We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is Not Reputable because....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Colon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Cayo Zapatilla
Ranked #37 of 42 Isla Colon B&B and Inns
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place is Not Reputable because....”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The only ATM at Banco Nacional is always breaking down and this hostel takes advantage of their guests and tourists by charging them 10% to get cash from their debit card from their little store. What they are doing is totally in violation of the credit card company rules and regulations and is just about as sleazy as you can get. Tourists have little choice as there is no other place to get cash and they take FULL advantage of them! I was forced to give them $20 to get $200 and have the reciept to prove it! BTW- Their cost for the transaction is about $0.30!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesGoulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    21
    5
    17
See reviews for
11
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was hoping to stay in a budget and this is definitely a good choice. The location is perfect, central from the whole island. Even though the noise level at night is pretty loud, I do not blame them, the noise comes from the streets which is something you cannot avoid. Theres hot water and it was decently clean. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone who is on a budget but can actually get some quality stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyVedara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Comparing to all hostels I've been, I found this Hostel not great but Very Good to be fair. We we're given a room almost at the back so I was wondering where is this loud noise other reviewers were saying, ours were comfortably quiet. The fully airconditioned room is a real value for $30 bucks a night and they have a working TV, some hostels don't. The room is not too spacious however not bad either, clean & so the private bathroom. Hot water is also an option. The hotel is located at the town center, just few steps from the municipal park.

Then there goes this kitchen which is the downside of the Hotel. I couldnt heat up a food I bought outside because their microwave don't work at all. I don't know why it was there anyway for nothing.

None the less, Im giving it 4stars out of 5 since my stay was comfortable enough. I would definitely be back here again.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms located at the back, to avoid noise I guess..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alta gracia . cordoba
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stood with my girlfriend for three days, good things, well located, has a supermarket downstairs, you can pay with credit card, and is the cheapest. Bad things, too hot if u don't pay the extra ten dollars for the AC, the towels are too ware out, is kinda noisy and not really private for couples if you mind about been heard

Room Tip: rooms are kinda the same everywhere in the hotel, tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatan111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Although you pay 20$ for two people on a double room, the room was cleaned with an air fan and private bathroom (hot water and clean).
Good location on the center although it can be noisy sometimes. There is a kitchen to be used, much better so far from what we have seen in other central america country (Costa rica).
Wifi was very good everywhere in the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will get less noise. Maybe it is good to pay an extra 10$ to get the Air condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popov66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The room was dirty and the fan did not work. It was so hot that we couldn't sleep. Even if it was not hot, we wouldn't have slept anyway because it was so loud ALL night long. We could have dealt with these problems because the price was very cheap; however, the lady at the front desk was in cahoots with a young man who told us he would take us on a snorkeling tour the next day. He told us to pay him 1/2 upfront and to meet him the next morning at 9 am. He never showed up. I asked the front office lady where he was , and she at first acted as if she did not know what i was talking about and then finally said the young man was coming at 9:30. He never showed up and we were out about 25$. I do not recommend this place at all! It is not tourist friendly, the owners are con artists and the place is dirty and loud. There are many other nice and affordable places in Bocas. There is no point supporting this place with your business!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Colon hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed one night at the Zapatilla Hostel because we didn't find anything else the first day in Bocas del Toro town.
The room smelled like chlorine which was good because it did not look really clean. The fan in the middle of the room was missing its case and was therefore kind of dangerous, the pillows smelled really bad and the kitchen was the dirtiest I have ever seen.
But the worst thing was that it was so loud that we hardly slept at all. Doors were slammed all night long and we heard people screaming.
I would definitely not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auringonkukka512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Colon hotels
0.1 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bocas Town
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#13 of 13 in Bocas Town
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#11 of 20 in Isla Colon
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cayo Zapatilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cayo Zapatilla

Property: Hotel Cayo Zapatilla
Address: 3rd Street, diagonal to the Simon Bolivar Park, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Colon
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Hotel Cayo Zapatilla Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing