We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Fantastic place. Very romantic. You must love the one you're with 'cause that's all there is to do here. Snorkeling and kayaking are daytime options along with trips into town. We enjoyed the solitude. We needed a break from the city. The food there is fantastic. We loved our romantic dinners on the water. Not the place to go if you're looking for socializing with people other than your travel companion. It was a bit pricey but we found it to be way worth it!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thegirlonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    71
    29
    26
    14
See reviews for
54
185
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

My wife and I never wrote a travelling report, but as were reading some really bad reports we felt we should bring out some thruth, as you can see those are not critics intending to enlight future guest, what a true unjustified punishment to the Lodge. We decided to explain our experience, to those that understand that some reports look just too bitter to be reallistic.
We stayed 4 nights in march of the present year, and we had a very pleasant vacation.
We loved the place, the concept, the staff, and specially THE FOOD!! It is not a world top spot for snorkelling, but you can see fishes. The cabins are simple but confortable, and if you do not really apreciate the fact that you can jump to the caribbean sea from your terrace, then may be you are looking for something different.
If your intention is to enjoy night life, certainly you can find hotels in the urban area, but if you are looking for privacy and a secluded spot, in an outstanding natural enviroment with friendly people, this is the place. We understand that everyone has their own experience, and some just had complaints, but we just don`t buy that after many reports saying this looks like paradise, another says you are virtually sleeping in the swamp.
The room rates are not cheap, but they include meals, tranfers and hotel amenities, and the hotel provides 4 or 5 free daily trips to town, so the value afterwords is worthy. Another funny thing we just don`t get are some complaints about bottled water. We have been in dozens of hotels and we never find (or expect) this thing to be free. And the hotel provides 2 free big bottles every day at your room. We are the kind of persons that beleive that if you spend thousands of dollars just in the flight tickets, 2 dollars should not be a reason to spoil your vacation.
We made a good relationship with the friendly staff and the owners (that invite us to do watersky with them), and we never saw any other hotel so much concerned in the ecological an social aspects as this one.
We really encourage to measure carefully some critics, as we feel (just by reading the bitterness and unger) that what they say does not represent anything close to our experience.
Take the place for what it is, a nine room ower the water lodge, that has the basics in terms of technology (if you need tv or phone in the room, you wont find them here)but brings a unique experience for many of us. And by the way, they incredibly have wireless internet. Cheking your mail with a caipirinya in a hammack over the caribbean is also something!! Be cautious with some reports!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cartierParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This is not the luxury resort on the water that the room rate suggests. It's camping for the price of over $400 per night. The lodges are wet, unclean and they smell like a sewer, especially upstairs in the bed right over the toilet. It get's very hot and humid at night in the bed. The matress is soaked full of sweat.

We brought our own moskito net and lots of DEET, so we were well prepared for the insects. But I still don't understand why they can't provide a net and some pest control for this price. Of course there is no fridge, no aircon, no socket, no telephone and no nothing, as it is an ecolodge which seems to be an excuse for camping level facilities.

The food was ok, but nothing special. The staff was well meaning and friendly. The location seems great from the outside but not the inside. For $100 or $150 per night it might have been ok for it's location, but not at this price.

We left after two nights although we had paid for three. They didn't want to give us a refund for the last night. But we didn't want to stay in this swampy bed for one more night even if THEY would have paid us money for it.

To sum it up: Avoid at all cost expect when you can shell out $400 per night for camping over swampy waters full of pests.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We shelled out over Christmas to stay here because we thought it would be nice to treat ourselves to a fancy place. It was the same foam beds and smelly sheets as all the other hotels but it was like 3 times the price. You pay to be out over the water, but the reef is completely dead. Of course it's dead because someone built a hotel on. There is no beach. The thing is the place is not bad but it's not great. And it definitely is not worth the $300 asking price. The snorkeling is much better in other parts of Bocas, and if you want to explore other islands and towns they are far away. Also this is not the place to be if you want any kind of nightlife. And the drinks are very overpriced.
It is not that its terrible, it is just not good and definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver bc
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My family stayed for 2 nights at the tail end of our trip to Panama. The setting and location is certainly nice. It's also great to go snorkeling off your deck. I would rate snorkeling to be fair as there are not that many corals. But you do see enough fish to keep it interesting. The lack of air conditioning did not bother us however being bitten by unknown insects was bothersome. We had numerous itchy bites which are still itching. The management should have warned us and provided us with an repellent. The reason I'm glad we didn't stay more than 2 nights is mediocre food. I can honestly say I've had tastier meal at cheap greasy joint in Panama city. I also found paying for drinking water at dinner time ludicrous considering the price you pay for the accommodation.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mbunak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Punta Caracol is an outstanding Luxury Boutique Hotel set in paradise. Each over the water bungalow is private, well appointed and ample in space. The staff to guest ratio, ambiance, and quality of food - truly exceptional. The staff works relentlessly to ensure that you are delighted. The resort itself is intimate and exclusive, without being pretentious or stuffy. We traveled with our two young children, ages 5 and 7 - who were welcomed and embraced by the friendly and accommodating staff. Each day, we started with a gourmet breakfast made to order overlooking the ocean and stunning mountains. We snorkeled, kayaked or took boat adventures to nearby sandy beaches and natural dolphin habitat - truly stunning and memorable. We would return each afternoon to Punta Caracol, an oasis of luxury and comfort, to conclude our days with gourmet dining under the stars. The restaurant is truly the jewel of the resort, offering a tropical laid back vibe, uncompromised in quality and service. Punta Caracol is truly a magnificent experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anarecio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Prior to our trip to the Punta Caracol Aqua Lodge we had been looking at pictures posted on various websites in anticipation our stay at the lodge we nicknamed the "hut" . Needless to say once we got to the property we were more impressed by the beauty of the surrounding area and the "hut". Our meals were excellent and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The biggest decision we had on our stay was whether to layout in front of the main hut or on our hut deck. Life doesn't get any better!! A special recognition goes out to my girlfriend, the photographer, who supplied all these wonderful pictures for everyones viewing pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdsf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
4.7 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
538 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
419 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
502 reviews
14.7 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
157 reviews
3.5 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge

Property: Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Address: Punta Caracol, Isla Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Caracol Acqua Hotel Isla Colon
Punta Caracol Acqua Resort
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing