We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to Life.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back to Life.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Punta Caracol is the ideal place for travelers looking for a top vacation spot that has the right amount of unspoiled nature to spoiled pleasure.
Because of the remote location and the privacy of the resort one can relax and enjoy the beauty that nature is.
Perfect for romantic getaway and peaceful relaxation.
The resort with it's 9 huts sits atop a Coral rife in an unspoiled island in the Caribbean. Using environment friendly practices the staff manages to create an oasis while protecting wildlife.
Take your canoe out for some snorkeling, go for a swim amongst the starfish or just sit back in your hammock at sunset and watch the dolphins go by.

This place is for people looking to relax and be one with nature my advise, leave the kids at home and come with someone you love.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLNYtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    66
    29
    25
    14
See reviews for
50
177
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

You can't beat the location of this spot. It's beautiful and peaceful and the over water cabins are perfect for escaping the craziness of life. It's fantastic to spend the day chilling on the deck and diving off into the beautiful water. Super easy and relaxing. Unfortunately, the service is mediocre at best and the food is simply awful. Is it worth the money? Not sure - we loved our two nights/three days there and it was a unique experience, but we were glad we didn't spend our entire week there (we would have gone hungry) - we moved to another resort (Casa Cayuco) in another area of Bocas.

Room Tip: Luna Suites have bigger decks and a hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimePaul08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

This unique hotel provides clean rooms, friendly staff, good food and an environment to meditate and connect with nature. The surrondings landscape are espectacular.
If you want to get away from it all, feel safe in a friendly beautiful and different experience this is the place is really paradise. For beach lovers and scuba divers the natural aquarium right by your room is amazing. The staff completes the experience with their eagerness to please in every way. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaritzaDeLaTorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencian Country, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

The hotel is situated in a paradise. The food (from breakfast to dinner) was excellent and the staff's very friendly and helpful. Even met the manager was very nice and funny (if you have the luck to know him ask to tell you anecdotes of when he founded the hotel, very funny).
Do not expect Western comforts, is a hotel to relax and enjoy nature. Diving at the bottom of the sea is impressive. We went as part of our honeymoon and it cost us go from there.
Truly a highly recommended place but like all good things is not cheap.
Beware that if mosquitoes are very abundant in these tropical areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciro-bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Last January I had the opportunity to know the paradise. Only I can describe our stay as unsurpassable. I think that this type of tourism is for certain type of people who will be able to estimate the nature in all his greatness: the landscape, the service and the food form a part of the captivation of the hotel. I want to be grateful to the family that has done that our stay was an authentic luxury for our senses.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marita_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

What a pity - it probably was and potentially again could be a fantastic experience but in truth if you book on the premise of what the website promises, you will more than likely be quite disappointed like us. The resort is quite run down, the units (at least our one) are quite tardy, some broken furniture and the bathrooms need renovation. The food is poor and when you are promised breakfast and dinner you do expect an enjoyable experience - especially since you are quite isolated. On the positive side the location is great and lying out on the hammock is very relaxing and pleasant and the staff are in general friendly and helpful. However - overall the resort is not good value for money and the website and it's details are misleading, again a pity and with good management and some renovation would be a highlight of any trip to this area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytravellers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Staying at this hotel was relaxing, fun, and a bit of an adventure. Hands down the best vacation I've ever had!! Don't expect to use a hair dryer or have air conditioning or bright lights or a phone because it is an ECO-LODGE and bit of a rugged experience, so as long as you are prepared for that you will have an amazing time. Bring a good book and prepare to take it easy in a hammock! You can canoe, swim, or snorkel right off your deck. The tours are fantastic (with Alehandro the tour guide) including red frog beach, snorkeling, and the river tour. We saw sloths, skates, and alligators. Don't do the dolphin tour we didn't see any dolphins. We went surfing at red frog beach (you can rent a board in bocas town) but spent most of the time at the hotel since it is a long and pricey boat ride into town. The food at the hotel was fantastic every night! Fresh fish or meat, and freshly squeezed juice for breakfast. Bring cds they will play whatever you want during dinner. Waiter Alex was fantastic. the entire staff was very very nice and helpful. Slept like a baby with the waves lapping against our hut and the breeze coming in the open air window. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jl123123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
4.8 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
3.9 mi away
Koko Resort
Koko Resort
#4 of 22 in Isla Colon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
16.8 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge

Property: Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Address: Punta Caracol, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Colon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Caracol Acqua Hotel Isla Colon
Punta Caracol Acqua Resort
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing