We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have loved it in my 20's”
Review of Hotel Casa Max

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Max
Ranked #20 of 42 Isla Colon B&B and Inns
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would have loved it in my 20's”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Reasonably cheap place, and you get what you pay for. Room was OK, beds were horrible. we stayed in a triple (1 double, 1 single). Our double was poking with springs and loud. No hot water, which we didn't realize until after... you want hot water after spending time in the beautiful water in the area. Finally, it was REALLY loud at the bar next door. playing cheesy american dance music all night. we were tired enough that it was ok... but later found similarly priced hostels/hotels with hot water and possibly more quiet. So that bummed us out. The only staff member (it was the rainy season afterall) didn't speak much english, so we couldn't enlist her help for recommendations as far as attractions and restaurants. she just sat there. she did give us towels for the beach so that was a plus. if i went back to Bocas (which i would!), i will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: it might be quieter in a room not near the street... we were in room 4 (1st deck, next to bar).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    38
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
3
34
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The rooms are adequate but the bar across the street is VERY loud. Bring ear plugs if you stay here. Also the ventilation is not great and no AC so it is hot. But it is clean and the beds are fine. They do have ceiling fans.

Room Tip: rooms in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The owner was very friendly and helpful and the guests at the hotel were nice as well. The room had high ceilings and was brightly painted with colorful linens. It was clean enough. There were good vibes all around. The major downside is the loud hostel bar across the street that plays club bangers into the night. There may be rooms in the hotel that are less affected by the noise. It is tolerable for a night or two but I wouldn´t recommend staying here if you are after a quiet retreat.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaneGrunenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights. the location is great as it's not on the main street, so it's quiet. The food at the restaurant is good and reasonably priced. Shirley was helpful in recommending things to do and places to stay. She even made phone calls for me so I could change other reservations. I paid for a room with AC, but it wasn't really needed. The rooms were clean and well kept. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This place is a good option for Bocas if you don't want to stay in a busy, noisy hostel, but you don't want the high prices of a hotel.

It's a mid range hotel, in a quieter part of town and only a 2 min walk to the bustling main street. The rooms are clean and airy, the beds are fantastic and the showers are good. Overall a good choice. There's no kitchen to prepare food like you would find in a hostel, but there is a social area to hang out and meet other people.

They also have a restaurant on site that does Indonesian food which is great if you're sick of rice and beans or burgers and fries.

The only thing would be the walls are quiet thin so you can sometimes hear the people in the room next to you. As the hotel doesn't attract a party crowd, or attracts a crowd who prefer to party away from where they live, it's not a big deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hampton Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A place that grew on us...when we first checked in we weren't knocked off our feet for the $38.50/night we were paying. But we enjoyed our private balcony, bright yellow walled room and its location slightly away from the main bustle. Bathrooms could really use some maintainance or a redo. Friendly service overall.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGrunkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The owner of Hostel Mamallena in Boquete advised us to go to Hotel Casa Max on Isla Colon. We stayed there for 5 nights and had a great stay there. Because the hotel is located just off the main street of Bocas, all the fun is a very short walk away but there's no noticeable noise during the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RutgerB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
0.1 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 47 in Isla Colon
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Max

Property: Hotel Casa Max
Address: Avenida G Norte | Bocas del Toro, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our place in the Caribbean, Hotel Casa Max A family hotel run by Arie & Shirley coming from the Netherlands. Located near the heart of Bocas town, in the centre of Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro. Offers charming private rooms in a modern redesigned two story wooden building. Some rooms on the 2nd floor have a private balcony. There is free wifi in public areas and the rooms include internet smart TV. We have a restaurant on the ground floor that offers an international menu, Breakfast from 8 to 11 am and Dinner from 4 to 9 pm. Feel free to ask us for suggestions on activities to keep you entertained. Visit Bocas del Toro, stay at Hotel Casa Max!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Max Hotel Isla Colon
Hotel Casa Max Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing