We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Live among the local folk” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jardines Vista del Mar Condos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jardines Vista del Mar Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Live among the local folk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

The condo is about 15 minutes outside of town, at the island's only gas station, so it is plenty easy to get a taxi to town, and on your return, just as easy to find. The neighborhood is primarily local people, with the three condo units side by side among small rustic houses with large yards. The location is on the very slender piece of land, so you can see the waves crash from the front deck/stairs and the calm bay off of the lanai off the back.
The condo was perfectly clean, though a bit worn in places like the pain on the doors. Each room is equipped with an independent air conditioner, allowing individual rooms to control the temperature. This was great for our group of 2 couples. The TV includes satellite with a gazillion channels if you're inclined. The kitchen has enough equipment and supplies to eat in, but is lacking any staples to accompany cooking (no salt, pepper, etc.)
The rates are super reasonable, even with the $0.60 per person/each way taxi.
Muhammed is a delightfully kind and accommodating man, I could not imagine a more responsive inn-keeper.
We did not use the pool, though it looked clean, it was not very inviting with its location just a few feet from one of the other condo units. Also, to enter or leave the property you must walk a narrow path directly next to the other condo units. It appears that the majority of these units are lived in full time, with a few units for vacation rental. The unit directly next to us seemed to be a full-time home, as we often heard a baby crying and the lanai was very crowded with built in storage units we could see through a partial barrier wall.
The unit has wifi, though we could only get a steady signal after 10 PM.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    37
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
41
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Muhammed was great, he picked us up at the airport even tho our flight with panama air was over an hour late. The condo is exactly how he described it. Muhammed gave great advice on tours and meals, and we had a very pleasant stay. We caught bad weather while in Bocas but made the best of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainsley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Muhammed and Rosie are extremely warm and accommodating hosts. All our needs our tended to in a flash. The apartment we rented on the ground floor lacks the views those on higher levels do, but at least you view is of lush jungle gardens. Impeccably clean and well maintained, we have been delighted with condo so far and its brand new appliances. It's a 60 cent cab ride into town per person or a 20 minute walk. Very safe and quiet area near a good super market (though getting fresh veggies is a challenge in Bocas), and also about 25 meters from Guari-Guari and about 200m from El Beso del Dragon (amazing Caribbean food).

Great little pool on site for fresh swim.

I would definitely recommend Vista del Mar's condos.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We were picked up from the airport by Muhammed. Which was very friendly and took care of all our needs. Even when one us got hurt at the beach, did every thing he could to help us out. Have great instructions on how to get to the best places in isla colon and even the other island. We will definitely get a place from him again. A+ service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

The condo was really nice, and the area was very quite and safe. We didn't swim in the pool but it looked clean and well looked after. Muhammed is great host, and takes care of his place and the people staying there. We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jess s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment for almost a month and it was very comfortable. There is no view of the beach (it is on the ground floor and in the back of the building), but the beach is across the street so it is easily seen. The apartment is a bit more expensive than other furnished units in town, but worth it because of the cleanliness, amenities (pool, satellite tv, etc) and helpfulness of the owners. The location (on the outskirts of Bocas Town) makes it peaceful and yet being near the gas station makes it easy to get a taxi ($0.60 takes you anywhere in Bocas Town in a shared taxi).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cali4nancytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked the deluxe two bedroom apartment which was fantastic. It was really spacious and although there were only two of us staying there it would easily have accommodated a family. It had all the facilities you would need in a good location, close to the gas station for any food and booze you need, and makes it easy to pick up a taxi to take you into town. There was also a daily maid service for cleaning the apartment. Mohammed was a lovely host, really helpful and thoughtful.

We loved staying there, and would really recommend it above a hotel or hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirstyn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bocas Town
1.2 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito
#2 of 41 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardines Vista del Mar Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardines Vista del Mar Condos

Property: Jardines Vista del Mar Condos
Address: 4 P.H. Jardines vista del Mar, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 01010100, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jardines Vista del Mar Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
450 to 900 sq ft condos at prices lower than that of a decent hotel room, with a full kitchen and large seaview balconies or terraces in bright and breezy modern buildings. Located in a non touristy part of the Town of Bocas del Toro, 70 meters from a white sand safe swimming beach and a four minute, 60 cent pp taxi ride from all the action in the Town Center, the condos has many of the amenities you are used to. These include a swimming pool, air conditioning, cable TV, free high speed wifi Internet, a full kitchen, comfortable furniture and furnishings and comfortable beds. We offer 450 sq ft one bed room one bath condos, Standard 750 sq ft two bed room, one bath condos and Superior 900 sq ft two bed room, two ensuite condos. The two bed room condos have large balconies with sea view and the one bed room condos on the ground floor have small private terraces This is a great place to get the Caribbean flavor of Bocas del Toro. Four minutes to night clubs, bars, restaurants, tour operators,and easy access some of the nicest snorkeling spots, the best surfing beaches the best diving spots and the spectacular Red Frog and shady, tranquil Drago and Starfish beaches. The most highly rated International restaurant, Guari Guari, is a two minute walk and reputedly the best Caribbean style restaurant, El Beso de Dragon, less than five minute walk away. There is a small grocery store within 70 meters of the condo.The locals are welcoming, friendly and always ready to go out to of their way to help. Many of our guests have made new friends, not only with the locals but tourists from all parts of the world. The magic of Bocas is that you make new friends easily.Our guests have told us that they have enjoyed going to sleep to the sound of the gently rolling waves rather than that of the loud music that plays till early hours in the Town Center,Muhammed and Rosy believe that they have been lucky to have some of the greatest people as their guests, of which many have become friends. They are dedicated to do all they can to help their guests enjoy their stay and take back wonderful memories of Bocas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Jardines Vista del Mar Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardines Vista Del Mar Condos Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing