We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The concept of these cabins is great, but the experience falls short”
Review of Koko Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koko Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2010

The cabins themselves are a bit dirty, the beds uncomfortable and overall they lack any of the amenities you associate with 'resort.' These are little huts on the sea, and for the charm of being on the water I could overlook the above and even embrace it. But, the location here is really poor - it is congested, noisy and dirty.

The 'resort' is located in a neighborhood called Saigon which is heavily populated including a lumberyard next door, and a loud bar 1/2 a block down that stays open late. So noise is a problem both day and night. We were disappointed that the water had lots of trash in it and appeared to be much murkier than other parts of the island, which crushed any thought of diving from our hut and going for a swim. We found out afterwards that the Saigon neighborhood lacks proper sewage containment, so the little bay the huts are on is dirty because of waste. That pretty much killed the rest of the charm.

Despite their claim of WIFI on the website, there was no connection to the huts - we had to walk to the street to capture the connection.

The managers were nice enough. Be prepared for breakfast being served in the kitchen of the B and B they own a couple of doors down.

In the end we ended up leaving early and finding a different hotel where we were much happier. With land and water taxis charging less than $2 to get almost anywhere there are a lot better options for a lot less money than Koko.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank td_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosstone, Owner at Koko Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2010

The reviewer seemed to be happy with everything when he and his partner visited us except the fact they were here on a Panamanian holiday weekend and there was a beach party down the street with loud music one night. We are guests in Panama and can not stop the locals from celebrating there holidays so this was a uncontrollable factor for us.

Also some of the comments in this review were 100% false. Every one of our cabins is hooked to a septic system as well as our home next door. A new sewer system was installed about 6 months ago in the area as well that is becoming available for those without septic systems. This is no different then any other part of the lovely but third world island our cabins is located on.

The Smithsonian which is literally the bay next door to ours (30 seconds away) recently did water samples from the bay and said there was very little to no water pollution and it was significantly less then the water closer into town where all the other hotels are.

The water is clear as can be in our bay for much of the year but after storms which was the case with these guests sometimes trash can be washed in from the towns on the mainland and of course the water is murky because of the storm. When it is not raining our water is crystal clear and you can see the 100's of fish, starfish and other sea creatures swimming around right under the cabins. These guests actually took advantage of our free kayaks and paddled all over the bay and area and seemed fairly happy (except for the music) while they were with us.

Breakfast is served next door and is normally highly reviewed by our guests. We like to be able to socialize with our guests and help them get to know the area and this is the time we do that each day. If that is not your style then we are not for you but most of our guests really enjoy the insight we give on the area we have lived in for years.

If your looking for some sort of all inclusive Hawaii style resort then we are not the place..... as it states on our web page we are in a Panamanian community and live amongst the locals not in some secluded walled in resort. If that's what your looking for not only are we not right for you but none of the hotels anywhere close to Bocas Town will be right for you either.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

These cabins have great views and get the sun until dusk. Have handy kitchenettes etc so if you want to just chill on your private deck, you can make sure you have a well stocked fridge. Its in a local panamian community and is a 15/20 minute walk from town, but the taxis are brilliant in Bocas, 50 cents a journey and really easy to flag down. However, be aware that when you consider the 130$ charge per night, the facilities are basic, the beds are small with very cheap bedding and generally the cabins just don’t feel that clean. We had a great time here on balance, the hosts are very welcoming, but the standard of accommodation is little above backpacker level and it feels like the cabins need sprucing up to justify the rate charged.
Also be aware the surrounding waters not really suitable for swimming.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen153483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosstone, Owner at Koko Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2010

Thank you for the review. We listened to some of your requests and are currently in the process of replacing the beds in all of the cabins with bigger more comfortable beds. Being a island in a secluded part of Panama its not as easy as going to the store here but we have laid the ground work to have them all done in the coming months.

We clean the cabins thoroughly everyday so they are very clean. Not sure how we can improve on that?

Glad you loved are views and hopefully if you come back you will enjoy the cabins even more with the new bedding and improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

My wife and i stayed there for our honey moon. Jack and Lee were so nice and treated us like family. This place is the best Bocas

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panachombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We were planning to stay for 5 nights in KoKo Resort, but we liked it so much that we decided to stay longer. This is a wonderful place! Nice and clean houses, privacy, but also the opportunity to enjoy the company of other guests and ofcourse of the owners, Jack and Lee. KoKo Resort is locally known as "Jack's place" and this might have something to do with the willingness Jack has to call tour operators, taxi's and restaurants for you. Nothing was too much. While he was making one of his legendary breakfasts he used to ask what our plans were for the day, and after breakfast he just made a few phonecalls. Only minutes later we would be in a boat, on a tour or in a taxi, on our way to some activity. But we also liked to hang around our little house, watch the eagle rays who lived under our cabin, lie in the hammock and read a book. The kayaks are free to use and are great fun too. You could easily explore the bay in an hour or two.
The owners are not intrusive, but seem to enjoy the company of the guests and are really interested in everyone's stories. Lee would be happy to take some of our laundry, provide us with beachtowels and also made sure you had a great mug of coffee in the morning. I could go on for hours, but bottomline is that this is a great place to stay! Find out for yourself...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

One of the loveliest places I have stayed, bright yellow cabins on stilts over the water, each with its own shady deck and hammock looking out over a bay. Cabins are spotless with kitchen and bathroom downstairs, bedroom upstairs, not fancy but everything we needed and just perfect for the setting. Cabins do have air conditioning but it was nice just to throw open the windows and let the sea breeze blow through, one night we lay awake watching sheets of lightning light up the sky and listening to the thunder crashing and torrential rain hammering on the tin roof, quite a treat coming from California . There were occasional interruptions in water supply while we were there but they sorted them out as soon as they could so it was never really a problem.

The shared dock is a great spot to share a drink with other guests and watch a spectacular sunset. Underneath are bright sponges, starfish and lots of tiny fish and invertebrates, really nice for snorkelling. There are also a couple of kayaks available for exploring the bay, you get great views of the shoreline if you just paddle out a bit. Amazingly we didn’t encounter a single mosquito, apparently due to a large bat colony on the island..

The cabins are located a down an unlikely looking side street a 15 minute stroll or 50 cent taxi ride out of the centre of town. They are managed by Jack and Lee who live in the house next door and provide delicious hearty breakfasts, excellent local advice and lively conversation.

There is plenty to do around Bocas but it was hard to stay away for long from such an idyllic spot, we were only there for 4 nights but we would have loved to stay longer and can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llfm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My husband and I stayed for four nights and we really had a great time at Koko Resort.
The cabanas over the sea are just amazing, gorgeous view of the bay, big kitchen for cooking, comfortable bed, everything what you need for a good holiday.
The hosts, Jack and Lee are very nice and friendly people. You ask them and you will receive suggestions for the best restaurants in town and arrangements for great tours in the islands.
But the best, it´s Jack´s breakfast is really to die for, my favourite his homemade pancakes with tropical fruits.
Thank you Jack and Lee for your hospitality and we´ll see us next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belssie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I spent much time looking at not only 'islands' in Panama but places to stay on those islands. I chose Bocas and KoKo. Many places don't look nearly as 'nice' in person as in the pictures and KoKo was not one of them. The cabins are as beautiful in reality as they are in these pictures. Jack and Lee are wonderful and Jack's breakfasts are varied and tasty. Although not on our balcony, we enjoyed talking with Lee and Jack each morning while we eateat, I think, the Bahia. My 19-year-old daughter spent hours jumping off the dock right in front of our cabin - She might as well have been 10. Great trip.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelle2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Colon hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koko Resort

Address: Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price Range: £60 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a picture postcard. Cabins built over the water of a beautiful bay. Various size houses. Steps from the beach. 5 Minutes to town. Fantastic sunsets from the dock and lit up fish viewing at night. Full kitchens, AC, fans, maid and laundry service. Full time security, Safety boxes in rooms. Wireless Internet. Kayaks, bikes, snorkel masks free. Grocery delivery. We speak English and Spanish and will help you with arrangements for a perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koko Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koko Hotel Isla Colon
Koko Resort Panama/Bocas Del Toro - Isla Colon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing