We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Tasty”
Review of El Ultimo Refugio

El Ultimo Refugio
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Tonosi, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Romantic and Tasty”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Located on the edge of town, don't get discouraged as you walk out of the bustling Bocas Town towards Refugio. The restaurant sits out on the water with a clean view of the passing boats and moon. Great changing menu with very delicious drinks from the bar. Good prices and great location. Has a very tranquilo vibe. Really good ceviche

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    238
    63
    26
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Food on Bocas”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was the best meal I had on Bocas. The food was amazing, but the service was a little neglectful. All fresh selections written on a white board by the chef with simply amazing sauces.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant on the water”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very funky little restaurant on the water. The fish was so fresh we saw the fisherman pull up in his boat and the chef came out from the kitchen and picked the fish right there. Good drinks and good service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun place and great food!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a blast here for dinner! Besides the awesome food, the ambience is fun (right on the water), and the people are great. The margaritas were some of the best I've ever had, which probably explains why I did karaoke next door for the first time in my life!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and fun”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were lucky to be there when they had Live music. The food was excellent- I had Mexican Lasagne. Good service, friendly. Add this to your restaurant exploration in Bocas town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindadjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Ultimo Refugio also viewed

Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 

Been to El Ultimo Refugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing