We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Remote...stay on the main island of Bocas instead”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Marlin Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla Colon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Marlin Resort
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Isla Colon
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too Remote...stay on the main island of Bocas instead”
Reviewed 21 November 2008

What can I say about the Blue Marlin. Maybe it was the time of year we chose to go there. We arrived on Bocas and took a water taxi to Blue Marlin at 8:00 a.m. We were supposed to be picked up at the airport by Yessica who it turned out was on the SAME flight we were on yet made no effort to try and locate us and transport us to the island. We walked the 3 or 4 blocks from the airport to town, found a water taxi and made our way to Carenero. We were met by George, Yessica's husband, who was friendly enough but was in trouble with his wife because the rooms were not made up for us. We waited in the bar area while Yessica cleaned the room for us, all the while being bitten by the sand fleas or no seeums. George did give us some spray concoction he had which helped. After we were shown to our room, which was modest at best, we put our bags away and took a walk up the beach area toward what we thought was a town. We discovered that there were no roads at all on the island and that all transport was by water taxi or walking, and told to not take the path that cuts across the island through the indians village because they had dogs that would attack us. Needless to say we decided that this was not the place for us to spend our 5 days and took a water taxi into Bocas town to try and l find a place to stay. We ran upon Hotel del Mar which had several rooms. We selected a second floor room with balcony overlooking the water from across the street. It was very nice, clean and they had tv service and breakfast. Blue Marlin was very basic. The bed was okay but we only had ONE lightbulb in the bedroom area, no lamps by the bed to read by (we knew there was no tv) but thought we would be able to at least read at night. The bathroom had only one light bulb as the others were burned out. We asked about that but they were never replaced. There is not much to do on this island and the best place to stay by far would have been Dona Mara down the beach. We had some food there and the people running it were very nice. Sometimes when planning a trip using the internet you make a mistake. Blue Marlin may be good for some travelers but not us. It is way too remote, buggy, no amenities in the room and just plain nothing to do. Stay on the main island of Colon in Bocas town. We highly recommend the hotel del mar. It's reasonable and nice. Maybe it's our age showing that Blue Marlin didn't suit us. Just beware if you stay here. We even thought about the Buccaneer next door but when walknig the beach did not see a single traveler staying there either.

  • Liked — Not really much. The bed was okay. THat is about it
  • Disliked — Location. Way too remote. Nothing to do.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank clwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

I can only say good things about the Blue Marlin. We stayed only 2 nites and wished it would have been more.
The Blue Marlin is small and very private. The owners are so warm to welcome and help with anything that you could possibly need on your stay. .."Thank you George and Yessaca"
The Pickeled Parrot has some really great food and drinks located in a fantastic setting out on the water.

As I said at the start, This is just the right place to enjoy a vacation.

  • Liked — On the beach
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mrfuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

My husband, myself and our 11 year old daughter stayed here and had a great time. We had been staying at a place down the beach which costed us twice as much. We literally stumbled onto this place and stayed. The food was awesome we loved the Thai Soup and whole snapper cooked in garlic butter, YUM! We were going to have dinner on the main island but decided to stay in at the Pickled Parrot and have the soup again and of course several more of George's special Jimmy Buffet Margaritas. Yeah, the bugs were bad but "Hello " we were in the Caribbean surrounded by mangroves, the bugs are bad all over the Bocas Islands even at a 5-star expensive resorts. We just brought our super backwoods bugspray and didn't complain. Swimming in that warm beautiful Caribbean water was well worth every bite. I highly recommend this resort for families it is quiet and has good safe swimming and kayaks for use. We stayed in a room with a king bed in a separate bedroom and then a single bed in the living area. They have an additional room which attaches to this for a bigger family.

  • Liked — food and drinks
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marycloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

Our family of 5 (with kids aged 9,6 and 3) stayed March 2007 (with 3 kids it is tough to get these reviews done). Bocas is an awesome area with tons to do. George and Yessica know lots about the area and can point you to tours, etc.
For the price, definitely above average accommodations. large 2-room 'suite' for lack of a better description. Plenty of room for our family. Noise from the family above was minimal, though the common wall with the other downstairs apartment was a bit thin-wear yourself out having fun during the day and you'll have no problem sleeping.
The Pickled Parrot was great for the price, the beer and sodas were always cold and the owners have great stories to share. A testament to the food is the fact that our 6-year old ordered the same thing every night-seafood green curry-prepared very well with the fresh seafood delivered that day-yes-a boat pulls up and the chef gets his pick of fish caught just hours before.
The beach area had chitras/sand fleas, but mild when we were there (light compared to many other places I have been in CA). Using the kayaks and snorkeling around a small reef a kayak ride away were good times (not great snorkeling, but fun adventures).
The kids living nearby were quick to make friends with our kids, play baseball, play in the water, etc. The real metric is whether we would go back again-if we were going to stay in either Bocas Town or on Isla Carneros, definitely, but I think if we went back to the Bocas area we would also try a different island to do somehting different.l

  • Liked — The pickled Parrot Restaurant
  • Disliked — The Sand Fleas
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoulderTravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

Not sure where many of the previous reviewers stayed but I have to say I don;t agree with all the rave reviews. There are two apts under the family floor above. The apts are older with a very moldy bathroom and the apt is very musty. The view is gorgeous but that is the norm in this area. The nearby beach is OK, lots of bugs we couldnt; sit for long and it was a small beach. Isla carneros is right across from bocas and has LOTS of bugs, lots of no see ums and mosquitos- i would not stay on this island again. We got really attacked by the bugs. The pickled parrot is a great place to hang and have some drinks and the food is really mediocre. Some times there was no one around to call us a water taxi and that is when my cell phone came in handy. You are stuck if there is no one around esp early in the am before the bar opens. The owners of the this business are friendly but this is a really hit or miss type of place. If you really need something good luck getting it! Bocas is a 2 min water taxi ride away and I have to say that this part of panama is stunning but I would NOT go back to the Blue Marline "Resort". I have traveled all over the world and I am not expecting a lot more as it is inexpensive but I believe they don;t represent themselves well by the website nor do these reviews do it. I have to say I was shocked to see this place was ranked so high on tripadvisor which I trust after seeing all the other nicer places to stay.
Overall this place is way overrated and would not recommend to stay there but would recc;d to go to the pickled parrot for a delicious pina colada!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bostontraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2008

I just return from staying at the Blue Marlin last week....a few "corrections" need to be made to these reviews. First, Bocas is beautiful and my friends and I had the time of our lives, but: the Blue Marlin is someone's house and is like staying with a family....it is NOT a resort...Every morning I could hear the babies upstairs....the bugs and bites on Carneros are bad, very bad.... the room was clean but very musty and there was mold in the bathroom, which didn't smell that great... the towels were old and stained...the sink in the front room was clogged...the Pickled Parrot does have awesome pina coladas and everyone was very very nice, just know what you are getting yourself into when you stay there...it isn't a resort, it's someone's house. We enjoyed staying outside of Bocas Town, but we did see comparable hotels in town which were cleaner and a lot newer. I would ABSOLUTELY go back for a drink, but will pass up staying there another night

  • Liked — the view and off the beaten track
  • Disliked — room was musty and old
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotraveler214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Key's
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2007

What a Great Time!
I stayed at the Blue Marlin Resort.The room was great.It had a Large bathroom with hot water. The air conditioner froze my #@# off. The bedroom had a king size bed. and the front room had a day bed and a wet bar. The view from the front room is fantastic.The resort is a stones throw from one of the finest beaches in the area.
The Pickled parrot! What a blast!
George and Yessica really know how to show you a good time.
The food is excellent and reasonably priced. The burgers are HUGE. The beer is Ice cold and if you ask, you can have a frosty mug to go with it. The Margeritas are made with fresh lime juice and are the best in Bocas.
The view is also the best in Bocas. the bar affords views of Hospital point and Old Bank on Bastimentos and views of the open ocean. There is almost always a nice breeze to keep you cool. So you can just sit back have a drink and watch the banana boats come in.

If you're lucky you might even get to see "G"TV!

  • Liked — The room is actually a suite with a wet bar.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Islander46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
0.5 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
409 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
71 reviews
3.2 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Resort

Property: Blue Marlin Resort
Address: Isla Carenero, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing