We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Without words!!!”

Bastimentos National Park
Ranked #12 of 35 things to do in Isla Colon
Attraction details
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Without words!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

they charge us for this tour, we went in a small boat to this place, there was nothing! Our tour guide told us to see "IF" we get to see somethin around FROM THE BOAT. shame to ask for money for this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank klytsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    25
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
David, Panama
Level Contributor
211 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“UNSPOILED SCENERY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

This are is huge, and you must go with an experienced captain or I think you could get lost!!

There is I think only one or two restaurants you can stop at and they are a MUST. You sit on the docks, and wait for someone to finish eating so they can spill their leftovers into the water and the most beautiful fish come and eat it all up in seconds!!

Colorful parrot fish are my favorites and here, they are larger than normal and have neon colors that glow!!

If you go out of the protected waters into the ocean to visit the beaches out there, I would suggest you insist the captain take oars, since it appears to me if your engine conks out, and you have no radio or oars, you are going to drift and drift and drift.... and that is not safe for your family....

Enjoy your selves!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tarzantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“You would be a fool to miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

An island well worth visiting, for 2 days at minimum, with plenty to do and few tourists. A very natural ‘town’ with nice people/children, with a great laid back Caribbean vibe. Red frog beach is very nice - big waves, but not as dangerous as some people make out - there was little if any undertow (rip tide) I could feel, but clearly if you can’t swim it is not a good idea to go too far in.
Best of all was as visit to½ day excursion to Nivida Cave. A beautiful 15min boat ride through the National Marine Park, you then enter the small estuary of river Bahia Honda, slowly negotiating a mangrove channel for another 15 minutes, possibly seeing birds, iguanas, sloths, monkeys, red frogs, and even caiman maybe? Then a short walk through the jungle leads to the entrance of the cave. You are equipped with hard hat, headlamps and a guide. The entrance area is dry and full of bats. The hundreds of bats on the ceiling make it a impressive sight. Further in the cave it becomes a typical river cave, with occasional crickets and spiders. Obviously you also see many stalagmites, stalactites and flowstones. The water is warm, but some sections it can come up to your neck, and the ceiling lowers almost to the water level occasionally – so it’s not for the faint hearted and best to wear a swimsuit with trainers. There are 2 arms to the cave I think, and at the end of one is a waterfall/spring that is the source of the stream, with a natural pool. You will probably spend about an hour in the cave itself. So it’s not an expensive , coloured, fairy light lit up European (western) cave with concrete walkways - this is the real thing, without any danger – therefore great fun. Cost about $30. As far as I know this is the longest cave of Panama
Unfortunately we did not get to Wizard beach, which others said it was well worth seeing.

Nearby bird island is great, star beach disappointing and the snorkelling poor. We would have kayaked round the small islands if we had had time….but.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Tessaanddennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Island for surfing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is a 3rd world island with the bare basics. If you are into surfing, diving, sailing or boating it is a good location to visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dareemccay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Amazing Red Frog Beach with sand bar so you could walk out and body surf. Great little bar at the Palamar. $3 rum punch-Wow!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank frankie644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bastimentos National Park also viewed

Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
Isla Bastimentos, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to Bastimentos National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing