We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a check-out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Chitre

El Chitre
Ranked #44 of 99 Restaurants in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a check-out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Super inexpensive, yummy, what's not too like?
It's a little hole in the wall cafeteria, frequented by locals and with good reason, Its about 4 $ for a plate, could be a bit more or a bit less depending on what you indulge in! Definitely worth a stop by for the adventurer on a budget!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RawrrItsssAlexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food on a budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This little restaurant has the best bang for your buck in all Bocas Town. The meal portions are enough to satisfy anyone, the variety of the menu doesn't change so much, but is very decent to give you a range to choose from.
This restaurant is basic, that means, nothing in there is fancy, but is clean and cheap.
The location is very convenient, about 1 block from the park on the main street.
A very recognized TV chef always says "eat where the locals eat", so, give it a try, have a good meal and save money.

PLEASE NOTICE: is closed on Sunday!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura County Coast, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple suggestion...go here for great, cheap, typical food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I love the fast, clean, tasty service and food here. For $5 i get a gatoraid, albondigas, arroz, lentijas, and papas ensalada! Can not beat it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pjmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Recommended by locals, did not disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Good, stick-to-your-ribs comida tipica, cheap prices. Our go-to place when we had overspent our daily budget. We could usually eat here for less than $4 per person. Generous portions. Right on the main drag. Quick service

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank squirrelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This place had the best value out of all the places we ate at in Bocas Town. The menu was the same every day; rice, potato salad and your choice of meat, for less than four dollars a head. It was so good that we went back every day we were there for lunch. If you like local food, decent portions and are not such a fan of the 'gringo tax' then you'll enjoy restaurant Chitre. They also do delicious juices, the lemon one is thirst quenching.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SDRJvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Chitre also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to El Chitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing