We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brownies too warm and gooey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

In the interests of fairness, we tried to think of something we didn't like. One of our party of four was on a really serious diet and claimed the welcome brownies were too warm and gooey to resist. That's all we could think of. The owners were really nice people located near enough if you had a problem, but far enough away for complete privacy. Roomy and nicely decorated rooms at each end of a wonderful pool and just a few steps down to the beach. Also near enough to town for convenience, but far enough away for privacy. Owners recommended a fisherman just a few houses away who pulled right up in front of our casitas. Great fishing trip, caught 15 bluefin tuna, at a reasonable price with a fun guide. Perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank ringofire449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConsejoPanama, Owner at Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Sooooo happy to hear that you enjoyed everything! We work REALLY hard to make everything perfect for what our guests want! We work at all the little extras that make our place unforgettable! Our chef is incredible for those who wish to relax and just enjoy the best food at the best surroundings. (Including the warm, gooey brownies!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Martin and I had a wonderful vacation at Villa Paraiso having both Casitas to ourselves. Our hosts were delightful and have three outstanding sons. Pool was great, beach was great and the Caribbean waters terrific.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Thank you for a wonderful holiday. An amazing set up with the Villas. Traveled with two other couples and stayed at the Villa for two weeks. Recommend calling Bill (taxi driver) to ask about him arranging a boat tour for the day. We visited Dolphin Bay, Zapatillas and a few other spots, it was an amazing day! Many great restaurants – Guari Guari, El Refugio, Baracuda, etc. Felt very safe walking in downtown Bocas. Would also highly recommend having Chef Chris one night – amazing meals delivered!

Angie and Stave, thanks again for your amazing hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elyse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Thank you for a wonderful week. You made us and our friends feel very welcome from the day we arrived. Thanks for the treats, brownies and cake too! We loved the set up of Las Castias, the pool and the ocean. Your recommendations of things to do were terrific and we loved Chris' deliveries of 3 dinners during the week! Starfish Beach, Jampan snorkeling excursion to Coral Cay, Zapatilla Islands and Finca los Monos were terrific!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Well - what a gorgeous place to stay - we did well in picking the casitas at Villa Paraiso! Everything was super clean - all the time, and really just beautiful grounds!!! The help we received via Angie and Steve was immeasurable - from helping to gain lost luggage - a major plus and was much appreciated - to answering our every little question, to helping us talk with local people who we couldn't understand on the phone sometimes! Both Steve and Angie were extremely helpful in their tips about Bocas, where to go, what to do.

They arranged for a local fisherman, Bizi, to take us here, there and everywhere. We had a cell phone which proved unbelievably useful - and the minutes were already on there, almost enough for about 12 days worth! I've noted before that people mention "Attention to Detail" and this is very true of the casitas!!! Right down to the "goodies" that (apparently) BOTH Angie and Steve baked for us every few days :) they were awesome. Only unfortunate part of where we were, was, the beach was a little rougher than I'd expected, due mostly I think to the fact that people there were saying the "seas were rough over the past couple of months and there was a lot of rain before we arrived." Had only hoped to have a calmer beach to swim in. But I took dips in the pool quite often, anyway!

Some super helpful things, all of which were unexpected (having done "self-catering" before) were: toilet paper being supplied, having big H20 jugs supplied per week (BIG bonus!!!!), beach towels (no need to pack your own), umbrellas!

Really we picked the perfect spot for 4 of us. It's of course pricier than a lot of the places in Bocas town - but was perfect for our needs, and really, you get what you pay for!! Cheap cab rides into town, or to Bluff Beach, or wherever, take care of that...

Oh! And having Chris, the chef from New York, in to cook for us - another added bonus! $15 a plate for some awesome meals plus salad, dessert one time.... great plus if you simply didn't feel like leaving the Casitas. We will spend more time there next time, for sure. We had too much exploring to do, so we actually almost "wasted" our time there this trip... Definitely could've used more lounging around in the pool-time...

To sum up my review - Steve and Angie and their Casitas are THE best! Anything you need or want or question, they try their hardest to take care of immediately! And they didn't make us feel like pests, either, which was a bonus. Very nice people. Just wish we had a bit more time to visit with them. Next time! xoxo

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzieqGRENADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panamanian-Style, Owner at Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

It was great having you, you were all wonderful guests! We will look forward to next time! Too bad you weren't here right now the seas are calm, and the Bay in front of the Villas is flat as glass, we have been enjoying swims every afternoon. Even year around guests love to swim here because there is no currents or rip tides, even when the waves are up, so come on back and give it a try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I are the camping/hiking/B&B type of people, so I was a bit apprehensive about renting a California style casita on a seemingly touristy island. This place was wonderful and by far exceeded our expectations. It is a perfect place to be with kids.

There are two casitas with a shared pool and kitchen. The kitchen is outside so you are facing the pool and the ocean while cooking and eating. The casitas were well equipped with all we needed, including some free snacks and drinks that were very appreciated after a long trip to Bocas. Everything is well maintained and clean, the grounds are beautiful. The casitas area is completely gated, so your things and kids are definitely safe. It is a bit difficult to figure out which key to use though:). There are complimentary bikes and toys and cell phones to use on the island. I could not bike because of kids so perhaps the owners could also offer kids seats for the bikes. There are towels for the pool and the beach provided.

The owners are super helpful and their "manual" is definitely worth reading. We also loved the home made brownies we found one day after returning from the beach.

The casitas are well located outside of town along the beach. It is a $4 ride to town for dinner or groceries. We walked to Paki Point on foot with kids and it was close and beautiful. The recommended beaches were awesome. Overall, we loved Isla Colon more than Bastimentos.

I would definitely stay there again and would recommend this place for all my friends. The casitas were discounted during our stay so it was a good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20vilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panamanian-Style, Owner at Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Las Casitas is the PERFECT place for friends and family and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! For the future,we can arrange bikes with baby seats, from a local bike rental shop, that way you don't have to pay the $2 per adult taxi fee to town unless you want to.

To make it easier for you, we also are now serving breakfast, for an extra price, for those that request it in advance. We also have a GREAT NEW YORK Chef that caters the BEST meals on the islands right to your poolside table!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The villas were booked, so we stayed with friends in the casitas. Structurally they are exquisite, with a lovely dipping pool separating the two bedrooms. The beds were doubles and uncomfortable, and the rooms needed a bit of updating. The property is beautifully landscaped, however the beach is not good for swimming due to the perpetual waves and murky waters; but it's lovely for walking. The road is narrow and busy with taxis. Simply put, this is not a place for a young family. It is more geared to back packers, hippies, and people a fraction of our ages! Regardless, our host and hostess were helpful and very kind. Our trip was a worthwhile learning experience, and the tours to a few of the islands and a chocolate factory were pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Globe_travellers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panamanian-Style, Owner at Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We are so sorry that you were disillusioned with Bocas. For many people of all ages, including many families, this archipelago of islands in the Caribbean Sea is a great adventure and well worth the trip! We do not recommend it for older ones that are looking for a Grand Cayman or Hawaii type experience. The Sea in front of the Villas is one of the mildest in all the islands, with shallow, soft sand bottom and no riptides. However, the weather system that passed through during your stay left it stirred up, but still safe for swimming.

Our Casitas are only 2 years old and have been professionally decorated with an elegant casual island feel. We regularly maintain and update our properties to make them the best Bocas offers! We apologize that they did not meet your taste or style. Our queen sized beds have orthopedic mattresses topped with memory foam mattress pads to provide a comfortable night sleep. We work hard to meet the majority of the desires and needs of our guests, but unfortunately can’t always meet everyone’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
1.6 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
558 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
400 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Tesoro Escondido
Tesoro Escondido
#1 of 1 in Bluff Beach
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso

Address: Big Creek, Isla Colon 0101, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Isla Colon
Price Range: £168 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax in your own private suite style Casita of the most UNIQUE, EXQUISITE Beachfront Boutique Rentals in all Northern Panama. Las Casitas are located directly on top of the beach,and footsteps from the warm Caribbean Sea! Our private, gated property offers you the use of a beautiful private pool and patio area to lounge in the sun, as you listen to the soft rolling waves of the Sea, or relax with a book under the covered lanais in our over stuffed sectionals! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Las Casitas of Villa Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Of Villa Paraiso Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing