We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koko Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotelito Del Mar(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Palma Royale(Bocas Town)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Selina Bocas del Toro(Isla Colon)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$23
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel la Terraza(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Don Chicho(Bocas Town)
US$50
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bocas Inn(Bocas Town)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
219
69
21
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
69
21
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjack leesaigon bayevery morningjack makesthese cabinsretired couplethird worldon stiltsboat tourin townlocal culturepanama citythe air conditioninglaid backbreakfasts were greatfully equipped kitchenevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2010

One of the loveliest places I have stayed, bright yellow cabins on stilts over the water, each with its own shady deck and hammock looking out over a bay. Cabins are spotless with kitchen and bathroom downstairs, bedroom upstairs, not fancy but everything we needed and just perfect for the setting. Cabins do have air conditioning but it was nice just to throw open the windows and let the sea breeze blow through, one night we lay awake watching sheets of lightning light up the sky and listening to the thunder crashing and torrential rain hammering on the tin roof, quite a treat coming from California . There were occasional interruptions in water supply while we were there but they sorted them out as soon as they could so it was never really a problem.

The shared dock is a great spot to share a drink with other guests and watch a spectacular sunset. Underneath are bright sponges, starfish and lots of tiny fish and invertebrates, really nice for snorkelling. There are also a couple of kayaks available for exploring the bay, you get great views of the shoreline if you just paddle out a bit. Amazingly we didn’t encounter a single mosquito, apparently due to a large bat colony on the island..

The cabins are located a down an unlikely looking side street a 15 minute stroll or 50 cent taxi ride out of the centre of town. They are managed by Jack and Lee who live in the house next door and provide delicious hearty breakfasts, excellent local advice and lively conversation.

There is plenty to do around Bocas but it was hard to stay away for long from such an idyllic spot, we were only there for 4 nights but we would have loved to stay longer and can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llfm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My husband and I stayed for four nights and we really had a great time at Koko Resort.
The cabanas over the sea are just amazing, gorgeous view of the bay, big kitchen for cooking, comfortable bed, everything what you need for a good holiday.
The hosts, Jack and Lee are very nice and friendly people. You ask them and you will receive suggestions for the best restaurants in town and arrangements for great tours in the islands.
But the best, it´s Jack´s breakfast is really to die for, my favourite his homemade pancakes with tropical fruits.
Thank you Jack and Lee for your hospitality and we´ll see us next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belssie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I spent much time looking at not only 'islands' in Panama but places to stay on those islands. I chose Bocas and KoKo. Many places don't look nearly as 'nice' in person as in the pictures and KoKo was not one of them. The cabins are as beautiful in reality as they are in these pictures. Jack and Lee are wonderful and Jack's breakfasts are varied and tasty. Although not on our balcony, we enjoyed talking with Lee and Jack each morning while we eateat, I think, the Bahia. My 19-year-old daughter spent hours jumping off the dock right in front of our cabin - She might as well have been 10. Great trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelle2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Watch the marine life in the bay and relax in the hammock. Started the day right, every day with the great breakfasts. Great comfortable home base to explore the many beaches of the Bocas area. Hope to return!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

The KoKo resort, just a few minutes walk from 'downtown' Bocas, consists of six very well-maintained cabins over the water in Saigon Bay. It's a very laid-back and friendly part of town, where the local community goes about its business but never fails to greet you with a friendly hello. Just a couple of factors that add to a slightly alternative Bocas experience - ie you won't necessarily feel like a tourist when you stay here. I initially planned to spend a week in Bocas but was enjoying myself so much I ended up staying 10 days. If you're planning a longer stay then a cabin at KoKo resorts is well worth considering.

The cabins are very comfortable, split-level with bathroom and fully-equipped kitchen downstairs (plenty of fridge space for cold beer!), and a sleeping area upstairs. There's air conditioning, but you're directly over the water so no problem opening up all the windows to get that cool sea breeze. You've also got balconies both upstairs and down, with hammocks on which to enjoy those cold beers. There's also a sun deck - a prime spot for enjoying the sunsets or just settling down with a good book.

The cabins are now under the management of Jack and Lee from the nearby Bahia del Sol, which means you get the best of both worlds - your own, self-sufficient private cabin, combined with a place for great conversation and Jack's 'legendary' breakfast just a couple of doors away.

I really enjoyed my time at the KoKo resort and strongly recommend it as a great value option when staying in Bocas. It's only a few minutes on foot to the main part of town (or a 50 cent cab ride) and is a great base from which to explore the island and beyond. Jack and Lee are on hand to advise on places to go and how to get there; they've beer and cold drinks in the fridge, the odd ball game on the TV, and an extensive selection of books and magazines to dip in to. What else does anyone need?!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew_DV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews