We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We booked 3 nights, stayed 1...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We booked 3 nights, stayed 1...”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I don't remember leaving a hotel after just 1 night... That's exactly what we did at the Punta Caracol Acqua-Lodge.

This hotel has a sole advantage: its picturesque location. But don't make mistakes: the corals around are dead and you will do a much better snorkeling in Zapatilla.

For the rest, it is a nightmare. Despite the huge price tag (375 dollars a night), this hotel is nothing more than a bag-packer location.

The rooms are very poorly maintained. Cleanliness is put into default (we found a cockroach in the bathroom). Service is minimal (no spa, no fitness, etc.). Staff is extremely inexperienced. Food is just a disaster.

During dinner, water started to leak into the main room. A few minutes later, light was off as the genset was malfunctionning. In our plates, what had been presented as salmon proved to be a very nasty, overcooked white fish. The crepe, as a desert, was simply ridiculous.

Tours are overpriced compared to anything that you can find in Bocas town.

We had booked 3 nights and left after just 1. Punta Caracol is a place to avoid absolutely, except maybe for a quick drink.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Travelandtrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    70
    29
    26
    14
See reviews for
53
184
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel is extremely expensive relatively, but provides a dreamy vacation. Service is excellent, food is wonderful and the cabins are luxurious. Do not missout on a kayak trip. You can take them and row until the hidden cabin with hamocks waiting just around the corner. We did not use any of the offered trips and cruises, because they were very expensive, and spent our time reading and swimming.
One last warning - there is some materials that the beautiful colars below the cabin emit into the water that causes terible ithces and we returned from our vacation with red legs and arms. Beware!

Room Tip: Take a room far from the restaurant for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Punta Caracol is the ideal place for travelers looking for a top vacation spot that has the right amount of unspoiled nature to spoiled pleasure.
Because of the remote location and the privacy of the resort one can relax and enjoy the beauty that nature is.
Perfect for romantic getaway and peaceful relaxation.
The resort with it's 9 huts sits atop a Coral rife in an unspoiled island in the Caribbean. Using environment friendly practices the staff manages to create an oasis while protecting wildlife.
Take your canoe out for some snorkeling, go for a swim amongst the starfish or just sit back in your hammock at sunset and watch the dolphins go by.

This place is for people looking to relax and be one with nature my advise, leave the kids at home and come with someone you love.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLNYtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

You can't beat the location of this spot. It's beautiful and peaceful and the over water cabins are perfect for escaping the craziness of life. It's fantastic to spend the day chilling on the deck and diving off into the beautiful water. Super easy and relaxing. Unfortunately, the service is mediocre at best and the food is simply awful. Is it worth the money? Not sure - we loved our two nights/three days there and it was a unique experience, but we were glad we didn't spend our entire week there (we would have gone hungry) - we moved to another resort (Casa Cayuco) in another area of Bocas.

Room Tip: Luna Suites have bigger decks and a hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimePaul08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This unique hotel provides clean rooms, friendly staff, good food and an environment to meditate and connect with nature. The surrondings landscape are espectacular.
If you want to get away from it all, feel safe in a friendly beautiful and different experience this is the place is really paradise. For beach lovers and scuba divers the natural aquarium right by your room is amazing. The staff completes the experience with their eagerness to please in every way. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaritzaDeLaTorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencian Country, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2011

The hotel is situated in a paradise. The food (from breakfast to dinner) was excellent and the staff's very friendly and helpful. Even met the manager was very nice and funny (if you have the luck to know him ask to tell you anecdotes of when he founded the hotel, very funny).
Do not expect Western comforts, is a hotel to relax and enjoy nature. Diving at the bottom of the sea is impressive. We went as part of our honeymoon and it cost us go from there.
Truly a highly recommended place but like all good things is not cheap.
Beware that if mosquitoes are very abundant in these tropical areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciro-bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Last January I had the opportunity to know the paradise. Only I can describe our stay as unsurpassable. I think that this type of tourism is for certain type of people who will be able to estimate the nature in all his greatness: the landscape, the service and the food form a part of the captivation of the hotel. I want to be grateful to the family that has done that our stay was an authentic luxury for our senses.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marita_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
4.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
416 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
501 reviews
14.7 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 16 in Isla Bastimentos
152 reviews
3.5 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge

Property: Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Address: Punta Caracol, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Caracol Acqua Hotel Isla Colon
Punta Caracol Acqua Resort
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing