We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked out after one day!”
Review of Hotel Las Brisas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Brisas
Ranked #9 of 29 Bocas Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is cheap, but not cheap enough. We had a double interior room with AC. When we turned in the AC to clear the air, the room got super funky. After complaining, the front desk person was prepared with the worst smelling plug in air freshener I've smelled. He also said we needed ti turn the AC to high. So we were left with 2 choices. Either freeze or inhale funk.

I got up the next morning and moved to a dorm in a hostal rather than stay here.

It's a shame because the staff (especially Nacha) is super helpful. There is a great view off the back, but this hotel (which BTW is for sale) is terrible. This is my first negative review, so bear that in mind.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopperGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Yes the hotel is built on the water and the back deck is super cool, but that is it. There is a reason that the hotel is for sale. The owner has decided not to put another dime into it. Saw one dead cockroach and had to move rooms once because of the smell. My friends had stuff taken out of the community fridge. You will meet some cool people and the prices are cheap. Take your chances if you want but do tell me I didn't warn you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGuyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My three teenage boys (19,17,14) and I stumbled upon the Brisas Hotel after arriving on the boat to Bocas Del Toro. We ended up staying there for 5 nights and had a great time. The hotel is located at the end of the Main Street and directly on the water. We really enjoyed the back deck area which was only steps from our room and sits directly on the water with a nice steady breeze and the best view in Bocas. My boys enjoyed the international mix of young people, the hustle and bustle of boats coming and going and the beautiful sunsets. It was also great to swim right off the deck of the hotel in beautiful clear and clean water. At one point a dolphin swam by just yards away !!!! There is a great little bakery close by and a convenience store right across the street. This combined with the on site kitchen made for some relaxing meals, snacks and a glass of wine on the back deck. The hotel was a very convenient jumping off point for most of the attractions with the ability for boats to pick up and drop off from the back deck of the hotel....reminded me of Venice. And of course Andy, Danielle and the rest of the staff were great. Thanks guys for a great time and a chance to experience the best of Bocas Del Toro. We are already planning another trip back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed 6 days in the hotel, the rooms are clean and confortable, ideal for young people. Kitchen is not recommendable (its not confortable for cooking there). The location is excelent, near all markets and centre. Daniela, the owner and Nacho, the guard were really very nice and gentle with us, and provided us all the information needed. The price is very fair also. Would definetly go back!

Room Tip: Air conditioner rooms are better, room 2 is great with 2 double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talía Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel is cheap for being on the water with an amazing view but the reason for this is because it is so very run down and in dire need of a renovation. We had a private room for $22 a night as we were staying 3 nights - originally $25 for one night. The room had holes in the wall, the water sometimes didn't work, especially if there was a high tide then the kitchen downstairs would get flooded.
The hot water is only on from certain hours in the morning and in the evening.
The staff are pretty friendly and the deck is great to hang out on but could do with some hammocks. Plus there is cable tv which are good for hangover days. The air conditioning was pretty good even though the vent nearly fell off.
There are nicer places to stay but it's good for backpackers -if you are looking for cheap then this will do the trick.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The hotel is located on the water overlooking the side of the island that has waves. Being a surfer, you can check the conditions all the time, tell what the wind is doing, and if the waves picked up or dropped. Close to all the restaurants and supermarkets you can't really ask for more at the price you are paying. The staff is super friendly and I felt really safe. The deck on the back is a plus. Definately coming back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo_Herrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We instantly regretted renting the room when we saw the sink and bathroom. There was mold all around and had a musty stink to it. We realize that it may be hard to keep out the moisture in a room (#6) close to the water but it's clear that no effort has been made. Deck is sweet but we were surprised to find out that it was closed right when we wanted to use it (at 10pm). They have wi-fi but the Internet is spotty. It works best on the deck where you can't use it. We stayed in several other comparable hostels on the island and this one was the worst.
This is our first bad review. Its unlike us to complain. (We are lifetime touring musicians that have stayed in all types of situations.)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toddfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
0.4 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#11 of 13 in Bocas Town
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Selina Bocas del Toro
Selina Bocas del Toro
#3 of 49 in Isla Colon
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Isla Chica
Posada Isla Chica
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Brisas

Address: Main Street, Bocas Town, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bocas Town
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Brisas Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing