We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelente place for the right price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Limbo on the Sea Hotel
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excelente place for the right price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here only 3 nights and was an incredible experience! In order to travel to isla colon you have to take a 45min flight from panama City ($150) or take a 10hrs bus ($28) to isla Almirante. After arriving you have to take a "water taxi" to isla colon (30 min). After arriving Colon island, Limbo hotel is a couple of minutes waking. All the hotels in colon island are over the sea, so you'll have breakfast with sea view for sure! The decoration of this place was beautiful and have a GREAT indian restaurant right next to it. The breakfast is included and the service (which is REALLY RARE IN PANAMA) was great, the service is always looking to help you! Tip: apparently the hotel have 2 owners (2 brothers who split the responsabilities) the service at day is waaaay better than the one at night ( 2different stafff, 2 different owners), we had some issues with one argentinean girl at night, so! To keep in mine! The rooms are preatty simple, i asked for a rooom with sea view, just beautiful! Almost no hotel have sand (because all are over the sea!) You must take some tours to reach some sand! The NO MISS places are: First, zapatilla island! Crystal clear water! Also there is a beautiful place called Coral Cay where you can do some snoarkling. There are bunch of more beautiful places but these are the ones you'll be sorry not to visit!. Also, in the hotel some times you'll find out there is no water, Is because the guys close it to save some, just call front desk and they'll open it for you!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mariella_Garcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    32
    37
    16
    19
See reviews for
16
54
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights and our group had two rooms. Both balcony rooms, one street facing and one sea view. The sea view room is $45 more than the street view room and has a large balcony with a love seat, table and 4 chairs. The room had a double and a single bed. The room was spacious and had a mini fridge and a safe. The smoke detector was broken and hung by a wire. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet leaked water on the floor constantly. The room overall was very dated but clean although the windows and doors could have used a scrubbing. The towels were threadbare. There was plenty of hot water and the a/c worked well. The street view room was smaller with a double bed but no safe. The balcony was large and comfortable, great for people watching.
The hotel is well located and the restaurant has a lovely water view. The continental breakfast included cake, bread, jam, plastic wrapped cheese, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. The front desk staff and restaurant staff were efficient and friendly. The housekeeping staff however were either lazing on the beds chatting or in the linen room chatting. There was lots of cleaning that should have been done!

Room Tip: Would not splurge on the sea view balcony room again but would opt for the street view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caymansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is in a great location! The rooms are just okay. We had a street view with a balcony that was nice. The breakfast that is included was to open at 7:30 but several times did not begin until 8:00-8:15. There were several staff members who were very helpful and kind and several who were sour grapes. The staff could use training in customer service. After checking in and viewing the rooms I asked the receptionist if we could move to a room with a king sized bed as ours had a queen and twin bed. She said "all our beds are the same". Well, when the cleaning service was cleaning other rooms we noticed they did have king beds. I guess she just didn't want to bother.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view when you book. The street view would be the next best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I visit Bocas del Toro on a regular basis as we own property in the area, and we have stayed at most of the better hotels on Isla Colon, and Hotel El Limbo is one of our favorites, mainly because of the ideal central location and comfortable rooms. The location is great because it is right in the center of all the action in town, but literally on the ocean, with fantastic views to the surrounding islands, and easy access by boat taxi to just about anywhere you want to go, or an easy walk to all the best restaurants on the island. This is important in Bocas because unless you have your own boat, you depend on boat taxis, and finding them can be difficult at times if you are located far from the center of town. The hotel rooms are very comfortable, clean, and have everything you could possibly need. The restaurant is also very good, and the breakfasts are especially delicious, and the hotel service is very friendly too. I highly recommend El Limbo to anyone visiting Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelsantacatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baroda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The front desk isn't staffed until 9 am so you can't check out before then, no matter how desperately you need to. The other staff tried to be helpful but they didn't know how to pull together the bill or charge the credit card. We had a tour to get to at 9 am and were desperate to get going but there was no way around it.

The shower ran hot and then cold. The rooms were run down. We weren't expecting luxury but it was pretty dowdy. Restaurant staff were all so very pleasant. They were a plus.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Prudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cumbres, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Got a great deal to go to Bocas del Toro on Panamanian Holidays (very busy time of year and high season). We received air tickets, hotel and a tour for an extremely reasonable price. The hotel on the offer was Limbo on the Sea. Went to the website, beautiful picture but I knew it was a bit different. We had booked 2 double rooms. When we got the hotel (around 11:30 AM, check in was at 3:00 PM) they had no problem letting us check in early. Everyone was very friendly. My room was the only one on the ground floor, very small, but I did not plan to stay much in the room. Air conditioning temperature did not go below 26 C, which was no problem during the evening, but a little hot during the day. Once again, I did not spend much time in my room during the day, so not a problem. Two single beds, a bathroom and a TV with cable (the TV had a white spot in the middle, weird). No hot water that I can remember, but for some reason, it did not bother me. Very hot days.

One big pull is their restaurant, it's a pier type restaurant and you are sitting right next to the ocean. If the tide was high, the furthermost tables could not be used. Great view, good breeze, and totally relaxing. When it was time for our tour, they picked us up right at the hotel restaurant in a boat.

Breakfast was included and you could have omelettes (they had about 4 different kinds) or crepes. You also had bread to toast, jams, cheese, fruits, orange and mango juice, and some type of sponge cake (white and chocolate). Everything was fresh, but nothing to write home about.

We ate here for lunch twice and the sea food was excellent! We also had a caipirinha during happy hour. Not that good.

All in all, it was a very good hotel for the price we received. We saw some of the other hotels, and they all looked run down (except for some new ones).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

we stayed in one of the sea view rooms and it was just ok.the bathroom was really small with a not so nice bath mat
the room was clean but needs updating it was really nice having the sea view balcony to sit and watch the boats going by with a few beers
the hotel is in a good position so that's why the prices are high
the breakfast was ok and the staff friendly but they need a make over in the rooms
we also saw some of the maids in the rooms watching the tv when they should have been cleaning
we enjoyed our stay here but there are better places for less money.the hotel next door bocas del toro was nice but unsure how expensive
we stayed here for 3 nights but on our return we stayed elsewhere

Room Tip: sea view rooms are better but expensive for what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airmiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Colon hotels
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Limbo on the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Limbo on the Sea Hotel

Property: El Limbo on the Sea Hotel
Address: Calle 2A. Isla Colon, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Limbo on the Sea Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
El Limbo On The Sea Hotel Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing