We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place and great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Ultimo Refugio

El Ultimo Refugio
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun place and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a blast here for dinner! Besides the awesome food, the ambience is fun (right on the water), and the people are great. The margaritas were some of the best I've ever had, which probably explains why I did karaoke next door for the first time in my life!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    228
    56
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were lucky to be there when they had Live music. The food was excellent- I had Mexican Lasagne. Good service, friendly. Add this to your restaurant exploration in Bocas town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindadjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The pork tenderloin was to die for. Visiting a local and she knew of the place. Small, but wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Loved this place and sure to be a visitor whenever I'm in town. Delicious lobster, happy regulars, solid service and strong ownership have made this a long-running establishment in the Bocas scene.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

El Ultimo is the perfect spot to dine in Bocas: amazing sunsets, lovely breezes, peaceful.... and the food is excellent. All of it. I had a wedding party of 15 here for dinner on our first night in town and it was just wonderful. Owner/Chef Katherine worked with me on a menu and the staff were fantastic. Don't miss it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShawnaAdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Ultimo Refugio also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to El Ultimo Refugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing