course meal! Gazpacho, pork chops out of this world!
Every course was better than the last!
Charming setting. Do not miss!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAteacherkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    35
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent all around, service, food, atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Wonderful dining experience all around. The food is excellent. The service perfect. You can not go wrong having a meal here. This restaurant knows how to do things right along with how to prepare foods with flavor.
It maybe on the more expensive side for restaurants in Bocas town, $23.00 for a 5 course meal but worth every bit of that.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fun2bblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An Amazing local spot”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Every time I visit from the States, I make sure to stop in here for dinner. The creations of food is wonderful, and I have yet to have something that I haven't enjoyed. As long as you make reservations and ensure they are open, then dinner is great. This is a husband/wife run team and they work well together. She cooks and he is the waiter. Absolutely love going there!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JenG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leucadia, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed, but not bad.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I think my expectations were too high. The restaurant is absolutely adorable, and yes - small and intimate. Definitely make reservations if you want to eat here. The service was very good, but I was disappointed with most of the food. Gazpacho started off our 5 course meal, and it was delicious... but things went south from there. Our main course was breaded sea bass, and it was far too salty. Luckily the chocolate mousse dessert was wonderful so I left with a better (and less salty) taste in my mouth, but I preferred other restaurants we ate at throughout the islas, and certainly throughout Panama.

Unfortunately, we did not know that it is impossible to get a taxi on a Sunday night from Guari Guari back to Bocas town, so we ended up walking. This ended up being fine for our group, but certainly beware of this fact if you have anyone elderly or unable to walk for 30 minutes back. After a 5 course meal, I enjoyed the walk, but thought this should be disclaimed to others.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyW_760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This good a food on this remote an island? Really?”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our family of 4 just had the most delicious 5 course pre fix dinner in this wonderful gem of a restaurant a quick taxi from
" downtown" Bocas. The German husband ( waiter and host) and his Spanish wife have created a truly delicious dining experience. There are very few tables so make reservations. It was WELL worth the $25/each!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NIcoleLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guari Guari also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to Guari Guari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing