We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud and No Water” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Colon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Daytona Beach, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loud and No Water”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

The hotel sits at a Y in the road, so every time a car goes by they honk their horn rather then slowing down or stopping at the Y. The walls are very thin so everytime someone walks past your room it is very loud and there are two small kids that live there and scream often. The hotel also sits on the water, if the club down the way is open they play the music sooooo loud it sounds like the club is outside your room. AND DON'T expect to have water. We stayed 4 nights, 3 of those nights we never has running water..... The pancakes were good when the owner was there to cook, two of the mornings there was noone there to cook at the resturant.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Resort_Trainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRumbaNewAdmin, Gerente at Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach, responded to this review, 17 November 2010
Dear customer, first of all I would like to extend

my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced

at The Hotel La Rumba, the hotel is now under new

administration and we are working very hard to make

it a great place to stay, we now have huge water

tanks to compensate the deficiency of water, theres

no kids on the place to worry about, the bridge that

conects the hotel with the share bathroom was fixed

and stylized, we will be building a wood fence to

avoid the noice of the cars on the road and we will

do the best to assist you, please contact us

directly if you have any further question.

Have a wonderful day.

Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft. louderdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

I found this hotel a great place to stay, with a really cool hosts. I stayed at La Rumba for a week and I have an awesome time, I got one of the shared room with a shared bath for $10.00 per night.
I am a surfer and love traveling for surfing adventures and Bocas del Toro is a fun place for it, I walked to the surf break (pounch) and sometimes I ride up there on a bike that I rented in town, the ride is Unique, but also you can get a taxi to pounch or a water taxi to Carenero Island where there is some other surf spots, the staff will help you with the taxis if you request it.
I suggest this place for the ones that love to hang out close to the beach, nature & surf; this area is very nice compared to staying in town and close enough to it that you can go to town at anytime taxis $1.00 (@ night taxi runs until 4am.)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

It looks ok on the website, but our experience was terrible. We were promised a private room but had to end up sharing our room with 4 other people. Bathroom was outside, service was too informal, credit cards were not accepted even though they claimed to accept them as form of payment. Beds are rather uncomfortable, hotel staff talk loudly outside of the rooms and the owners have a dog that barks all night long. Owners don't really care about service (we waited 20 minutes at the restaurant for the waiter to free up, while both owners sat and watched without moving a single finger). Food was subpar at best, most guests were surfers.
Hotel is 5 minutes from the town, BY CAR. Cabs are sometimes scarce, and walking is not really an option (40 minute walk -3.5 kilometers on a poorly paved road with scorching heat).
Would not come back, would not recommend it.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Poor service, bad location.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank quebad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRumbaNewAdmin, Gerente at Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Dear customer, first of all I would like to exent my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced at The Hotel La Rumba, the hotel is now under new administration and we are working very hard to make it a great place to stay, we now have huge water tanks to compensate the deficiency of water, theres no kids on the place to worry about, the bridge was fixed and stylized, we will be building a wood fence to avoid the noice of the cars on the road and we will do the best to assist you, please contact us directly if you have any further question.

Have a wonderful day.

Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa rica
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2007

We saw this place on a local map, and it looked charming but it turned out to be a 10 cab ride from the town.
It also appears to be on the beach, well theres a road between the beach and the hotel. The beach in front is dirty and contains brackish water so swimming isnt really on. All of this wasnt the end of the world.
When we arrived tired after a 10 hour hike from San Jose, we couldnt find anybody to check us in, except the chef! We speak Spanish so at least we could comunicate, but he told us the boss would come shortly, about 15 mins later, while hanging around in the bar the owners wife appears.
What we did get when we finaly found her was ¨heres the keys now be gone¨ sort of response, utterly unhelpful, and over the next 3 days we never saw her again. For a small hotel this aint good enough, we had to find the room, we still dont know if breakfast was included!
The place was cleanish, but in decline persumably as the hotel is for sale. The rooms are simple, garden could do with some work though, and if there was another distributer of furniture other than the cane made stuff found all over Bocas hed make a fortune!
We moved on to Hotelito, very friendly very helpful, clean, and central.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank costachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRumbaNewAdmin, Gerente at Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Dear customer, first of all I would like to exent my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced at The Hotel La Rumba, the hotel is now under new administration and we are working very hard to make it a great place to stay, we now have huge water tanks to compensate the deficiency of water, theres no kids on the place to worry about, the bridge was fixed and stylized, we are building a wood fence to avoid the noice of the cars on the road and we will do the best to assist you, please contact us directly if you have any further question or if you need any assistance.
Thank you in advance and have a wonderful day.

Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2005

My husband and I (age 27) recently stayed at La Rumba in Bocas. We really enjoyed the hotel and got the best room in the house w/ac and double bed for $50 a night. The hotel is new and opened in Feb '05. The owners are a wonderful couple, the husband from Colorado and wife from Panama. If you are looking for something cheaper they have a hostel style room in back with bunkbeds or you can get a room w/o ac.

The room was clean and nice and we had a great view of the water. The owners and the bartender/chef Paulo from Italy were all very gracious and accomodating. The food was great, make sure to try the pizzas and eat b-fast there.

La Rumba is a little bit outside of Bocas "downtown". We took taxis in and out of town. $1 per person each way. I preferred staying out of town though because the water that is in front of Bocas "downtown" is beautiful from far away but there is a layer of oil on top from all the boats. It's really easy to hail down a taxi at any time of the day. There is also a bus that runs every hour that is $.50 each way.

Places to eat and drink: Stop by the Big Bamboo. The manager Chris from NY is great! The shipwreck bar is cool right on the water. If you are there on a Monday take a water taxi to Bastimientos for Blue Mondays. Get some reggae and some $.60 beers. Food: We ate at the pricey El Pecado (very excellent thai food). We also ate at the El Limbo Hotel and enjoyed dinner there very much.

Things to do: Take the all day snorkeling trip! Visit Red Frog Beach! Take the bus to El Drago beach. Relax!

Helpful?
12 Thank CaliBoBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Colon hotels
0.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#6 of 22 in Isla Colon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach

Property: Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach
Address: | Isla Colon, Isla Colon 507, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hotel La Rumba, Costa Azul Beach Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing