We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average”
Review of Calipso Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Calipso Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I'll start by saying what is good about it, and that is the a/c, Bocas is such a humid place and anywhere without a/c is pretty unpleasant, hence why we stayed here. However even that has its downfalls, in that they are so strict with it, and only allow it on through certain hours. The customer service at the front desk is really dependent on the staff member you get. The two main people was a lady who was very nice and helpful, and a guy named Rory who made approaching him for information, less appealing then eating paint. It's definitely a running trend with the reviews about this place in regards to the staff, and it's no surprise when they have a guy working there with a severe lack of social skills and attempts to crack on to every second female guest, even those with boyfriends.

Stay next door.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitted4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamajoules, Owner at Calipso Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your room at the hostel. With AC and good mattresses we aim to provide all our guests with a good night's sleep.

In regards to the gentleman you're referring to, we're really sorry about your experience with him. During your stay, he had already received notice that he wasn't going to work with us anymore, and unfortunately his level of service deteriorated even more. But thanks for your feedback that has helped us confirm that we made the right decision allowing him to leave our team.

Hope to see you in Bocas one day again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and a I arrived to Bocas at 5 AM and started looking for a nice hostel. after seeing a few hostels we were so happy to arrive to Tungara!! The hostel was clean, not expensive, had great location and great service!! Nidia, the young lady from the reception was very helpful and answered all our questions!
she let us store our bags and take a shower after check out when we came back dirty and tired from a long trip! no other hostel would allow this..
highly recomended!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Naomi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The worst hostel we stayed at after three months of traveling. The staff is not really helpful, there's not a good common area and the bathrooms have a bad smell (mold). Good location though. Never tried the breakfast even though it's included. You have to pay for luggage storage. I would stay at a different hostel if I were you.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kajauuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Customer service is non-existent. The "breakfast" they provide is a bag of pancake mix and a dirty kitchen where you can make it yourself. They throw music parties in the bar with extremely loud music until 2am. There is not a single room in the whole thin-walled place where you can possibly sleep when they play the club music. The front desk has zero customer service skills. This isn't a Hostel - its HOSTILE. Never stay here. If at all possible, don't ever come to Bocas. Bocas is a trash-filled, unsanitary little town. My best recommendation is to never go to Panama - just go to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Never stay here. If you must come to Bocas, find a hotel that is away from the main town area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I spent 2 nights in Tundara Hostel, and was very pleased. 15$ per night in a dorm. Clean room and bathroom. Comfortable beds, big lockers. Air-con during night. Good Wi-fi. Clean towels & linens. Nice balcony.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Physically speaking there is nothing that seperates this hostel from the others in Bocas. It comes with good wifi, good air con, pancakes etc... The thing that makes this hostel so good to stay at is the people. The owner is a great guy, bar staff were super friendly, cleaning ladies were always smiling and did a fantastic job, but the most outsanding employee was the receptionist, Nidia. She helped with everything from setting up tours, and teaching Spanish... great place to stay and made some life long friends.
Taylor A

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taylor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had a great 6 night stay at Tungara! The hostel has a great balcony and a cool little street-side bar that doesn't get too rowdy. We were given clean towels & linens upon our arrival and the rooms / bathrooms were cleaned daily. The staff is very friendly and can help arrange cheap transportation & tours. Get some bananas to put in your pancakes.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.1 mi away
Hostal Hansi
Hostal Hansi
#1 of 42 in Bocas Town
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Heike
Hostel Heike
#3 of 42 in Bocas Town
248 reviews
4.2 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 49 in Isla Colon
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Fin Hostel
Twin Fin Hostel
#8 of 42 in Bocas Town
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calipso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calipso Hostel

Address: 3rd Street, between E and Central Avenue | Across the Municipal Building, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010, Panama (Formerly Tungara Hostel)
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range: £8 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calipso Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Colon Island's Main Street, Calipso Hostel is right where all the action takes place but with enough distance from the main bars and clubs allowing you to have a pleasant night's sleep. With 6 dorm rooms and 3 private rooms, all of which are air conditioned and have their own private bathroom, this youth hostel has a welcoming international backpacker vibe. Beds in a dorm room go from $10 per night and private rooms go from $35 per night. The hostel has free wifi internet, an ample balcony, a common kitchen and 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Calipso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipso Hostel Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing