We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Bocas del Toro”
Review of Hotel Dos Palmas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Colon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Dos Palmas
Ranked #29 of 43 Isla Colon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was a very pleasant surprise in Bocas where hotels tend to be overpriced for the value they represent. The owner is a charming aging lady that overlooks this well managed little hotel on the waterfront. Very clean, confortable and hangers in the room! For mere 30 dollars a night with A/C, a pleasant patio on the waterfront to watch sailboats passing by, chat with friendly backpackers or sip some red wine, what a good deal!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

These aren't the newest digs in town. What makes this place stand out is the location. If you are a morning person there is no better place to be in town than on the back porch right on the water. The sunrises are spectacular. I saw manta rays, needle fish and other sea creatures while sipping my morning coffee (which by the way is ready and waiting for you gratis thanks to Winston). The bed was old but comfortable. The room is clean. The AC works. It's a secure place. Lavinia will keep an eagle eye for any suspicious characters. I was hesitant to write a review as this is one of those places that I hope will remain as it is: with quiet loyal clientele. A true diamond in the rough. Oh and did I say it was very reasonably priced!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Algotomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed here because all the other places under $50/night were booked. Turned out to be a decent place but would only only recommend as a plan B.

Pros: friendly owner/staff, great view from the back porch

Cons: away from the main strip (some might see this as a Pro), small bathroom

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

A nice little hotel protected from the crowds and noise of the main street of Bocas del Toro by a two-block walking distance. Clean, inexpensive, with a very friendly and helpful owner. Great option for budget travelers. The most memorable feature of this place was the back porch extending into the clear waters of the bay - a nice place to relax with a drink or jump right off for a refreshing swim.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sasha_volgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Rooms are tired and slightly musty but for $35 per night it is reasonable. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Nice balcony at back and felt safe.

Starfish for breakfast is worth trying and the pedal bikes are a death trap so avoid unless you want a trip to the local hospital like we did! Hotel Bocas del Torro for 75 cent beer in happy hour is a must!

Better places to stay though

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Hotel Dos Palmas will meet the needs of any budget traveler. Although it's an older, somewhat "tired" hotel, the place is quiet, clean, and cheaply priced. The bed was comfortable, and the owner - a woman named Lavinia - always greeted us with a smile.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loca4Poca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We had reservations a nearby hostel or so we thought so we ended up at Dos Palmas instead. What a nice treat to have our own bathroom and hot water after staying in hostels. The staff was very friendly and spoke good English compared to our broken Spanish. The room was very clean and had air-condition. Just three blocks off the main road and a nice patio on the water.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beelann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Colon hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
0 mi away
Tesoro Escondido
Tesoro Escondido
#1 of 1 in Bluff Beach
312 reviews
0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
400 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
361 reviews
0 mi away
Island Plantation
Island Plantation
#1 of 6 in Bluff Beach
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Palmas

Address: Ave Sur between Calle 6 y Calle 5, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Colon
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hotel Dos Palmas Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing