We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeah!”
Review of Mondo Taitu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mondo Taitu
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Cool Place.
Hot chicks get wild!
Sweedish are hot. and intriguing?
People getting wasted and it's funny.
Ate some shakshuka.
Met some amazing people.
German-uruguayan girl.
Mondo's staff are Super cool!

Room Tip: Get the tree room if you're travelling in groups. Dorms are mostly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

I was thinking I would stay here 3 days, I stayed 3 weeks. If you go to Bocas this is the best place to stay for not too much money.
yes, it's dirty.
yes, it's loud.
yes, the kitchen sucks.
But seriously, what a GREAT place. So chill atmosphare, great parties, cheap beer, the owners are the best. Would go back any day if I could.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The bed and mattresses were absolute garbage. The kitchen is small and always dirty and one of the staff members was a complete dick. However they have a nice bar and I meet some great people. I would not recommend staying at this place, however it is worth visiting the bar.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Ramiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here four nights during the carnival, and liked it at first cause it had a chill vibe and a lot of other young backpackers. Also, the staff was nice and helpful (when not drunk or hungover), and you get free pancakes for breakfast.

HOWEVER, in our dorm there were bedbugs. All three of us and at least one other guy in the dorm got them during our stay there, and because of this we had to wash all our things thoroughly, which is a lot of work. Moreover, the water stopped working all the time which was very inconvenient, especially during the night when the toilets were clogged and you couldn't use the sink.

We are not very picky when it comes to hostels, but when you feel dirty after leaving a place, it is not very pleasant. But even though we got bedbugs, we had a good time there!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank NomadeNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We checked into Mondo Taitu as a last resort when we left our other hostel due to bed bugs. They had only one double bed left and it was right next to the reception/common area. For $24, and no other options and we reluctantly agreed. No concern for bugs as they fumigated minutes after we arrived.
My boyfriend and I broke out the earplugs as we heard this place is notorious for the party goers. Fortunately for us (unfortunately for everyone else) we didn't need them as we were the ones partying and drinking into the wee hours of the morning.
The Mondo bar got us way in over our heads with delicious drinks and cocktails, and by the time we left la Iguana, both of our memories are pretty hazy. Thank goodness we stayed at Mondo because our friend gauged his foot on some coral and Dr Dan (a staff?) was able to fix him up right in the hostel.
All in all, we might not have been able to enjoy the Bocas scene had we not stayed at Mondo Taitu. The rooms are nothing special but the experience will stay with us for a lifetime. Highly recommend this place for young travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouveriteVaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights here in a dorm with a fan for $10, but they give yoi a $1 discount each night if you stay more than 3 nights.
It's a 5 minute walk from the main street in bocas. There's a shared kitchen, with 2 big fridges and 6 hobs. They give you free pancake batter in the mornings.
There are surf boards, but they're not suitable for beginners. Also a couplw of bikes.
The rooms are clean and not overly cramped. Staff are nice. There's a bar downstairs which has different drinks promotions/themes every night, which are pretty cheap. 75c happy hour beers. Only downside is if you want to sleep, bar is very loud until 1am. There is also one warm shower.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Justiney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This was almost the worst hostal in my trip. The girl at the reception was NOT nice, looked like she was annoyed and doesnt make you feel welcome at all. The guy at the reception later was nicer.The room was okay, very small wooden locker and a fan that we used because it was hot! The music was loud en you bump into people snorting big lines and going to the toilet in the morning found a used condom on the floor. Disgusting kitchen where you have to make your own pancakes in the morning. We quickly moved out of here..

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AnneL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0 mi away
Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel
Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel
#1 of 6 in Carenero Island
282 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
437 reviews
0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
403 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#9 of 13 in Bocas Town
363 reviews
0 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mondo Taitu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mondo Taitu

Address: Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mondo Taitu Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Mondo Taitu Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing