We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't be back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bocas Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We needed a place to stay for just one night when we were leaving Bocas del Toro. We had visited the bar at Casa Verde - La Mama Loco - and enjoyed the food and sort of funky ambience. Our private room was too funky for us though. Bare bones and run down. Shared bathrooms were not as clean as they could have been.The much advertised renovation of the property had obviously not reached our room,

Also, annoyed that they collect a $5 key deposit but the front desk was not open early in the morning to refund it. We were not the only guests leaving at 6:30 AM who were not happy that we could not get our $5 back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVBocas, Manager at Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you liked the vibe at La Mama Loca and that the ambiance made you want to stay with us. While the rooms haven't been renovated and aren't shiny and new, they do all have original artwork decorating the walls, new, comfortable mattresses, air conditioning, a fan and a closet and dresser or bookcase to store your belongings. For $33 per night, all of this plus a waterfront location is a very good deal in Bocas. If you have suggestions for ways that we could improve our rooms please email us and we will definitely take your input into consideration. You should have been told at check in that if you needed to check out before 7 am that you could get your deposits returned the night before. I apologize if you were not made aware of that policy and will double check that this is displayed clearly for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    55
    28
    28
    18
See reviews for
6
45
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

I had planned to spend at least three nights in Bocas del Toro, maybe more. I left after just two days. My reasons for leaving had nothing to do with the hostel, but I just found Isla Colon to be way too touristy for me.

The hostel itself was just fine. Again, it's a hostel, so don't expect a five star hotel. The upstairs bathroom is clean (enough), though the downstairs ones were kind of gross. There was no hot water, but not many places in Panama have a decent hot water supply. The staff was fairly nice (Kristin was great), and it was a decent value. The single room (I always take a private room at a hostel) was large. The location of the hostel is great, right on the water (but NOT on the beach). In fact, you can jump into the water right from the pier. If you're going to Isla Colon on a budget, I would recommend Casa Verde.

By the way, the WiFi worked fabulously, even in my room (often at hostels and hotels in this part of the world, the WiFi only works in common areas).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

Casa Verde *sigh* whao... what a special place, we miss it SOOO much. And honestly I really don't know where to start. But uhhh one thing I do know & one thing I can say is, we're definitely coming back to Panama JUST to visit you guys once again. We had sucha great experience, & I honestly don't think it would have turned out as great as it did, if it wasn't for the staff here. They're so much FUN, so hospitable, SO MUCH HELP & they are truly amazing people all around. This is a place that really had me realize it's not just the facility in its self that makes the trip worth while but the people in it. And u know what, that's what Casa Verde undoubtedly has grasped, & very well I might add. With that being said, the hostel has sooo much to offer in terms of amenities in addition to it's GREAT service! They have amazing tours for reasonable prices, hot water, laundry, it's along the water so u can take a dip, an amazing bar & grill with great food & drinks, live reggae music, smoke hookah even! They have all the pieces of a 5 star hostel, I'm still surprised while writing this lOl. Cleanliness? This is definitely one of THE most cleanest hostels on the face of the planet, & Im not going to say much more then that! It's flawless! Location? I hate to sound like I'm giving this place to much praise but, they honestly have it going on. The spot that casa verde is located at, is at the end of the strip, it's close to everything but yet it doesn't have too much traffic going on at it's entrance, IT'S JUUUUST right. BUT HONESTLY, I CAN BABBLE ALL DAY ABOUT THIS PLACE! WE HAD AN AMAZING TIME HERE! And we thank you all from such a memorable trip! O & BEST BELIEVE, EVEN THOUGH WE JUST RETURNED, WE'RE ALREADY PLANNING OUR NEXT TRIP BACK! See you all soon!

- The Ethiopians =]

Room Tip: Ask for Nikelda or Kristen! They're amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P0PPiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Casa Verde was a great place to stay while we enjoyed the beautiful island of Bocas! This hostel had everything we needed.
** The Staff- The staff here was very welcoming and friendly. From the first email we sent inquiring our stay to the time we dropped off our keys at check out we felt welcomed. Kristin and others did an excellent job at making people feel welcomed.

**Location- The location of this hostel is one of the best. It is at the end of the main street but it is one of the only hostels that is on the water! It has a beautiful deck where you can enjoy watching the water taxi's zoom by. I never felt like it was too far away from the business of the main street.

**Atmosphere- The atmosphere of Casa Verde is very chill and relaxing. They have a restaurant attached to the hostel in the back called Mama Loca (which is very good). Around dinner time the restaurant got busy but it never interfered with me wanting to sleep at night.

**Cleanliness- one of the cleanest hostels I have every stayed in. There was always people cleaning the bathrooms and sweeping the floors. The sheets were clean and soft. They have a drier and it makes all the difference in the world. The sheets are soft and not rough!

We had a great time on Bocas del Toro. It was nice to explore the island but know we had a place like Casa Verde to come back too after a long day in the sun!

Thank you Casa Verde... our trip was fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed in the dorm rooms, which were really cozy and clean, like the fact they had lockers, the rooms got bit noisy from the restaurant/bar but everything else was fine, though for panama the dorm were bit higher priced then expected, suggestion is NOT to eat in bocas as the restaurants are way overpriced for the quality and service, take a boat taxi to the next islands for really cheep and good foods!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirka5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Stayed for 3 days with my University friend; excellent guest-house with warm homelike ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baalpeor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed here for two nights and were mainly drawn to the hostel because of their pier with hammocks and outdoor bar. Overall staff were friendly and helpful, if not always the speediest. Unfortunately the air conditioner did not draw out all the noise of the downstairs bar music or other foot traffic in the hostel. Our room was right next to the communal bathroom and I woke up often during the night, believing that someone going into the bathroom was instead headed for our room. We also had free use of the computer but given that it is a hostel, the computer was frequently occupied. Despite this, we had a nice time there and would recommend this for someone looking for an affordable place to stay near the action in Bocas.

As an aside, we attempted to take their tours twice but no one else ever signed up for them and each tour needs a minimum of four people. They seemed to be a good value and interesting but unfortunately we were never able to take one.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bocas Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olas
Hotel Olas
#10 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Bahia
Gran Hotel Bahia
#5 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spanish at Locations - Bocas del Toro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Heike
Hostel Heike
#3 of 41 in Bocas Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Mamallena Bocas del Toro
0.1 mi away
Surfari B&B
Surfari B&B
#2 of 30 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse

Property: Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse
Address: Avenida Sur, Bocas Town, Isla Colon 507, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon > Bocas Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Bocas Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a laid back community atmosphere where it's easy to rest & relax? Among all the great places to stay in Bocas, Casa Verde truly is your best value community house in Bocas del Toro, Panama. Come enjoy life on the water at Casa Verde! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Verde Hostel And Guesthouse
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse Hotel Bocas Town
Casa Verde Hostel & Guesthouse Bocas Del Toro, Panama - Bocas Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing