We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Unique Resort For Nature lovers looking for a secluded vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Unique Resort For Nature lovers looking for a secluded vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

This unique hotel provides clean rooms, friendly staff, good food and an environment to meditate and connect with nature. The surrondings landscape are espectacular.
If you want to get away from it all, feel safe in a friendly beautiful and different experience this is the place is really paradise. For beach lovers and scuba divers the natural aquarium right by your room is amazing. The staff completes the experience with their eagerness to please in every way. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaritzaDeLaTorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    67
    29
    25
    14
See reviews for
51
178
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencian Country, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

The hotel is situated in a paradise. The food (from breakfast to dinner) was excellent and the staff's very friendly and helpful. Even met the manager was very nice and funny (if you have the luck to know him ask to tell you anecdotes of when he founded the hotel, very funny).
Do not expect Western comforts, is a hotel to relax and enjoy nature. Diving at the bottom of the sea is impressive. We went as part of our honeymoon and it cost us go from there.
Truly a highly recommended place but like all good things is not cheap.
Beware that if mosquitoes are very abundant in these tropical areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciro-bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Last January I had the opportunity to know the paradise. Only I can describe our stay as unsurpassable. I think that this type of tourism is for certain type of people who will be able to estimate the nature in all his greatness: the landscape, the service and the food form a part of the captivation of the hotel. I want to be grateful to the family that has done that our stay was an authentic luxury for our senses.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marita_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

What a pity - it probably was and potentially again could be a fantastic experience but in truth if you book on the premise of what the website promises, you will more than likely be quite disappointed like us. The resort is quite run down, the units (at least our one) are quite tardy, some broken furniture and the bathrooms need renovation. The food is poor and when you are promised breakfast and dinner you do expect an enjoyable experience - especially since you are quite isolated. On the positive side the location is great and lying out on the hammock is very relaxing and pleasant and the staff are in general friendly and helpful. However - overall the resort is not good value for money and the website and it's details are misleading, again a pity and with good management and some renovation would be a highlight of any trip to this area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytravellers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Staying at this hotel was relaxing, fun, and a bit of an adventure. Hands down the best vacation I've ever had!! Don't expect to use a hair dryer or have air conditioning or bright lights or a phone because it is an ECO-LODGE and bit of a rugged experience, so as long as you are prepared for that you will have an amazing time. Bring a good book and prepare to take it easy in a hammock! You can canoe, swim, or snorkel right off your deck. The tours are fantastic (with Alehandro the tour guide) including red frog beach, snorkeling, and the river tour. We saw sloths, skates, and alligators. Don't do the dolphin tour we didn't see any dolphins. We went surfing at red frog beach (you can rent a board in bocas town) but spent most of the time at the hotel since it is a long and pricey boat ride into town. The food at the hotel was fantastic every night! Fresh fish or meat, and freshly squeezed juice for breakfast. Bring cds they will play whatever you want during dinner. Waiter Alex was fantastic. the entire staff was very very nice and helpful. Slept like a baby with the waves lapping against our hut and the breeze coming in the open air window. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jl123123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

I am a traveler that depends greatly on reviews posted by others, whether it be for a local restaurant, a massage or a place to stay. It is very rare that I am not able to read through the fake posts from the company & their friends...in the case of Punta Caracol I clearly made a mistake and did not do my homework well enough as my girlfriend and I both arrived and immediately felt "duped" as the hotel is misrepresented online. I ask only that if you disregard this review, that you please please please post your own review upon your return as I guarantee you it will not be a positive one.

To preface my reviews: I travel extensively and have stayed in everything from a sleeping bag in a tent on safari to the most beautiful of Auberge resorts. When staying in a tent I know what to expect and plan accordingly (and pay accordingly!) and when staying at an Auberge property I also have a certain level of expectation, and recognize I will be paying more for the experience. Punta Caracol claims to have a high quality "resort", charges hundreds of dollars a night, and does not come anywhere close to living up to what they advertise.

I will start with the positives:
* The arial and exterior views (from a distance) of the individual cabins is great. Makes for a beautiful postcard.
* The isolation from the rest of the world, town, etc. is quite nice (although cabin fever can easily set in)
* The staff is nice

And the issues, from big to small:
* The rooms are damp and smell slightly like mildew
* There is only 12v electrical in the cabins and it is hard to see/read at night
* The hotel is on a sensitive septic system. Used toilet paper must be put into a garbage can that is emptied once a day. Mixed with the heat...not so nice at times.
* The cabins are old, the paint is chipping and mold spots are in the showers
* The food at dinner is poorly prepared. One must choose that morning between 2 or 3 options (most of which include frozen, chewy shrimp) and as someone who enjoys good food, I was shocked at the lack of flavor and poor preparation.
* There are hundreds of little black bugs (gnats?) that are hard to see and bite ankles and exposed body parts. Wear bug repellant.
* At dinner the staff has one mix on their iPod that includes Celine Dion (Titanic song) and it is the same music each night
* The hotel & wait staff (one in the same) are free to use their cell phones (even in the middle of meal-time) and many of them have the latest hip hop beats on their phone that competes with Celine Dion, not helping to make a romantic dinner (bad food, lots of biting gnats(?) and repetitive music)
* The water in the showers smells terrible (sulfur?) and the heat is inconsistent
* The coral surrounding the hotel is dead and there are only some fish when the hotel staff throws bread into the water)
* There are a handful of starfish in the immediate vicinity of the hotel...and many dead ones (black in color). If you venture out, beyond a stones throw, from the rooms there are no starfish and no mollusks (what they eat) anywhere to be found. This is not their native environment and I would not be surprised if the hotel collects them and throws them there every couple months.
* The housekeeping was washing a raft with soap and a hose and dumping huge amounts of soap into the water (which is clearly part of the reason why the coral is dead)
* The tea available is so old it literally doesn't steep even with two tea bags.
* To charter a 4-hour private boat tour we were quoted $60 at Hotel La Coralina (highly recommended) whereas at Punta Caracol we were offered 2-hours for $80.
* There was no reception person most of the day and when we tried to book massages we were told that they didn't have anyone and that we could rent a boat to go into town and try to find a place there.

I truly could continue to discuss the numerous small and large issues that I experienced with Punta Caracol. If, after reading this review and others, you decide to stay at Punta Caracol I can only urge you to please complete review upon your return (with photos, if possible) so that other travelers who also depend on review-sites are able to make an informed decision about where they stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank dhughes_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

It is an amazing place. Just looking at the place is unique and incredible. You have your very own little hut built over the water. You have a deck to enjoy and the view is terrific. The water is crystal clear so you can see the fish swimming below you. You can kayak or snorkel from your hut and the water is nice and warm.

The food was excellent. You could order anything you wanted for breakfast and our dinner was fantastic. One night we had lobster. It was the best lobster I have every had and the most amazing scenery. Also, you can buy a beer for $2.00 or $3.00. Not bad considering the view and the fact you are on the water and everything needs to be shipped in.

We did get bit up by some bugs from the mangroves nearby. Bring bug juice. Although it is expensive it is a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
4.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
3.8 mi away
Koko Resort
Koko Resort
#4 of 21 in Isla Colon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
16.8 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge

Property: Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Address: Punta Caracol, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Colon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Caracol Acqua Hotel Isla Colon
Punta Caracol Acqua Resort
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing