We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place in Bocastown, for sure!”
Review of Koko Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koko Resort
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Bocastown, for sure!”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

What a great place! I don't know quite how to review KoKo, but suffice to say I love the place! The cabins are perfect- roomy but quaint, with a kitchen, large bathroom and dining area, plus the porch and the dock. I can't say enough good things about the cabins. The ocean breeze is nice, although on a still, hot afternoon, the cabin can get warm; thank goodness for A/C (my one minor complaint- the A/C is slightly underpowered and the large bed is upstairs in the hotter part of the cabin). Jack's breakfasts are great, and he doesn't mind getting up a bit early if you're flying out on the 8am plane. The price isn't the lowest around, but it's worth the slight splurge and still cheaper than a lot of vacation stays. Don't miss staying here if you're coming to Bocastown!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandsunsurf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    69
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
72
151
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We recently made our first trip to Panama and stayed at KoKo Resort in Bocas Town. We caught a hop on Nature Air from San Jose, Costa Rica to Bocas de Toro for four days, and it ended up being a highlight of our trip.

We stayed in the Starfish cabin, and never really wanted to leave! The cabin was bright, clean, and a little rustic - perfect. There was a daybed downstairs which was perfect for afternoon naps. The deck on the water was great, and every single window from upstairs and down could be opened wide for great breezes and views. Jack and Leigh were excellent hosts - they shared tales about life in Bocas, made delicious breakfasts, and made good recommendations for sights to see, places to visit , restaurants, and helpful local travel advice.

KoKo Resort is not really a "resort" - it's set in a quiet 'hood outside of town, and the local neighbors and kids run around, cook, play music (sometimes loud), and live life. We actually enjoyed this, and found the neighbors to be friendly and willing to help with our poor Spanish.

We read the recommendation posted on KoKo's website before we booked about what kind of traveler might and might not enjoy KoKo Resort, and felt it was a great guideline. If you're expecting a manicured resort, A/C, and a high line place, KoKo isn't for you. But if you want a laid back place in a chill Caribbean town with fun, friendly hosts, and like interesting local places in a town that's a little crusty around the edges, this place is it. We felt safe, breakfasts were delicious, and we will definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Email ahead of stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Friends and I stayed at Koko Resort for several days in April, and had a great experience. We stayed in the Island Suite, which was quite comfortable. The location was great (within walking distance of town but not right in the center of hubbub). Jack and Lee were fantastic hosts-- they provided delicious breakfasts, laundry and fresh beach towels, and lots and lots of help with arrangements for outings, as well as advice about where to go and what to do. I would highly recommend staying with them if you're headed to Bocas!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alphabetavenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I'm checking this out for my business, Going Native Adventures. Jack and Lee are very nice people, extremely accomodating, provide excellent breakfast and are helpful to the max. Our rooms...Island Suite... was remniscent of a 40's or 50's Louisiana Bayou House or an older New Orleans French Quarter apartment. It was comfortable with a/c and plenty of hot water. The water is fine for bathing but not suitable for drinking.The bay shore was sort of visible under the trees on the other side of the sidewalk in front of our building but overpowered by the neighbor blowing an airhorn for celebration of the Bocas baseball game plays. The neighborhood is squalid but in honesty, Jack and Lee emphasize the "local" surroundings situation to prospective guests. It's hard to imagine unless third world conditions are part of your norm. I live in Costa Rica and even though I find lower income Latins to be nonchalant where trash and sanitation are concerned, this was a bit much. You can't throw a diamond in a pigsty and expect much admiration from casual observers. The bed was fine. Lee did our laundry. Without the noisy neighbors the sleep quality would have been excellent. The food (breakfast only) was admirable. Jack is a cut-up and Lee is as sweet as they come. I personally liked the experience. If Bocas was that appealing to me, I might stay here again. For my clients, I'd have to suggest other options, unfortunately. I visted several hotels along the bay on the shore behind us that were better options for most travelers. I must admit that for me, it was a pleasant, if different, experience. I hate not being able to say more of a positive nature based upon the efforts of Jack and Lee and the time and money they have apparently spent trying to provide worthwhile lodgings for their guests. I think that for those who are prepared to accept the conditions of the neighborhood, this is an interesting experience in third world culture.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My friend and I spent 3 nights at Koko Resort. We loved our cabin, which was comfortable, had a refrigerator, and AC. The owners are really helpful. Breakfast was great. It was good to be away from the noise of the town. Loved hanging out on the dock to see the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportyjo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We had the pleisure to stay in one of the waterfront cabins from the 4th to the 8th of April. Confortable and cute! It is true though that the first night we did not sleep much because of the wind and the sound of the waves (just not used to it) but I will certainly not say that it was a problem... we adapted ourselves in no time and have greatly appreciated every minute of our exeperience there. The location is great, the breakfast is good (fun to see Jack preparing it for the guests). Jack and Lee are very helpful and friendly. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Well i want say i had very nice time there , i loved the cute cabins and the View , I have 18 years in turist because is my work and is very nice found place like it , exist many place very nice is true with expensive things and luxury , but i like humble and freindly place to stay , Jack and Lee was , and the friendly neighbors around they are very humble people , cute kids run around playing , I will back i m sure , Thanks for my wonderful breakfast and your atention with me and my husband regards . Yorleny :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorlenyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
0.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
529 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
134 reviews
3.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
303 reviews
4.5 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koko Resort

Property: Koko Resort
Address: Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a picture postcard. Cabins built over the water of a beautiful bay. Various size houses. Steps from the beach. 5 Minutes to town. Fantastic sunsets from the dock and lit up fish viewing at night. Full kitchens, AC, fans, maid and laundry service. Full time security, Safety boxes in rooms. Wireless Internet. Kayaks, bikes, snorkel masks free. Grocery delivery. We speak English and Spanish and will help you with arrangements for a perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koko Hotel Isla Colon
Koko Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing