We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”
Review of Koko Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koko Resort
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My friend and I spent 3 nights at Koko Resort. We loved our cabin, which was comfortable, had a refrigerator, and AC. The owners are really helpful. Breakfast was great. It was good to be away from the noise of the town. Loved hanging out on the dock to see the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportyjo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    69
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
72
151
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We had the pleisure to stay in one of the waterfront cabins from the 4th to the 8th of April. Confortable and cute! It is true though that the first night we did not sleep much because of the wind and the sound of the waves (just not used to it) but I will certainly not say that it was a problem... we adapted ourselves in no time and have greatly appreciated every minute of our exeperience there. The location is great, the breakfast is good (fun to see Jack preparing it for the guests). Jack and Lee are very helpful and friendly. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Well i want say i had very nice time there , i loved the cute cabins and the View , I have 18 years in turist because is my work and is very nice found place like it , exist many place very nice is true with expensive things and luxury , but i like humble and freindly place to stay , Jack and Lee was , and the friendly neighbors around they are very humble people , cute kids run around playing , I will back i m sure , Thanks for my wonderful breakfast and your atention with me and my husband regards . Yorleny :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorlenyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Bocas Town is a noisy beach town full of bars, beach/surf shops, and young folks. We wanted to be there as a jumping off point for nearby beaches and snorkeling but we didn't want to be listening to reggae and drunks at 3 AM. Koko Resort was in the sweet spot - close enough to town for convience but far enough away for rest and relaxation.

The cabins sit on the water of a small bay with an excellent view of sunset and the distant mainland mountains. The cabins were spacious and comfortable with a full kitchen. They're not luxury accomodations, but they're clean and well-kept and that's what we wanted - just a comfortable home base for three days of water-based activities at the end of a 2 week trip through much of Panama by car.

The property is operated by the owners of the Bahia Resort, just 2 doors down the waterfront path. An excellent breakfast was served there every morning. The hosts are American retirees and they'll bend over backward to help you out in any way they can. They know the local area well and can quickly arrange tours, boats, taxis, or just point you to the right beach for you. I didn't feel like a customer - more like a long-lost friend who was staying a few days while passing through.

Pay attention to the statement on their web site about the location and its proximity to the real Panama. The property is not one of dozens on some secluded beach with nothing but hotels, B&Bs, and houses rented to foreigners. The waterfront properties are mixed bag of B&Bs, rental houses, and private residences of both locals and expatriates. Behind the waterfront is a crowded section of houses occupied entirely by locals. It's the third world by U.S. standards, though it felt perfectly safe to me as I walked through it to and from the nearby market after dark. I only point out the location for the benefit of those not used to rubbing elbows with locals and living in or next to their dwellings. If you're looking for a touristy resort far removed from the realities of the host country then this isn't the place for you. If you want a reasonably priced home away from home and the opportunity to feel as if you've actually visited Panama (not just its tourist spots) then Koko Resort is for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_a_Dad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
day, calif.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The previous comments are more or less in line with our limited experience. depending on your perspective, it's nice, but it has it's limits. The accomodations were clean, well maintained, and the kitchen was functional. The place does have its charms, but the surroundings are, by Central American standards, ordinary. The only real problem was very loud music from a place maybe 50 or 100 yards down the waterfront. We would be fine with the place if not for the extremely intrusive music. If the place next door calms down, we'd recommend Kokos, but for now we would recommend asking about it before booking. Ironically, we'd booked into Koko to avoid the busy-ness of the downtown scene.

Upon arrival in the late afternoon on a Sunday for a 1 night layover in Bocas town, the music was very, very loud. No, you don't understand: Loud. Pounding. Inescapable. Very, very loud. Central America can be a noisy, raucus place, but this was far beyond anything we have heard in any residential area we have visited anywhere. The sound did not stop between our arrival and when we went out for dinner. We went into town about 7-ish, and while walking back to Koko at 10:30, we could hear if from literally nearly a half mile away. It finally, mercifully, shut down at midnight, as if on schedule. Lee at Koko's informed us the next day that the source was an "Indian bar" that had recently opened, and that it was only open on weekends. She noted that the bar had little to offer except the stereo and "lots and lots of beer." If that remains to be the case, we cannot recommend Kokos on Thurs. through Sunday. If this local spot has flamed out in the past few weeks, or if the neighbors got tired of it and did something, please let others know. But ask before booking if the place is still operating. If not for the noise, we could recommend Koko Resort.

Oh, and keep in mind that the water may not be 100% safe to swim in due to septic discharge into the sea from houses down the way.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chartreuse_shrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosstone, Owner at Koko Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Unfortunately we can not control the music and being a small island sounds travels easily. Normally the bars only are open and loud on special occasions and are closed many weekends it just depends on the holiday and whats going on. We are very lucky because in town the bars stay open till 5 or 6am and in our community almost always close before midnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Ko Ko resort as well as Bahia Del Sol, both the owners jack and Lee are amazing. This was our first trip to panama and going to bocas was a must. First off, I believe they are one of the only guest houses that respond to your emails asap as well as accept visa.
We were greeted by Jack at the airport and got a tour of the town on the way to Ko Ko. Our cabin was literally on the ocean, so beautiful and had everything you could possibly need. Jack is hilarious and full of humour and lee is kind and there to answer any question you may have. The restuarants they recommend are amazing (my fav el ultiom refugio) The breakfast jack makes in the morning is the best i have ever had at any place ive stayed over my many years of traveling all over the world. he fills that belly and every morning there is something new to try. My boyfriend and I loved the fact that the guest house was not on the main drag, heck its only a .50 cent cab ride if you dont feel like walking.
It was my birthday on one of our days there and jack and lee had made me an amazing, chocolate cake. It was very sweet and I am still smiling when i think of what givers and kind people they are.
When I return in the future there will be no question where I will be staying.
Thank you jack and Lee for making my 30th birthday wonderfull.
See you again,
ali and cam

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passionistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed four nights at Koko Resort and had a wonderful time. Koko Resort offers a unique setting over the water, away from town, but conveniently close to town. There is nothing quite like relaxing in a hammock while watching fish under the dock and feeling the oceam breezes. Lee and Jack were fantastic hosts. They provided great advice, arranged for tours, and cooked a tasty breakfast every day. The walk into town takes about 15 minutes, but taxis were always available, and cheap. With a neighborhood consisting of mainly locals, we felt that we had a true cultural experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
0.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
3.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
303 reviews
4.5 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koko Resort

Property: Koko Resort
Address: Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a picture postcard. Cabins built over the water of a beautiful bay. Various size houses. Steps from the beach. 5 Minutes to town. Fantastic sunsets from the dock and lit up fish viewing at night. Full kitchens, AC, fans, maid and laundry service. Full time security, Safety boxes in rooms. Wireless Internet. Kayaks, bikes, snorkel masks free. Grocery delivery. We speak English and Spanish and will help you with arrangements for a perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koko Hotel Isla Colon
Koko Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing